We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“FANTASTIC B & B” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Rossmor Guest House

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Save
You added Rossmor Guest House to your Saves list
Rossmor Guest House
Woodlands Terrace, Grantown-on-Spey PH26 3JU, Scotland   |  
Hotel amenities
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“FANTASTIC B & B”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 20, 2013

I have been staying in B&B / hotels in Granton for almost 18 years now - I visit family 3 /4 times per year (probably more now there is a new baby!!)and can genuinely say this is the BEST hospitality yet - It is so refreshing to feel VALUED and all the little niceties made it feel so homely (face flannels / razors / tea/coffee / water / biscuits in every room) - Each Room is unique and what makes it so very likeable is every room has a proper bathroom with a window - Karen & Neil have just taken over as previous owner retired - I wish them well with their venture and i for one will now view it as a home from home - it will be my first choice on every future trip. House is attractive with fabulous gardens and furnished with style and tase - Talking about taste - breakfast is just tip top

Room Tip: all rooms are great, however front facing rooms have a fantastic view
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RossMor, Owner at Rossmor Guest House, responded to this review, May 27, 2013
What a smashing review, thank you! We are so pleased you enjoyed your short stay at RossMor and hope to see you again soon. Karen
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

150 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    139
    10
    1
    0
    0
See reviews for
32
80
4
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (20)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Newcastle upon Tyne, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 19, 2013

Just stayed for one night visiting family in the area. Karen and Neil are great hosts and the house is beautiful. We thoroughly enjoyed our stay and were made most welcome. I wish we could have stayed longer but am sure that we will be returning soon. The rooms are clean, comfortable and well furnished; the breakfast was delicious. I am certain that they will do really well as they are both enthusiastic, helpful and keen to offer advice on where to go visit and places to eat. Hopefully we will be able to return with the rest of the family too.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RossMor, Owner at Rossmor Guest House, responded to this review, May 27, 2013
Many thanks for choosing to stay at RossMor and for taking the time to write such a kind and positive review. We very much hope you will have the chance to visit this stunning part of the Highlands in the near future and will chose to stay with us again. All the best, Karen
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Yorkshire Dales National Park, United Kingdom
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 3, 2013

Stayed for one night on a business trip with my husband. Karen and Neil made us feel very welcome from the minute we arrived. They took good care of us, being extremely helpful and with nothing being too much trouble. The room was lovely, clean and comfortable. We also enjoyed a delicious breakfast in the morning. We would not hesitate to recommend them to anyone staying in this area.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RossMor, Owner at Rossmor Guest House, responded to this review, May 4, 2013
Thank you both for staying at RossMor and for posting such a lovely review. We are pleased you enjoyed your brief stay and we look forward to the opportunity to welcome you back again some time in the future, perhaps for a longer stay so you have the chance to enjoy the house and the surrounding area. Thanks again, Neil
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Carlisle, United Kingdom
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 29, 2013

Having been several times before this place is first class in all aspects, thank you for the warmth of your welcome and the hospitality which was shown to us,Karen and Neil are the perfect hosts ,and we can only wish them all that's good and every good wish for your new venture which I know will be every success.

Room Tip: Just pick any
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RossMor, Owner at Rossmor Guest House, responded to this review, May 2, 2013
Jack and Joan, we are delighted to have met you and that you enjoyed your stay at RossMor, again, albeit with new owners. We very much look forward to seeing you again in the near future when we hope to have some homemade jams for you to try :) Thank you for taking the time to post a review on TripAdvisor. Karen and Neil
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 29, 2013

Just home from a two night stay with my aunt and we both loved it. The house is absolutely stunning and really has to be seen to be believed: it’s immaculate, the period features are beautiful and the fittings are all perfectly thought out and suited to the era. We were pleased with the little finishing touches in the rooms not often thought of elsewhere – the kind of things you don’t think you need until you have them to hand! I still can’t quite believe that Karen and Neil have only been here for less than 8 weeks and this is a new venture for them both as the service is seamless and you’d think they’d been doing it for years. They are excellent hosts, very welcoming and friendly and clearly pay attention when they’re chatting with you: they gave us some helpful hints about perfect places/driving routes just on the back of casual comments about general interests we have (fishing/walking/wildlife/whisky trail/period buildings), so they are clearly making a determined effort to get to know the area and all it has to offer guests. We also noticed they went out their way to pass on information about potential problems to other guests onward visiting plans, not because they had been asked to find out about it but because they had obviously taken the care to check it out. This subtle attention to detail definitely added to our stay because it elevates the level of service without being obtrusive, and is one of the reasons we will definitely be back. The food was excellent (chives from the garden for the smoked salmon and scrambled egg – yum! – homemade marmalade, and there was home made carrot cake too) so they are taking food miles, home grown produce and supporting local suppliers seriously which is commendable. Breakfast was topped only by the arrival of a red squirrel at the bird table outside the window! Karen and Neil each made a point of getting guest feedback on the restaurant recommendations they had made for dinner, so I’d be comfortable asking them to make a reservation for us in the knowledge they’re staying alert to changes of standard elsewhere that may affect our stay with them. A younger guest had written in the visitor’s book that it was like visiting “the Queen’s house” and that’s pretty much on the money – it’s a magnificent house without being austere or stuffy, shows that Victoria era property can be stunning yet still interesting to modern children and is topped off with levels of service that make you feel like royalty but in a (beautiful) home from home. Unequivocally recommended, just please don’t everybody go when we next need a room!

Room Tip: The twin room (No.1) had plenty of space for two fussy women travelling with all their separate gubb...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RossMor, Owner at Rossmor Guest House, responded to this review, May 2, 2013
Thank you for your very thorough review, it is lovely to hear that you and your Aunt enjoyed your stay at RossMor. We would love to welcome you back some time in the future and look forward to seeing you again. Karen and Neil.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Plymouth, England, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 25, 2013

What a fantastic place to stay. Spent three nights there, the hosts could not do anything more for us. The food was the best. We have plans to go back again in the future.
Good luck in your new venture.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RossMor, Owner at Rossmor Guest House, responded to this review, April 28, 2013
We are delighted that you enjoyed your stay at RossMor and thank you for taking the time to write a review. We very much look forward to welcoming you back, perhaps in a season when there are more wild flowers and insects about. Thank you, Karen and Neil
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 15, 2013

Just spent 2 very comfortable nights at the Ross Mor, now under the wonderfully hospitable ownership of Karen and Neil. The actual house is wonderful with everything you need for a comfortable stay including a number of additional touches that really made the trip. Breakfasts were plentiful and while I didn't sample the Scottish cooked breakfast, the porridge and salmon and scrambled were a great start to the day. Karen and Neil themselves are wonderful and went out of their way to make our trio hassle free - it's not often your hosts will arrange taxis and steam trains for you or birthday cupcakes!!

Grantown itself is a nice little village with friendly people and decent amenities. Although we spent most of our time out and about we did of course sample one of the local pubs which was perfectly pleasant.

The Ross Mor is highly recommended by me and I'll definitely be back there if and when I'm back in the Cairngorms.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RossMor, Owner at Rossmor Guest House, responded to this review, April 16, 2013
Thank you so much for your positive review. We thoroughly enjoyed meeting you and would love to see you again at RossMor. We were pleased you enjoyed the distillery tours and the steam train was a good way to end your trip. Keep an eye on our Facebook page to see what's happening in and around Grantown in the future. Thanks again, Karen and Neil
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Rossmor Guest House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Rossmor Guest House

Address: Woodlands Terrace, Grantown-on-Spey PH26 3JU, Scotland
Location: United Kingdom > Scotland > Scottish Highlands > Aviemore and the Cairngorms > Grantown-on-Spey
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 23 B&Bs / Inns in Grantown-on-Spey
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
RossMor is a beautiful Victorian Villa set in half an acre of terraced gardens, overlooking pine woods and the Cromdale Hills. Situated at the south end of Grantown-on-Spey, it is only a quick walk to the village centre and the River Spey. RossMor is the perfect base for exploring the Highlands including the Whisky Trail, Cairngorm Mountains, birdwatching and golf. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline and Odigeo so you can book your Rossmor Guest House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Rossmor Guest House Grantown-On-Spey, Scotland

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Rossmor Guest House, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.