We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good food” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Crerar Craiglynne Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Crerar Craiglynne Hotel to your Saves list
Crerar Craiglynne Hotel
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Woodlands Terrace, Grantown-on-Spey PH26 3JX, Scotland   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #6 of 10 Hotels in Grantown-on-Spey
Airdrie, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
“Good food”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 9, 2014

Rooms clean and all staff helpful and friendly. Good location for getting about highlands. Pigeons are a bit noisy in morning. Food good and plentiful. Rod Stewart tribute was an added bonus. Would use this hotel again. A few ashtrays outside for the smokers would be a bonus.

Stayed April 2014, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Craiglynne, General Manager at Crerar Craiglynne Hotel, responded to this review, April 13, 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking your time to post your review on Trip advisor.

We were delighted to read your review and we are pleased that you enjoyed your stay with us, please have a look on our website for our tributes throughout the year.

I have passed your kind comments on to the team, and we hope to welcome you back to The Craiglynne Hotel in the not too distant future.

Warmest Regards
Gemah
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

413 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    121
    129
    78
    38
    47
See reviews for
59
226
7
13
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (104)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 4, 2014

Just returned from a lovely two night break at the Craiglinne. Bedrooms clean and comfy, food lovely and staff couldn't have been more helpful and pleasant. Overall our expectations were exceeded in every way.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Craiglynne, General Manager at Crerar Craiglynne Hotel, responded to this review, April 6, 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking your time to post your review on Trip advisor.

We were delighted to read your review and we are pleased that you enjoyed your stay with us,
I have passed your kind comments on to the team, and we hope too welcome you back to The Craiglynne Hotel in the not to distant future.

Warmest Regards
Gemah
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 28, 2014

we have just returned from spending 2 days and nights dinner bed and breakfast at the craigylynne hotel in Grantown on Spey , and we could not fault this hotel . our room was lovely spotless and warm , the staff are brilliant nothing was a problem to them. my partner and I are not big meat or fish eaters and the menu was great but not to our taste, we asked if it would be ok to have some chicken instead the chef then sent us a lovely meal of roast chicken mash and veg which was lovely breakfast is the best we have had, all cooked freshly toast lovely and warm as were all our meals on arrival.
we must mention Daniel , Ian and Donny the waiters in the restaurant they were brilliant my partner said he was hungry and could he have a little extra on his plate, well they looked after him from that moment on with lovely big portions both nights, and this morning before we left his breakfast was fit for a king thank you to all three of you for making our stay very very enjoyable with a wee laugh and your assistance in finding good pubs. we hope to return again to this hotel and would recommend it to anyone who likes good quality service and hospitality

Room Tip: ask for a superior room
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Craiglynne, General Manager at Crerar Craiglynne Hotel, responded to this review, March 29, 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you very much for taking the time to post your review on Trip Advisor. We are grateful for the time our guests take to leave their feedback; we were pleased to read you enjoyed your short break with us

I am glad that the Chef was able to meet your requirements with your evening meals, and I have also passed on your kind comments to the staff mentioned, who were extremely delighted.

Once again many thanks for your review, and we very much look forward to welcoming you back soon.

Warmest Regards
Gemah
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Inverness, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
93 reviews 93 reviews
28 hotel reviews
Reviews in 46 cities Reviews in 46 cities
60 helpful votes 60 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 20, 2014

We booked this Hotel for 2 nights DBB and after reading some of the reviews we were pleasantly surprised and enjoyed our stay. The Suite was very spacious and well decorated. The only down side was the Sink in the ensuite was very small and no where to put toiletries on a sloping sink.

The Evening Meal was very nice in both quality and quantity as was the Breakfast, the Barman was very pleasant and well mannered and deserves a big thank you.

The location of the Hotel in the Highlands was just what we needed and lends its self to easy access via beautiful countryside to many small Villages/Towns in the area.

Will have no problems recommending it to others and looking forward to returning again in the future.

Room Tip: Pay the extra for a Suite
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Craiglynne, General Manager at Crerar Craiglynne Hotel, responded to this review, March 23, 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you very much for taking the time to post your review on Trip Advisor.

We were delighted to read you enjoyed your stay and thank you for raising the issue with the sink, I have now passed this on to our in house maintenance team to rectify the issue. Thank you for your kind comments which have been passed to both our kitchen team and to the barman.

Once again, thank you and we look forward to welcoming you back to the Crerar Craiglynne Hotel in the not too distant future.

Warmest Regards
Gemah
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
edinburgh
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 18, 2014

just returned from a 2 night DBB deal through easybreaks. The room was clean and comfortable, the only downside was the shower, had difficulty turning it on and off. The staff were all very nice and attentive and there was a nice atmosphere. The food was very good although there did seem to be a mis- communication problem between the food waiters and wine waiter. But overall it was a good break and would stay there again if in the area.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Craiglynne, General Manager at Crerar Craiglynne Hotel, responded to this review, March 21, 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you very much for taking the time to post your review on Trip Advisor. We are extremely grateful for the time our guests take to leave their feedback.

I must apologise if you had difficulty with using the shower; I have checked back our guest feedback log and nothing has been reported, I only wish you could have mentioned it at the time and we could have assisted you with this issue.

Once again many thanks for your review, and we very much look forward to welcoming you back soon.

Warmest Regards
Gemah
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Scotland
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 17, 2014

Had a great weekend, played golf at Garnton on Spey GC very welcoming, nice course that's not too challenging.

Hotel had some good and bad points. Food was good, staff were great and very accommodating. The entertainment Tribute act was excellent, the guy put a lot into it and was very good. Also the selection of Malts at very reasonable prices!.

Room was very small for a twin, but clean if a bit dated. The hotel has a nice open fire in the main reception area, all set up to be lit, problem was nobody did...... it would have made such a difference.

If you are looking for an inexpensive hotel with decent food then this one is as good as any, its not 4 or 5 * though but again they don't claim to be.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Craiglynne, General Manager at Crerar Craiglynne Hotel, responded to this review, March 18, 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you very much for taking the time to post your review on Trip Advisor.

We are appreciative of the time our guests take to post their feedback, our log fires are regularly lit during the evenings, however due to the weather change recently; it has been rather warm in the hotel, please accept my apologies if this had affected your stay in any way.

We were all extremely pleased to read you enjoyed your short stay with us and we very much look forward to welcoming you back soon.

Warmest Regards
Gemah
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Inverness, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 16, 2014

Had a brilliant time at this hotel,food beautiful,cosy rooms,pleasant staff.George Michael and Robbie Williams tribute act was brilliant.Will definitely be returning again,well worth the money.Well done to all of you at this hotel.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Craiglynne, General Manager at Crerar Craiglynne Hotel, responded to this review, March 17, 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you very much for taking the time to post your review on Trip Advisor. We are extremely grateful for the time our guests take to leave their feedback.

We were pleased to read you enjoyed your entertainment break with us and please do keep in touch for further entertainment breaks up and coming in the near future.

Once again many thanks and we very much look forward to welcoming you back soon.

Warmest Regards
Gemah
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Crerar Craiglynne Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Crerar Craiglynne Hotel

Address: Woodlands Terrace, Grantown-on-Spey PH26 3JX, Scotland
Location: United Kingdom > Scotland > Scottish Highlands > Aviemore and the Cairngorms > Grantown-on-Spey
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 10 Hotels in Grantown-on-Spey
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Crerar Craiglynne Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 82
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Old world charm at the newly restored Craiglynne Hotel. Our Victorian granite hotel, situated under the majestic Cairngorms, has just been restored and refurbished to the highest standards. With 82 stylish rooms and superb grounds, relaxing here during your stay is irresistible; however we also highly recommend visiting the beautiful villages, mountains, rivers and forests nearby. After a day exploring, there's nothing better than sinking into an armchair by one of our roaring log fires to share stories of Lochness, Inverness and the hugely popular whisky trail. When you are looking for hotels in Grantown-on-Spey, near Aviemore, stay with us and be one of the first to enjoy our restored hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, EasyToBook, Despegar.com, TripOnline SA, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Crerar Craiglynne Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Crerar Craiglynne
Crerar Craiglynne Hotel Grantown-On-Spey, Scotland

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Crerar Craiglynne Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.