We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautiful house, great location...” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Dunallan House

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Save
You added Dunallan House to your Saves list
Dunallan House
Woodside Ave, Grantown-on-Spey PH26 3JN , Scotland   |  
Hotel amenities
Weymouth, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Beautiful house, great location...”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 14, 2010

Dave and Jayne were the perfect hosts during our stay in the Cairngorms. Our room was stylish, elegant, bright and spotlessly clean. Breakfast was delicious, traditional bacon and eggs, fresh fruit, good quality cereals, salmon and my own particular favourite of fresh waffles and maple syrup.
Two minutes walk from the cafes, shops, pubs and restaurants in Grantown town centre and brief walk a way from the fast flowing waters of the Spey river make this an ideal highland location.
For the more active traveller Jayne and Dave offer friendly and expert advice on just about any outdoor pursuit, including, climbing, walking, skiing, kayaking and cycling. This really was the highlight of our trip to Scotland.

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

205 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    176
    24
    5
    0
    0
See reviews for
39
113
9
5
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (25)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Sydney, Australia
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 6, 2010

Very nice and clean rooms. Best breakfast of the whole trip. Jayne & David are very friendly, welcoming and helpful with information.

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Essen, Germany
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 19, 2010

We arrived at the Guest House happy , that we found a place for tonight. It turned out that we can stay with Dave and Jayne for 4 nights but having to switch rooms, which was no problem for us at all. So we stayed in 3 rooms (2 nights in number 7 the highlight of your honeymoon trip). We really enjoyed the stay and the great breakfasts. Dave suggested some hikes in the national park and explained the way on the map. They also had good recommendations for dinner. The dinner at the Garths and the pie in the pub Craigs, over the street were great.

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Treviso, Italy
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 16, 2010

jayne and david are perfect owners, they are so kind...and breakfast was fantastic. we stayed on third floor,which was only for us. Bedrooms are big, clean and comfortable. perfect for a romantic weekend!

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Port Moody, Canada
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 11, 2010

My husband, son and I stayed at Dunallan for 5 nights and had a marvellous stay. The rooms were very comfortable; the breakfasts delicious( especially the eggs and salmon) and the hosts were wonderful. It was definately one of the best places I have stayed in and would not hesitate to go back.

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Netherlands
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
21 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 8, 2010

Dave and Jayne made us feel very welcome. We stayed in the top floor room with the luxury bathroom. The room and the bathroom are very spacious and have a wonderful view. The rooms are tastefully decorated with an eye for details. (f.e. local information and books in the room and plenty of room for the toilet bags in the bathroom and a towel bracket within reach of the shower).
The breakfast was delicious with lots of choice including fresh fruit salad. I can recommend the scrambled egg with smoked salmon.
There is a living room for the guests on the ground floor with lots of books and some toys for the children. They lit the fireplace in the evening to make it even cosier.
The location is excellent. Close to shops and restaurants and with good excess to all the important attractions.

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 5, 2010

I recently spent five days in Speyside climbing the hills and mountains, and this B&B in the heart of Grantown was as close to perfect as I could have got. Jayne & David were very warm and welcoming, and their knowledge of the local area, plus their collection of walking guides, was an invaluable aid to helping me plan walking around in one of the most beautiful and challenging parts of the country. They went out of their way to make me feel at home, while my room was comfortable and clean, and the breakfasts that helped fuel my walking holiday were brilliant and well-cooked.

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Dunallan House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Dunallan House

Address: Woodside Ave, Grantown-on-Spey PH26 3JN , Scotland
Location: United Kingdom > Scotland > Scottish Highlands > Aviemore and the Cairngorms > Grantown-on-Spey
Amenities:
Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #7 of 23 B&Bs / Inns in Grantown-on-Spey
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
At Dunallan House you will enjoy a warm welcome and be sure of a comfortable and relaxing stay in a family run, traditional Victorian Guest House. Stay in comfortable and spacious accommodation, all our bedrooms are en-suite with great attention to detail and comfort. Beautiful breakfast room and sitting rooms with log fires.Situated in a quiet location, yet only a short walk from local shops and a wide range of excellent restaurants and cafes, Dunallan House offers the perfect base for touring the Scottish Highlands. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline and Odigeo so you can book your Dunallan House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Dunallan House Grantown-On-Spey, Scotland

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Dunallan House, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.