We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“"Highly Recommended"” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Dunallan House

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Save
You added Dunallan House to your Saves list
Dunallan House
Woodside Ave, Grantown-on-Spey PH26 3JN , Scotland   |  
Hotel amenities
Southampton, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“"Highly Recommended"”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 6, 2012

Used Dunallen House as a base to walk in the Cairngorm National Park and to go dolphin watching on the Moray firth, great location for visiting this area. Situated in a quiet location with a pub just metres away! David and Jayne were fantastic hosts and made us feel very welcome in their lovely home. The room was nicely decorated, cosy and extremely clean with a modern and large en-suite. The breakfast was everything you need to set you up for the day with a great choice for anyone's needs. Shame we could only stay for two nights, we will definately be back, Thankyou.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

205 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    176
    24
    5
    0
    0
See reviews for
39
113
9
5
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (25)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Cheltenham, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
50 reviews 50 reviews
23 hotel reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 27, 2012

Everything about this guesthouse was perfect - stunning room with huge bathroom and welcome extras such as bathrobes. The lovely owners made us feel very welcome and fully deserve their trip advisor rating of No. 1 in Grantown.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sweden
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 26, 2012

This B&B is absolutely beautiful with a lovely small front garden. The rooms are recently renovated, clean, and tastefully decorated, and our room was perfect for a family of two adults and one small child. The owner was very nice, friendly and helpful and the breakfast was great. We would definitely stay there again if we are visiting the area! The location is great, with shops and restaurants within a short walk, and I recommend this place to anyone who is travelling between the northern and southern parts of Scotland, or who is visiting the Speyside distilleries or the Cairngorm national park area.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
miltonkeynes
Senior Contributor
35 reviews 35 reviews
22 hotel reviews
Reviews in 32 cities Reviews in 32 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 10, 2012

We were made to feel welcome straight away. The guest house is inviting and very tastefully decorated which compliments the style and age of the property. We stayed in a clean comfortable room with lovely soft towels and everything you need for a good nights sleep and relaxing stay. If you do not want to sit in your room there is a comfortable lounge with lots of books and information on the area. A lovely breakfast with fresh fruit and breakfast choices cooked to order. It is set in a quiet area with ameniites just a short walk away. Lots to do in the vacinity or a short drive away. We would visit again but bring the cycles next time.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ardon, France
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 5, 2012

You get a friendly welcome at this B&B from husband and wife team. The accommodation has everything one needs and is very comfortable. The lounge and dining room are homely and inviting. The breakfast ( I had the full Scottish ) is very good and served with care and attention to your personal taste. I highly recommend Dunallan house.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cheshire
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 29, 2012

On our tour of Scotland we stayed at several Guest Houses, all very good, this one was the tops. We were on the top floor, gorgeous bedroom and super bathroom. I could have slept in there, huge bath. Both rooms had been carefully and tastefully decorated. Jayne's breakfast and David's service were both excellent. Such a lovely, friendly couple. We will certainly return if the opportunity arises.

Room Tip: Room 7 a few stairs to climb but well worth it.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paris
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 20, 2012

Would have to say that Dunallen Guest house is up there with some of the best Guest house accommodation we stayed in on our 6 week tour of Europe and the UK. The owners are very friendly and helpful, and the room we had was lovely, clean and comfortable, with a great bed, very important when you are away from home for 6 weeks. Our room was also very quiet considering the number of guests in the house, didn't hear anything.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Dunallan House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Dunallan House

Address: Woodside Ave, Grantown-on-Spey PH26 3JN , Scotland
Location: United Kingdom > Scotland > Scottish Highlands > Aviemore and the Cairngorms > Grantown-on-Spey
Amenities:
Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #7 of 23 B&Bs / Inns in Grantown-on-Spey
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
At Dunallan House you will enjoy a warm welcome and be sure of a comfortable and relaxing stay in a family run, traditional Victorian Guest House. Stay in comfortable and spacious accommodation, all our bedrooms are en-suite with great attention to detail and comfort. Beautiful breakfast room and sitting rooms with log fires.Situated in a quiet location, yet only a short walk from local shops and a wide range of excellent restaurants and cafes, Dunallan House offers the perfect base for touring the Scottish Highlands. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline and Odigeo so you can book your Dunallan House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Dunallan House Grantown-On-Spey, Scotland

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Dunallan House, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.