We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“This hotel was disappointing.” 2 of 5 stars
Review of The Craiglynne Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added The Craiglynne Hotel to your Saves list
The Craiglynne Hotel
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Woodlands Terrace, Grantown-on-Spey PH26 3JX, Scotland   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #7 of 10 Hotels in Grantown-on-Spey
Scotland
1 review
“This hotel was disappointing.”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed September 17, 2009

We booked a Superior Double Room at this hotel and, on arrival, found we were booked into a standard doubl. As we had paid in advance for a superior room, we requested to be moved the following day. The superior room proved to be very disappointing and not worth the extra money. The bathroom was very small and there was no mirror, toiletries shelf or pedal bin. It is very difficult for a man to shave in a bathroom with no mirror. After complaining, we finally were given a hand mirror but there was really nowhere to put it so it was quite useless alsowe were given a pedal bin which was very dirty and had a broken pedal.

Food was mediocre but the service in the dining room was very good.

  • Stayed September 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Craiglynne, Chrissie Harrison, Front Office Manager at The Craiglynne Hotel, responded to this review, September 19, 2009
Thank you for taking the time to write a review on our hotel.

I apologies that the delay in receiving your booking confirmation to the hotel, meant that a superiour room was unavilable and that you had to move on the second morning, however the room you were given is a king size room with a beautiful sleigh bed and of a superior standard compared to our other double rooms. This room is also very popular with or wedding parties and is used quite often as a bridal suite.

I have spoken with the room attendant regarding your bathroom bin and am reassured that it is in good working order and clean. The new Mirror with built in shelves for this bathroom has been ordered as it is a specialist design and requires to be made. This is of small consolation to you after your departure I know, but the vanity mirror is just a temporary option, and I apologize that is was not in the room on your arrival.

We appreciate all guest comments as this is vital to the continues training and improvement of our hotel and teams.

Kindest regards
Chrissie Harrison
Front Office Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

442 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    133
    136
    86
    39
    48
See reviews for
68
238
7
14
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (112)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
lanarkshire
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 10, 2009

Gratown on Spey lovely base to tour highlands. Hotel decidedly average, tin shower in room and frosty receptionist let it down. On the positive side lovely park across the road with nice walks. Dinning room staff get the 5 stars, they worked their socks off and were attentive and efficient. Meals adequate, nothing special., however nice relaxed atmosphere and very clean. NB creaky floorboards throughout. Fed up with hotels charging single room supplements.

  • Stayed September 2009, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Craiglynne, Chrissie Harrison, Front Office Manager at The Craiglynne Hotel, responded to this review, September 15, 2009
Thank you for taking the time to write a review on our hotel, we value all our guests’ opinion as a vital tool in continuing the standards of training for our teams.

We are pleased you enjoyed your stay with us and your comments regarding service have been passed to the teams involved.

Our published rates are all based on 2 adults sharing a twin or double room and therefore reflect the price paid. A single supplement will always apply, as does a single occupancy charge when there is only one person in a double or twin room. Maybe a single occupancy rate option would be more advisable with your budget in future, with this option you can secure a larger room if the rate is agreeable.

We do hope you will be back with us again soon

Kindest regards
Chrissie Harrison
Front Office Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MONTROSE
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 4, 2009

From the moment we checked in to the moment we left, the staff were excellent in the Craiglynne Hotel. The room we were in was adequate, the en-suite shower room was small but very clean and there was enough space to fit everything in comfortably-the only downside was a fairly dodgy flush on the toilet, but this is a minor quibble. Breakfast was very enjoyable, with a variety of cereals, fruit juices, porridge and fruit. The cooked breakfast was very good, with just enough to start your day without feeling bloated. The evening meals were excellent as well and I can heartily recommend the Potted Haugh, it was just sensational.
The bar was a wee bit pricey and there were no information leaflets in the reception, although saying that there was a comprehensive information book in our room.

All in all we really enjoyed our break in the Craiglynne and would have no hesitation in regommending it.

  • Stayed September 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Craiglynne, Chrissie Harrison, Front Office Manager at The Craiglynne Hotel, responded to this review, September 15, 2009
Thank you for taking the time to write a review on our hotel. We are happy you enjoyed your stay and appreciate your comments. I have passed your with regards to the Potted Haugh to our Head Chef whom is highly delighted you enjoyed his recipe.

We look forward to welcoming you back again in the not too distant future.

Kindest regards
Chrissie Harrison
Front Office Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glasgow
Top Contributor
56 reviews 56 reviews
24 hotel reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
34 helpful votes 34 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 27, 2009

We stayed here for four nights and enjoyed our break there. The hotel is in a great location within walking distance of the shops in Grantown and has lovely gardens out front. We were allocated a room on the ground floor at the side of the hotel and it was a bit cold and gloomy, (yes, June, Scotland!) The bathroom was tiny, when sitting on the loo, your shoulder touched the washbasin. However it was clean and the shower good and had plenty hot water. The food was reasonable with good choices. The staff were very friendly. It is in an ideal situation for visiting round the area, in easy reach of Aviemore and the Cairngorms.

  • Stayed June 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Craiglynne, Chrissie Harrison, Front Office Manager at The Craiglynne Hotel, responded to this review, September 27, 2009
Many thanks for taking the time to write a review on our hotel, we are pleased you enjoyed your short stay with us and very much look forward to welcoming you back in the not to distant future.

Kindest regards
Chrissie Harrison
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
cumbria
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 19, 2009

we travelled with four friends to this hotel for a 4 day scottish highlands break.
The staff team are very professional and welcoming. They were well managed and had high standards of customer service.
The bed rooms - we had 3 in our group - were very confortable and the 6ft wide beds
were great. the bathrooms were fine. The hotel grounds are splendid and the main lounge very well appointed, we really enjoyed relaxing in the sunny conservatory.
The food was well presented and we had a varied menu - different each night. Breakfast was very good and always freshly prepared.
The location is very convenient for castles - we visited Cawdor and Brodie with a tour over wonderful moor and mountains. We enjoyed the steam railway journey to Avimore - tickets were part of our hotel deal. We spent a great day at the Grantown on Spey show and enjoyed this well cared for country village.
The holiday was excellent value for money and we will book there again.

  • Stayed August 2009, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Craiglynne, Chrissie Harrison, Front Office Manager at The Craiglynne Hotel, responded to this review, August 23, 2009
Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to write a review on our hotel, it is always good to know that our guests have enjoyed their stay with us.
Your comments are greatly appreciated, and all comments regardless of content are vital to the ongoing training of our teams.

We look forward to welcoming you back to the Craiglynne Hotel in the not too distant future.

Kindest regards
Chrissie Harrison
Front Office Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
scotland
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 16, 2009

My friend and I were at the hotel for five days at the beginning of August I cannot praise the hotel or staff enough
We were made so welcome Our room was ideal being on the ground floor We faced the side of the hotel and it was so quite at night The room was spotless and kept that way all week ,with clean towels every day
The dining room was very comfortable with pleasant helpful staff
The food was ist class with plenty of verity so suit all tastes
The area is very convenient to many attractions
Don't miss a visit to he heather center or the wild life park near Kingussie
We also had a bus trip to Inverness to save driving
All in all we had a super break ,Thanks to everyone ( and also the weather ,as the sun shone every day
I have already recommended this hotel to my friends and I will certainly be going back
I must admit,that after I booked I looked up the reviews and was dismayed to see some negative comments but I often wonder if there is no pleasing some people as our experience was excellent all round Janice Shepherd

  • Stayed August 2009, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Craiglynne, Gemah Graham, General Manager at The Craiglynne Hotel, responded to this review, September 16, 2009
Dear Ms Shepherd,

Many Thanks for taking the time to write a review on our hotel, we are pleased you enjoyed your short stay with us and very much look forward to welcoming you back to the Crerar Craiglynne Hotel in the not to distant future.

Kindest Regards
Gemah
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Scotland
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 27, 2009

My husband and I stayed at the Craiglynne for a 2 night weekend break in July and had a good experience of this hotel. Overall, the hotel is nice with very pleasant and friendly staff and is in a good location with a pleasant outlook to the front of the hotel and well tended gardens to the front that also offer outdoor seating opportunities.
However, we did feel that there were small things that could have been improved at the hotel - for example, the state of the paintwork on the outside of the windows.
Rooms are a good size and beds very comfortable. Food is also reasonable - breakfast offered standard choices of cereal, fruit, toast and hot items too, evening meals are popular and offer a good choice.
All in all, a good choice for the area, easy to find and ample parking offered for guests.

  • Stayed July 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Craiglynne, Chrissie Harrison Front Office Manager at The Craiglynne Hotel, responded to this review, August 8, 2009
Thank you for taking the time to write a review on our hotel, we value all our guests opinion as a vital tool in continuing the standards of training for our teams.
We are please you enjoyed your stay over all, and wish to assure you that we are currently coarring out work on the exterior of the hotel to improve all our guests stay.
We look forward to welcoming you back to the Craiglynne in the near future.
Kindest regards
Chrissie Harrison
Front Office Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to The Craiglynne Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Craiglynne Hotel

Address: Woodlands Terrace, Grantown-on-Spey PH26 3JX, Scotland
Location: United Kingdom > Scotland > Scottish Highlands > Aviemore and the Cairngorms > Grantown-on-Spey
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #7 of 10 Hotels in Grantown-on-Spey
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — The Craiglynne Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 82
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Old world charm at the newly restored The Craiglynne Hotel. Our Victorian granite hotel, situated under the majestic Cairngorms, has just been restored and refurbished to the highest standards. With 82 stylish rooms and superb grounds, relaxing here during your stay is irresistible; however we also highly recommend visiting the beautiful villages, mountains, rivers and forests nearby. After a day exploring, there's nothing better than sinking into an armchair by one of our roaring log fires to share stories of Lochness, Inverness and the hugely popular whisky trail. When you are looking for hotels in Grantown-on-Spey, near Aviemore, stay with us and be one of the first to enjoy our restored hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, LateRooms, TripOnline SA, Priceline and Hotels.com so you can book your The Craiglynne Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Crerar Craiglynne
The Craiglynne Hotel Grantown-On-Spey, Scotland

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Craiglynne Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.