We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“First Rate” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Dulaig

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Grantown-on-Spey
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
The Dulaig
Save
You added The Dulaig to your Saves list
5.0 of 5 Bed and Breakfast   |   Seafield Avenue, Grantown-on-Spey PH26 3JF, Scotland   |  
Hotel amenities
GreenLeadersGold level
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“First Rate”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 19, 2011

Beautifully restored house and gardens with genuinely helpful and friendly hosts. The standard of room, service and food could not be better. This is a must stay venue if you are in this area and we will most certainly return. This was the perfect luxurious start to our holiday.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

85 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    85
    0
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
8
61
3
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (15)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Milan, Italy
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 7, 2011

Very nice and confy room, beautyfull bathroom, all the treats in the world on courtesy tray and a pleasant view on the amazing garden. Carol, that will cuddle you with her husband Gordon through all your stay, will prepare for you a super tasty breakfast . All the rooms in the house are classy and elegant. We were welcomed with a nice cup of coffee and cake and shown around with kindness and professionality at the same time.
You fill at home and just wish you could stay longer!
Can't wait to be back.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Malton, N Yorkshire
Top Contributor
72 reviews 72 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 42 cities Reviews in 42 cities
42 helpful votes 42 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 1, 2011

The accomodation was remarkable, not only for the tastful finish of the beautiful building and grounds but for the degree of detail in every aspect. The owners obviously love their house and it shows. They are both extremely helpful and the breakfast is as elegant and as good as the rest. We are looking forward to returning.

Room Tip: Any, they are all good
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 18, 2011

If you are planning a visit to Inverness or the Cairngorms National Park stay here. The faultless standard of the rooms and the gargantuous home made fresh breakfasts (with delcious cinnamon toast ) aren't just what make that makes this place special. The hosts, Carol and Gordon are the warmest and most helpful people you will ever meet. They know everything about the area and were invaluable in ensuring that our stay in the Cairngorms included activities (such as feeding reindeer high up in the mountains) that we didn't even know exisited and which made our holiday extra special. Carol, Gordan,The Dulaig and their warm Scottish hospitality will be an experience to be remembered for many years. We are going back!!

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oslo, Norway
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 21, 2011

Excellent B&B, a beautiful place and room and great hosts. Thanks to Carol and Gordon for making our stay so great!

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Calgary
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 30, 2011

We spent 3 nights in this fantastic B&B in early May. Our hosts, Gordon and Carol, were friendly, attentive and full of excellent advice on hiking trails, weather reports and other local attractions. Our room was well appointed with a comfortable bed, high quality linens and an outstanding ensuite bathroom. The grounds of this B&B were beautiful. The Dulaig is expensive for a B&B but you truly get what you pay for here. Highly recommended.

  • Stayed May 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Somerton, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 30, 2011

Beautifully Edwardian house, which has been tastefully and luxuriously restored, and is now an exclusive B&B. The breakfast was fabulous, the hosts (Carol and Gordon) warm and engaging, and the position, nestling in the midst of the Scottish Highlands, was perfect (so much nicer than the somewhat more commercial Aviemore!). A new favourite for us - we will be back!

  • Stayed May 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to The Dulaig? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Dulaig

Address: Seafield Avenue, Grantown-on-Spey PH26 3JF, Scotland
Location: United Kingdom > Scotland > Scottish Highlands > Aviemore and the Cairngorms > Grantown-on-Spey
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 23 B&Bs / Inns in Grantown-on-Spey
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:5 star — The Dulaig 5*
Number of rooms: 3
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Dulaig Luxury B&B - AA 5 Gold Stars, AA Breakfast Award, VisitScotland 5 Star Gold. An elegant country house in 1.5 Acres of lovely private gardens adjoining open countryside. "Scotland's "Taste our Best" Award & Green Tourism Gold Award. Good Hotel Guide. Michelin Guide 2014. Many guests tell us that our beds are the best they have slept in and our breakfasts are the best they have ever tasted....And we have The Cake Fairy!A luxurious blend of modern furnishings and Arts and Crafts antiques. 3 Beautifully-appointed guest rooms all en suite. Delicious breakfasts.Extensive private parking. Covered parking for motorcycles. Free WiFi and Internet access. Strictly no smoking.The gardens are a haven for wildlife including red squirrels and pheasants. Grantown-on-Spey centre 600 yards. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
The Dulaig Grantown-On-Spey, Scotland

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Dulaig, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.