We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Hotel” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Crerar Craiglynne Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added Crerar Craiglynne Hotel to your Saves list
Crerar Craiglynne Hotel
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Woodlands Terrace, Grantown-on-Spey PH26 3JX, Scotland   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #6 of 10 Hotels in Grantown-on-Spey
Montrose, scotland
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“Great Hotel”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 18, 2013

My husband and I have just arrived home after a 4 day/3night break. Everything about this hotel was first class including the staff. We had a room at the front of the building which was a good size, nicely furnished,there was a good ensuite and everything was clean. The room was serviced each morning, including clean towels.
The public rooms were very nice and comfortable and the seated area was well set out with log fires to cheer us up on a rainy day. The dining room was beautiful and the meals were excellent.
The Hotel is a short walk in to town and is idealy situated with lots of interesting places to visit in the area.
We enjoyed our stay very much and hope to go back in the not too distant future.

Room Tip: Rooms at the front have a nice view over the garden and beyond.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Craiglynne, General Manager at Crerar Craiglynne Hotel, responded to this review, April 21, 2013
Dear Guests,

Thank you for taking the time to post your review on Trip Advisor.

We were delighted to read you enjoyed your short stay with us and I have passed your kind comments on to the team here at the Craiglynne Hotel.

We very much look forward to welcoming you back in the near
future.

Warmest Regards
Gemah
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

413 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    121
    129
    78
    38
    47
See reviews for
59
226
7
13
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (104)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
edinburgh
Top Contributor
56 reviews 56 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
36 helpful votes 36 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 16, 2013

Visited here recently with family and I am glad that we got a special deal as I would not have liked to pay the full price. On the plus side the staff are great and are all so helpful and very friendly and they go out of their way to help you.The situation of the Hotel is great and if you can get a front room with a view all the better.The public areas are of a high standard and the dining room is lovely. Grantown is a lovely town with some really nice shops and cafes.

However the downsides were: The first room we were given was a cross between Hogwarts and Fawlty Towers and was up in the attic at the end of miles of steps, stairs and corridors. There was no way I could find my way back to reception! We asked to be moved as the coombed ceilings were just too low as some of us are quite tall! Second room was a bit better with a view out to the front. The loo was a bit dated and the shower did not work too well. However we came back after being out all day the next day, only to find the room had not been made up so had to ask for fresh towels and make our own beds. Another family member had their own room and the shower was like something out of the 1950's and was in a metal box within the loo! It even had a roof! Very odd! Lastly the offer we were on, included a bottle of wine on the first night so we duly ordered this, but not being big drinkers left half for the next night. Unfortunately for us, the next night when we asked for the remainder of the wine we were told they didn't keep it. I can honestly say that this has never happened to us in any other Hotel we have stayed in, so we were a bit peeved to say the least. No offer of another drink was made. Lastly the wi-fi never worked at all, in the time we were there.

Room Tip: Ask for a front facing room as lovely views.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Craiglynne, General Manager at Crerar Craiglynne Hotel, responded to this review, April 21, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to post your review on trip advisor.

We are appreciative of the time our guests take to post their feedback and we always take comments on board to help monitor and improve our service and standards.

I have also spoken with the house keeping team regarding your room not being serviced and I have also checked back the house keeping log, it seems there was a hush, hush sign placed on the door, (this was recorded within our log) I appreciate this may not have been placed by yourselves as you clearly state your room was not serviced, I am terribly sorry this happened and I appreciate this is no consolation to yourself.

We have also taken on board the issues raised with the bathroom and can assure you we have an active rolling programme for upgrading our bathrooms.

When guests wish to leave some wine for the following evening, our bar person is more than happy to do this as long as we take the room number and name of the guest to mark that information on the bottle and it will be kept aside, if you have left a bottle unmarked on a table it will be cleared away.

Once again I would like to thank you for your review, and express my regret and apologies that your stay with us was not as enjoyable as it could have been, I do hope that you will give us the opportunity to reinstall your confidence in our hotel in the future.

Warmest Regards
Gemah
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edinburgh
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 12, 2013

Went here with my husband and two kids for a mid week DBB break. Staff were very friendly and helpful. The room was basic, but served the purpose. Breakfast was really good and dinner was also good. It is lovely to see linen tablecloth and napkins. Service is a credit to the owners and would come back. Well done!

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Craiglynne, General Manager at Crerar Craiglynne Hotel, responded to this review, April 13, 2013
Dear Guests,

Thank you for posting your review on Trip Advisor.

We were delighted to read you enjoyed your short stay with us and I have passed your kind comments on to the team here at the hotel. We look forward to welcoming you back to the Crerar Craiglynne Hotel in the not too distant future.

Warmest Regards
Gemah
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Peebles, United Kingdom
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 11, 2013

My wife and I had a 4 day break at this excellent Highland Hotel in Grantown on Spey. It is very well situated for visiting lots of attractions in the area and a short walk into the town centre.
The hotel was warm, comfortable and welcoming with very friendly staff and our room was clean, spacious and cosy although our preference would have been for a softer mattress on the bed.

The 3 course dinner menu always had something which we liked and the breakfast had lots of choice, always served by polite and friendly waiting staff.

All in all , a great value for money break which we have no hesitation in reccomending to others.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Craiglynne, General Manager at Crerar Craiglynne Hotel, responded to this review, April 12, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to post a review on Trip Advisor.

We were delighted to read you enjoyed your short stay with us and we very much look forward to welcoming you back in the not too distant future.

Warmest Regards
Gemah
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glenrothes, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 8, 2013

With my wife I have just returned from a mid week break at the hotel. The hotel was well kept and the staff were the best I have ever dealt with more than helpful to say the least. Food was really first class and well presented. A hotel very much worth a visit. Jim K

Room Tip: All rooms are good but 231 has a few steps and not really sutible for elderly or persons with leg or...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Craiglynne, General Manager at Crerar Craiglynne Hotel, responded to this review, April 9, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to post your review on Trip Advisor.

We are delighted you have enjoyed your stay with us and I have passed your kind comments to all the staff here at the hotel and we very much look forward to welcoming you back in the not too distant future.

Warmest Regards

Gemah
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sautee Nacoochee, Georgia
Top Contributor
198 reviews 198 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 59 cities Reviews in 59 cities
52 helpful votes 52 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 7, 2013 via mobile

Old but clean. Friendly staff, stayed here with Collette Vacations, but no time to explore town. We heard some rooms were small, ours were fine. Would stay again. I do not know anything about the area, stayed on way to Orkney Islands.

Stayed April 2013, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Craiglynne, General Manager at Crerar Craiglynne Hotel, responded to this review, April 9, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to post your review on Trip Advisor.

We are pleased you enjoyed your short stay with us, it’s a great shame you did not have the time to explore the town. I have passed your kind comments on to the team here at the Craiglynne Hotel and we do hope you enjoyed the rest of your visit around Scotland.

Once again thank you for your review, and we hope we can welcome you back to the Craiglynne Hotel, in the not too distant future.

Warmest Regards
Gemah
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Erskine, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
79 reviews 79 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 42 cities Reviews in 42 cities
40 helpful votes 40 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 6, 2013 via mobile

We (my husband, myself and our wee dog) booked a two night d,b&b package for the Easter weekend which included the Michael Buble tribute show. The outside of the hotel was very impressive with a lovely reception area. Our room on the second floor was very comfortable and over looked the front gardens. Only downside was that we could not regulate the temp of the water in the shower.

Meals were very tasty indeed and the restaurant staff were very attentive. Tribute singer was very good also. Would definitely recommend it. The area has great walks and very accessible for other activities such as skiing & sightseeing.

Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Craiglynne, General Manager at Crerar Craiglynne Hotel, responded to this review, April 9, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to post your review on Trip Advisor.

We are delighted you enjoyed your short stay with us and we think our tribute night was enjoyed by everyone; please keep in touch with us to find out about our up and coming tribute and entertainment breaks.

Im sorry you had problems with your shower should you have reported it at the time we would have been more than happy to have the issue rectified at the time for you.

Once again I would like to thank you for your review, and we hope to welcome you back in the not too distant future.

Warmest Regards
Gemah
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Crerar Craiglynne Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Crerar Craiglynne Hotel

Address: Woodlands Terrace, Grantown-on-Spey PH26 3JX, Scotland
Location: United Kingdom > Scotland > Scottish Highlands > Aviemore and the Cairngorms > Grantown-on-Spey
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 10 Hotels in Grantown-on-Spey
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Crerar Craiglynne Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 82
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Old world charm at the newly restored Craiglynne Hotel. Our Victorian granite hotel, situated under the majestic Cairngorms, has just been restored and refurbished to the highest standards. With 82 stylish rooms and superb grounds, relaxing here during your stay is irresistible; however we also highly recommend visiting the beautiful villages, mountains, rivers and forests nearby. After a day exploring, there's nothing better than sinking into an armchair by one of our roaring log fires to share stories of Lochness, Inverness and the hugely popular whisky trail. When you are looking for hotels in Grantown-on-Spey, near Aviemore, stay with us and be one of the first to enjoy our restored hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, EasyToBook, Despegar.com, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Crerar Craiglynne Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Crerar Craiglynne
Crerar Craiglynne Hotel Grantown-On-Spey, Scotland

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Crerar Craiglynne Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.