We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The best priced Sunday lunch ever?” 5 of 5 stars
Review of garth restaurant in the garth hotel

garth restaurant in the garth hotel
castle road, Grantown-on-Spey, Scotland
Website
Improve this listing
Cuisines: British
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations
Description: reception@garthhotel.com
Alness, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
“The best priced Sunday lunch ever?”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 6, 2013

We stopped here as driving through the town, there appeared to be nothing else open. It's not the most inviting from the outside but we didn't know where else would be open if we didn't go there. We're so glad we did- the welcome was fantastic, the service couldn't be faulted and the food was the best value for money. 2 course Sunday lunch for 2 people, with 2 soft drinks for £22.70. The 3 course option is only another £2 each on top of that. We got some beatiful bread and butter and a jug of iced water as soon as we sat down. Starters for us both were deep fried brie wedges, which were definitely not from the freezer. My husband had the roast beef and I had beef and venison hotpot. Both were faultless and perfect portion sizes. The toilets are immaculate and had we not had to drive further we would have checked in for the night so we could sample dinner and breakfast too. We will definitely be back :)

  • Visited January 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

125 reviews from our community

81% Recommend
    68
    34
    15
    8
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Perth, Australia
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
33 helpful votes 33 helpful votes
“Great value and cosy”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 29, 2012

Nice food and reasonably priced. Staff were attentive and helpful. Cosy lounge where you can have predinner drinks or coffee.

  • Visited December 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
281 reviews 281 reviews
90 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 193 cities Reviews in 193 cities
231 helpful votes 231 helpful votes
“Cramped, service hit and miss”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 1, 2012

We ate at the Garth one evening and were underwhelmed for what is reputedly the best place to eat out in Grantown. It is clearly popular, but this may be due to lack of other options.

Pluses - gluten-free options shown on menu, pleasant staff

Minuses - cramped dining area, small tables add to lack of space, ordinary food, patchy service.

Maybe they just don't have to try that hard?

  • Visited October 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Inverurie
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Midweek Break”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 23, 2012

We sampled some excellent cuisine and very friendly service at the Garth Hotel during our short stay in Grantown-on-Spey. Lovely food and good value for money.

Visited November 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dulnain Bridge, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Lovely place for a meal”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 18, 2012

The Garth is always a treat to go to. I usually go at lunchtime. I like the change of menu every time keeping in step with the change of the seasons. The prices are very reasonable for either a 2 or 3 course meal and the service is very good. A good place to take visitors wanting to try some authentic great-tasting Scottish food.

Visited November 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed garth restaurant in the garth hotel also viewed

Grantown-on-Spey, Aviemore and the Cairngorms
Grantown-on-Spey, Aviemore and the Cairngorms
 
Grantown-on-Spey, Aviemore and the Cairngorms
Grantown-on-Spey, Aviemore and the Cairngorms
 

Been to garth restaurant in the garth hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage garth restaurant in the garth hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.