We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A Great three nights.” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Dunallan House

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Save
You added Dunallan House to your Saves list
Dunallan House
Woodside Ave, Grantown-on-Spey PH26 3JN , Scotland   |  
Hotel amenities
Waterlooville, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
49 reviews 49 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
61 helpful votes 61 helpful votes
“A Great three nights.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 9, 2013

We stayed in May for three nights with the dog in tow; Jayne was very friendly and nothing was too much trouble. As reviewed by many the breakfast is excellent with a very good selection.

I'm not sure why people on here complain about the bedrooms, ours was excellent.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

205 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    176
    24
    5
    0
    0
See reviews for
39
113
9
5
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (25)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
St. Thomas, ON
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 8, 2013

Compared to the other B&B's we stayed at during our trip to Scotland, this one was our least favourite. Jayne is a very welcoming hostess, very friendly and outgoing, as is her daughter (and cute granddaughter for that matter!). I believe all the raving reviews are for the room with the exquisite bathroom, however, that is not the room we stayed in. Our room was Victorian décor, a bit dusty and dated for our taste. The bathroom was adequate but small, the mattress quite hard. Breakfast was good though, lots to choose from and, as per other reviews, the waffle was quite good! It was a short walk from the main street with shops and restaurants.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 7, 2013 via mobile

My partner and I stayed at Dunallan for a romantic break away from the city and it was first class from the moment we arrived.

The room was comfy, clean and homely and the breakfast was divine. Jayne the host was so welcoming and really made the stay.

We'll definitely be returning...maybe text time in the honeymoon suite!

  • Stayed June 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ireland
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 26, 2013 via mobile

We stayed on a Sunday night, with our dog. All 3 of us were made feel very welcome. Jayne suggested a walk to us in a nearby wood, which was just stunning. Delicious breakfast & a spacious, comfortable room. We were delighted with our experience.

  • Stayed May 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Weymouth, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 24, 2013 via mobile

My partner and I are always keen to return to Dunallan, after first visiting a few years ago. Breakfast is always a highlight of our stay, waffles, maple syrup, bacon and locally sourced eggs, perfectly cooked by our most welcoming and accomplished host, Jayne. This delightful b&b is ideally located, close to the town centre and on the edge of beautiful woodland adjacent to the majestic Spey river. Don't miss the opportunity to go biking through the woods (you can hire bikes from the shop in town). Jayne has a wealth of knowledge about the local area and even took us skiing ! Only wish we could have stayed longer.

  • Stayed May 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Luton, United Kingdom
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 16, 2013

Our 2 night stay at Dunallan was very relaxing, once again we were not disappointed the waffles were heaven and the porridge oh! so good. The new extension is amazing and the shower room
in bedroom 2 was faultless. The lounge with its log fire was so welcoming and Jayne spoilt us with the whisky selection. Thank you Jayne look forward to another visit soon.

Room Tip: Room 7 if available well worth the extra
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edinburgh
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 2, 2013

My boyfriend and I stayed at Dunallan House for three nights from 4th of April. We were looking forward to a break away for a few days and it started off by Jayne's relaxed and very friendly welcome to Grantown on Spey. We received a complimentary room upgrade which was hugely appreciated, although I have to say our original room was beautiful too. Our room, room 5, was large, immaculately clean, warm and unique with a Victorian theme. The shower was great and under floor heating was an added luxury to this very comfortable room. The tea/coffee tray had a good variety but the range of options at the cold breakfast buffet was excellent with delicious fresh fruit each morning. The cooked breakfast was delicious and I would highly recommend the scrambled egg with smoked salmon as it was the best I have ever had.
Thanks to Jayne's recommendations we ate at terrific Indian, indulged in huge cakes in Aviemore and enjoyed local banter with gourmet pies in Craig's Bar. We truly relaxed in Grantown on Spey but without staying at Dunallan and having Jayne's friendly suggestions, our experience wouldn't have been the fantastic one it was. Thank you.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Dunallan House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Dunallan House

Address: Woodside Ave, Grantown-on-Spey PH26 3JN , Scotland
Location: United Kingdom > Scotland > Scottish Highlands > Aviemore and the Cairngorms > Grantown-on-Spey
Amenities:
Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #7 of 23 B&Bs / Inns in Grantown-on-Spey
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
At Dunallan House you will enjoy a warm welcome and be sure of a comfortable and relaxing stay in a family run, traditional Victorian Guest House. Stay in comfortable and spacious accommodation, all our bedrooms are en-suite with great attention to detail and comfort. Beautiful breakfast room and sitting rooms with log fires.Situated in a quiet location, yet only a short walk from local shops and a wide range of excellent restaurants and cafes, Dunallan House offers the perfect base for touring the Scottish Highlands. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline and Odigeo so you can book your Dunallan House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Dunallan House Grantown-On-Spey, Scotland

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Dunallan House, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.