We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fair food, questionable service” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Sylhet Brasserie

No photo provided
Got a photo?
Add it.
Sylhet Brasserie
36 The Square, Grantown-on-Spey PH26 3HF, Scotland
01479 873536
Website
Improve this listing
Price range: $23 - $47
Cuisines: Indian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Romance, Large groups, Special occasions, Entertaining clients
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Reservations, Takeout, Delivery, Late Night
Berwickshire
Senior Contributor
36 reviews 36 reviews
26 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
“Fair food, questionable service”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 12, 2013

Standard Indian fare with some good fish dishes, for which our order was greeted with some amazement and clear unfamiliarity which was strange. I did not like being pressed to order particular drinks, it was assumed that my husband would want a pint of beer which was not the case! We opted out of the desserts and more pushy service in favour of a Magnum from the convenience store.

  • Visited October 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

108 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    54
    33
    14
    6
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Good Indian food in a lovely town.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 10, 2013 via mobile

We visit this restaurant in June every year when we are on a golf trip from Edinburgh and would thoroughly recommend it.

  • Visited June 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Barlow, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
69 helpful votes 69 helpful votes
“Nice takeaway”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 22, 2013

We ordered a take away during our visit to the area. The service was good and the food prepared quickly.

Quality wise, the food was very good - my wife had the biriyani and was enough there for two! Value wise, very reasonable, not expensive at all.

I've knocked a point off the score as they did slightly mess up the order (we ended up with a portion of rice instead of onion bhargi) and we couldn't spot this until we were back at the cottage as it was at the bottom of the bag, but don't let this put you off, it was a very nice meal.

  • Visited September 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Goodyear, Arizona
Top Contributor
53 reviews 53 reviews
29 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
“Delicious meal”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 17, 2013

Three of us visited here on a weeknight in August and thoroughly enjoyed our meal. Wonderful and varied flavors for the three dishes we ordered and the starter. The portions were large and we couldn't actually finish all the food we were served. Good service and nice surroundings. We would be happy to return.

  • Visited August 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leyland UK
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
“great indian restaurant”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 26, 2013

I have been to indian restaurants all over the UK and this is up with the best.Even has Cobra beer.The owner or manager was always on hand when I was in there.It was pretty full on a Monday so must be good

Visited August 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Sylhet Brasserie also viewed

Grantown-on-Spey, Aviemore and the Cairngorms
Grantown-on-Spey, Aviemore and the Cairngorms
 
Grantown-on-Spey, Aviemore and the Cairngorms
Grantown-on-Spey, Aviemore and the Cairngorms
 

Been to Sylhet Brasserie? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Sylhet Brasserie, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.