We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The Speyside Way.” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Culdearn House

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Grantown-on-Spey
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Culdearn House
Save
You added Culdearn House to your Saves list
Woodlands Terrace, Grantown-on-Spey PH26 3JU, Scotland   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #4 of 10 Hotels in Grantown-on-Spey
shetland
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“The Speyside Way.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 24, 2012

Excellant hotel in lovely convenient spot. Hostess very friendly and helpful and also an excellant cook. Rooms very comfortable and exceptionally clean. Lovely guest lounge with open fire.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
wildwullie, Owner at Culdearn House, responded to this review, May 27, 2012
Thank you for your positive comments regarding your stay here at Culdearn.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

70 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    47
    13
    5
    4
    1
See reviews for
10
38
2
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (6)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Zug, Switzerland
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 16, 2012

Substantial house, high ceilinged rooms. Plenty of room and space. Excellent breakfast and superb dinners.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
oorwullieScotland, Owner at Culdearn House, responded to this review, April 24, 2012
Many thanks indeed for taking the time to write this review. We are pleased that you enjoyed the comfort of our home and also appreciated its Victorian splendour. We hope you will return to the HIghlands and Speyside and visit us again .
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Switzerland
Senior Contributor
42 reviews 42 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 16, 2012

We four (family of three with 22-year old daughter's friend) traveled from Switzerland, met good British friends, and toured Scotland for a week. Culdearn House is a haven of warmth, extraordinary comfort and style (best showers and water pressure in Scotland??) and lovely food. We would return in a second. We spent two nights, with the usual wild April weather mix of heavy snow squalls, brilliant sun, rainbows and damp cold and were received with grace and dignity by Sonia and William. Cozy fires, help with even the smallest questions and queries, always the extra effort needed to make a stay completely right. An assertive pheasant and numerous red squirrels entertain in the garden. We cannot praise this small hotel/guest house enough. An oasis in a quiet town, wish there were more like this.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
oorwullieScotland, Owner at Culdearn House, responded to this review, April 24, 2012
Many thanks indeed for writing this lovely, positive review. We are delighted that you and your family enjoyed your stay here at Culdearn which was, in your words, a 'haven of warmth'. Despite the awful weather we were pleased that you were able to 'sample' some of Speyside's delights and experience the hospitality of the Highlands. We must thank you in return for choosing to stay with us.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
54 helpful votes 54 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 6, 2012 via mobile

Stayed with visitors for one night, very comfortable well appointed rooms with extra touches, my visitors loved it! Very good dinner, and breakfast! After heavy snowfall next morning path was cleared to enable access to cars was a huge help! Excellent service!

Stayed April 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
oorwullieScotland, Owner at Culdearn House, responded to this review, April 23, 2012
Thank you for your kind comments regarding your recent stay. We are pleased that you and your guests were comfortable. We were all amazed at the amount of snow that fell in the night and it was good early morning exercise clearing the driveway in time for everyone's departure.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newcastle upon Tyne, UK.
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 28, 2012 via mobile

I stayed at Culdearn for 3 nights, DBB. The hotel is a beautiful house on the way into Grantown from Aviemore direction, therefore ideally placed. Aviemore is worth avoiding if you can and Grantown is peaceful and pretty. Grantown is also close to skiing areas; many walks start from the front door, single malt distilleries and Royal Deeside aren't far.

I had a very sizeable and comfortable room with an amazing bathroom. The food was excellent and the wine list equally impressive. Sonia and William are great hosts and I really enjoyed my time staying here. Parking is easy just outside.

Highly recommended - for walkers, for skiiers, Royal watchers or those heading onto the Spey to fish.

  • Stayed February 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
oorwullieScotland, Owner at Culdearn House, responded to this review, March 2, 2012
Thank you so much for taking the time to write this positive report. We are pleased to hear that you enjoyed your short break with us - we enjoyed your company too! Your first visit to Speyside and Grantown which we know you enjoyed and we hope it will be the start of many more visits back.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cambridge
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 26, 2012

I stayed at Culdearn House during a flying visit to the Highlands with a friend from Australia. This lovely country house hotel offered luxurious bedrooms, beautifully furnished with great attention to detail. The dining room is a delight and the food superb both in quality and presentation. Both our evening meals and breakfast were divine and couldn't be faulted.

We loved the drawing room, which is richly decorated with family photos and objets d’art, big sofas and plenty to read. It's a comfortable room where we relaxed and chatted with the friendly and entertaining hosts before dinner. They are passionate and knowledgeable about the local and wider area. I wish we'd had time to explore further.

We felt it combined the best of both worlds: the elegance and luxury of many a large hotel but with a very personal touch, attentive hosts and most memorably, a sense of being welcomed as valued guests into a much-loved family home.

I will certainly be going back!

Stayed January 2012, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
oorwullieScotland, Owner at Culdearn House, responded to this review, March 1, 2012
Thank you for taking the time to write this positive report . We enjoyed your company and are so pleased to hear that you enjoyed staying with us. It was unfortunate that at this time of the year not all of the distilleries are open for visiting but that you were able to enjoy a whisky tasting and nosing evening with us instead. Slainte!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kilmarnock
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
23 hotel reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
52 helpful votes 52 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 25, 2011

We were greated at the door by Sonia and our reaction was she was very unfriendly.

Our room was very well appointed, with a lovely large shower. The towels could have been of better quality for this type of establishment.

Food was of excellent quality, our only complaint would be the vegetables were very basic in presentation and taste.

William was an excellent host and for us made our visit worthwhile. Although the public rooms, bedrooms and most of the food was excellent I would not consider going back.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Culdearn House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Culdearn House

Address: Woodlands Terrace, Grantown-on-Spey PH26 3JU, Scotland
Location: United Kingdom > Scotland > Scottish Highlands > Aviemore and the Cairngorms > Grantown-on-Spey
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 10 Hotels in Grantown-on-Spey
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Beatiful Victoria Country House built in 1860 which has retained many of its original features. It is now a small hotel offering fine food, excellent malts and wines and is ideally based within the heart of Speyside on the whisky and castle trails. Salmon and sea trout fishing on the nearby River Spey, 5 beautiful golf courses, steam train, funicular railway to the top of Cairngorm Mountain are all within easy short distance from the house. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Culdearn House Hotel Grantown-On-Spey
Culdearn Hotel Grantown On Spey
Culdearn House Grantown-On-Spey, Scotland

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Culdearn House, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.