We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Five star hotel!!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Ardconnel House B&B

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Grantown-on-Spey
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Ardconnel House B&B
Save
You added Ardconnel House B&B to your Saves list
Woodlands Terrace, Grantown-on-Spey PH26 3JU, Scotland   |  
Hotel amenities
Turku, Finland
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Five star hotel!!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 6, 2013

This was first time in my short (66 years) life visiting a B&B.
Everything was better than in average hotel, I should compare this B&B four star hotel.

After one week there with my three friends, I should say that there were only one disadvantage: their breakfast.
I got three kilograms more weight in one week, it was so good - thank you Tom. :)

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

22 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    22
    0
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
5
12
Solo
0
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (3)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Turku, Finland
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 5, 2013

We - 4 Finnish orienteerers participating Scottish 6 days - stayed in Ardconnel for 7 nights and I guess the highlight of our visit was Ardconnel, not the 6 days competition (although that was excellent, too). Ardconnel exceeded all our expectations and I can totally agree with all the positive comments given by the previous reviewers. Tom and Francoise are lovely and sympathetic people, we loved the discussions with them, and we all enjoyed our stay and the excellent care we got from them. Thank you Tom and Francoise!

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Montpellier, France
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 1, 2013

This is a very beautiful recent B&B, the owner are very nice. We stayed there one night during our eight days trip across Scotland this summer and this was the best accommodation we had. We strongly recommend it! We stayed in Glenfiddich room it is a very pleasant double ensuite room.

Room Tip: We stayed in Glenfiddich room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 22, 2013

Ardconnel is a delightful, highly recommended B & B. Francoise and Tom were welcoming and friendly. Molly (the dog) was an absolute delight. Our room was large, modern and spotless. All the accessories one could hope for, TV, DVD, tea, coffee, extra milk as well as bottled water. The breakfast was a delicious feast of large proportion. Tom's knowledge of the history of the area and surrounding homes was fascinating, his advice on scenic routes was great. We highly recommend Ardconnel House.

  • Stayed July 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 25, 2013

What a fantastic B&B, 5 star all the way! The room was immaculate, new, modern and the nice touches like shortbread, toiletries, bottled water were appreciated. We were made to feel very welcome and Tom even drove us down the village to meet friends which was a nice touch. Breakfast was delicious, smoked salmon and scrambled eggs and a Scottish fry up, nom nom nom. If you are in the area could not recommend this B& B highly enough. Enjoy!

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Macclesfield, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 22, 2013

Thanks to Tom, Francoise and Molly for making us so welcome on our recent stay in their beautifully decorated home. The accommodation is of a very high standard, better than the 5 star B&B we had stayed in the week before. The breakfast was lovely, I love scrambled eggs which can be cooked badly but not here they were just perfect. Something else I am fussy about is bread but there was no plastic white sliced here, the fresh coffee in the bedrooms is another nice touch. It's these little things that mean a lot to me and turn an ok B&B into a really good one. I would wholeheartedly recommend Ardconnel House and wish them luck in their venture.

Room Tip: They are all nice.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth, Australia
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 13, 2013

My wife, our two mums and myself are from Australia and emailed 4 properties in Grantown on Spey a few days prior to arriving requesting availablilty and only Tom at Ardconnel came back to us. We are so glad that was the case. Tom and Francoise are fantastic hosts, the property and rooms are superb, the breakfasts were delicious and plentiful and their local knowledge is tremendous. And thank you Tom for the whiskey education! We would thoroughly recommend a stay at Ardconne House to anybody. Thanks again Tom and Francoise.(and Molly of course)

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Ardconnel House B&B? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ardconnel House B&B

Address: Woodlands Terrace, Grantown-on-Spey PH26 3JU, Scotland
Location: United Kingdom > Scotland > Scottish Highlands > Aviemore and the Cairngorms > Grantown-on-Spey
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #10 of 23 B&Bs / Inns in Grantown-on-Spey
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Ardconnel House is a luxury B&B set in the Strathspey Area of the Cairngorms National Park. It is a traditional Victorian Villa in an ideal location on the edge of the village. A ten minute stroll down a well maintained woodlands path will take you to the majestic River Spey and 10 minutes is also all it takes to walk into the village centre. We have 5 bedrooms of the highest quality including a luxurious 4 poster bedroom (Glenlivet) with a large modern en-suite featuring a period bath and a walk-in shower. The other rooms have also been recently refurbished and decorated to a high standard, including Balvenie on the ground floor which also has a large walk-in shower. All bedrooms are en-suite, wifi, flat screen colour TVs and tea / coffee making facilities. Our breakfasts are all prepared from local highland produce and our hospitality is second to none. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Ardconnel House B&B Grantown-On-Spey, Scotland

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Ardconnel House B&B, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.