We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“SO OVERWHELMING that it's hard to share” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Rossmor Guest House

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Save
You added Rossmor Guest House to your Saves list
Rossmor Guest House
Woodlands Terrace, Grantown-on-Spey PH26 3JU, Scotland   |  
Hotel amenities
Vienna, Austria
1 review
“SO OVERWHELMING that it's hard to share”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 2, 2013

We were just staying for one night during our roundtrip ... and immediately wished we could stay for a week (or two).
Great room, furnitured beautifully and with delicate taste, so clean that we felt better than at home, warmest welcome ever and as much advise we were asking for, a fine recommendation for having dinner, a really cosy bed to sleep in, a wonderful (wonderful!) breakfast ... and a check-out that nearly hurted, no, we definitely didn't want to leave.
Hope that we will be back soon for a longer time and with the family - so do book this property whenever you like but not when we want to stay there - there's no better place!

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RossMor, Owner at Rossmor Guest House, responded to this review, October 17, 2013
What a wonderful review Katharina, thank you! We LOVE the capital letters in the title :)
We hope that you do return with your family some time in the near future, it would lovely to see you again.
Karen and Neil
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

150 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    139
    10
    1
    0
    0
See reviews for
32
80
4
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (20)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
2 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 30, 2013

My partner and I spent one night at Rossmor Guest House on 19 September 2013 as part of our 3 day visit to Scotland. As soon as we arrived at Rossmor, we were very warmly greeted by our hosts Karen and Neil. We stayed in the King size en-suite bedroom with a lovely big four poster bed and spectacular views of Granton-on-Spey.

Karen and Neil recommended a local pub and restaurant to us for pre-dinner drinks and dinner - we were so pleased with their recommendation. After a very comfortable nights stay at Rossmor we were served a delicious Scottish breakfast by Karen. My partner opted for the cooked breakfast including haggis and black pudding and I opted for the delicious smoked salmon breakfast.

I wish we could have stayed longer at Rossmor and I would definitely love to stay there again. Karen and Neil were so friendly and accommodating. They also gave us some great advice for our 3-day whiskey distillery tour of Scotland.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RossMor, Owner at Rossmor Guest House, responded to this review, October 17, 2013
Thank you so much for taking the time to review your stay at RossMor. We are pleased that you enjoyed your stay and our recommendations! We do hope to see you again on your next visit to the Highlands :)
Karen and Neil
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
York, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 28, 2013

Recently spent four nights at Rossmor and it was one of the best guest houses we have stayed in. We had a very warm and friendly welcome from Karen and Neil. Our double room at the front of the house was spacious, spotlessly clean and beautifully furnished, and with fantastic views of the mountains. There was a wide choice for breakfast and everything was freshly prepared. We will most definitely be returning for more of their excellent hospitality.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RossMor, Owner at Rossmor Guest House, responded to this review, October 6, 2013
Thank you! You said you'd find out how to write a review and you did! So kind of you to take the time to write such a positive review. We very much hope you will return to RossMor so we can have the opportunity to host you again. With best wishes from the sunny and warm Highlands - and it's October! Karen and Neil
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 27, 2013

Karen and Neil are wonderful hosts who instantly made us feel welcome, and were only too happy to answer our questions and advise on local restaurants, walks etc. Nothing was too much trouble for them. Our twin-bedded room with ensuite facilities was spacious, spotlessly clean and very comfortable. There was a varied breakfast menu, and the full Scottish breakfast (we were walkers so felt we earned it!) is excellent and highly recommended.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RossMor, Owner at Rossmor Guest House, responded to this review, October 6, 2013
Hello Margaret. We hope you are well and have settled back into city life after your holiday in the beautiful Highlands. Many thanks for taking the time to write such a positive review, we are so pleased you enjoyed your time at RossMor. Think of us next time you decide to visit the Cairngorms National Park for more wildlife, walking etc.. Best wishes, Karen and Neil
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Worcester, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 23, 2013

Wonderful warm welcome from Karen & Neil & lots of helpful advice on the area. Rooms very comfortable, spacious & clean. Excellent breakfasts, especially the porridge & smoked salmon. Neil was very helpful on the malt whiskies and we thoroughly enjoyed chatting with him & Karen & the other guests.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RossMor, Owner at Rossmor Guest House, responded to this review, September 29, 2013
So kind of you, Sue to take the time to write such a kind review. We really enjoyed having you stay at RossMor, and if you ever find your way back to the bonny Highlands, we would love to see you again. P.s. thats a great photo of Ross! Best wishes, Karen and Neil
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 23, 2013

Lovely hosts, very accommodating of my request for an early check in, and also of the spontaneous arrival of my sister and her two little ones in the dining room at breakfast time! Great local knowledge and suggestions for restaurants, walks etc. Would definitely go back, and recommend to others.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RossMor, Owner at Rossmor Guest House, responded to this review, September 29, 2013
Thank you, Sally, for your wonderful review. We are so pleased you enjoyed your stay and glad we could help in some way with your interview preparation - we really hope you were successful and we have the chance to see you again in the near future. Good luck, Karen and Neil
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Ontario
Senior Contributor
48 reviews 48 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 12, 2013

We received a warm welcome from our hosts, Karen and Neil. The house was beautifully appointed and provided a comfortable guest lounge. The room was spacious with an en suite bathroom. The hosts were great with advice on restaurants and attractions in the area. Breakfast was excellent (great porridge, Neil!!) and the breakfast room was spacious and bright. We also enjoyed meeting the tortoise-shell cat, Dottie. Highly recommended!!

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RossMor, Owner at Rossmor Guest House, responded to this review, September 21, 2013
It is very kind of you to take the time to write a positive review of RossMor, thank you. We hope you enjoyed Grantown and the Highlands, and the rest of your trip. Perhaps we will have the opportunity of hosting you again in the future - Dotty would love to see you again! Take care and best wishes, Karen and Neil
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Rossmor Guest House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Rossmor Guest House

Address: Woodlands Terrace, Grantown-on-Spey PH26 3JU, Scotland
Location: United Kingdom > Scotland > Scottish Highlands > Aviemore and the Cairngorms > Grantown-on-Spey
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 23 B&Bs / Inns in Grantown-on-Spey
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
RossMor is a beautiful Victorian Villa set in half an acre of terraced gardens, overlooking pine woods and the Cromdale Hills. Situated at the south end of Grantown-on-Spey, it is only a quick walk to the village centre and the River Spey. RossMor is the perfect base for exploring the Highlands including the Whisky Trail, Cairngorm Mountains, birdwatching and golf. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline and Odigeo so you can book your Rossmor Guest House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Rossmor Guest House Grantown-On-Spey, Scotland

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Rossmor Guest House, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.