We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfect bunk house stopover” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Ardenbeg Bunkhouse

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Save
You added Ardenbeg Bunkhouse to your Saves list
Ardenbeg Bunkhouse
Grant Road, Grantown-on-Spey PH26 3LD, Scotland   |  
Hotel amenities
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“Perfect bunk house stopover”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 8, 2013 via mobile

Stayed for one night with my family. The bunk house was clean with a good kitchen space. The shower was temperamental and we gave up and used another one. Regardles of that the showers were well appointed and the beds were comfortable. Would recommend for backpackers, walkers, ramblers, climbers and large groups on a budget stay.

  • Stayed June 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

13 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    10
    2
    1
    0
    0
See reviews for
1
2
Solo
0
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (5)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Southend-on-Sea, United Kingdom
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 29, 2012

My son's in-laws live in Grantown, but could not house all 16 of us. I booked the Ardenberg on-line for 4 adults + 4 kids + 1 wee dog. It was not 5 star, but offered home comforts with caring support. We had the ground floor, which had two rooms (1 with en-suite). One room had six bunks, the other 8 bunks & separate WC / shower. We also had full use of the kitchen / diner, which housed a large square table for all 16 to sit down. The gas oven was large, so this was the best place to cook our Christmas lunch. Micro wave, large larder, small TV & all cooking utensils were available. A large separate store with 2 fridge / freezers. Large drying room, which you have to share with first floor residents. Entrance lobby has place for shoes, coats etc. Plenty of hot water & warm aurroundings. Large rear garden, with tree swings etc., and room for bonfire, The boss (Rebecca) was excellent and could have not been more helpful. Large co-operative food store within 5 minutes walk, as was the main high street. Close to forest areas with great walks. Bike hire also available locally. Short drive away from ski slopes. We had a fantastic ride on a the Santa Steam Train, with hot mince pies & mulled wine. Santa sat next to all the young kids and gave them all a present, with the help of his 8 elves. Overall a special family holiday to remember. Beautiful area with friendly people to match. Only down side, we had no signal on our mobiles Ahhhhh. Well done everyone.

Room Tip: Ground floor was the best, although if you have noisey people upstairs, then that can be a problem...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 13, 2012 via mobile

Excellent facilities, great value & ideal location close to the high street, surrounded by stunning landscapes & beautiful wildlife. Lots of local activities available at your request as owners are more than willing to help

  • Stayed August 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 18, 2011 via mobile

Absolutely brilliant! Rebecca was extremely helpful and the bunkhouse is little gem located in a beautiful area of Scotland. I would stay there for sure if I was travelling through. A++

  • Stayed September 2011
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 23, 2011

Having hunted high and low to find hostel accommodation, which was truly 'dog friendly', we discovered Ardenbeg. From the first phone call to leaving the hostel, the warm and friendly service from Sabine and Rebecca helped to make our holiday special despite the rain.
The hostel is equipped with everything you could possibly need, including a good drying room. Visitor information is excellent and the dog loved the big garden. Although we had lots of rain, we were able to do the forest walks, visit lots of places and eat well both at the hostel and in Grantown on Spey. The meal at the Garth Hotel was delicious and within walking distance.
It will be my first choice next time we attempt to do the high hills of the Cairngorms.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glasgow, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 17, 2011

Great location in central highlands for all activities.
Good facilities - kitchen / dining area; rooms & washrooms, gardens - All clean and well maintained
The staff were very attentive and willing to arrange and schedule our activities

Room Tip: Downstairs accommodation has on-suite facilities
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sutton Coldfield
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 18, 2011

What a great place to stay. Nice big rooms and a great kitchen, the garden is wonderful too.

We loved it there and when one of us marries for the second time we will go there again for the stag do.

Proper value for money and Craig's Bar is very well worth a look too.

Stay here - you must, you really must.

Room Tip: Run fast, like the wind.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2011, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Ardenbeg Bunkhouse? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ardenbeg Bunkhouse

Address: Grant Road, Grantown-on-Spey PH26 3LD, Scotland
Location: United Kingdom > Scotland > Scottish Highlands > Aviemore and the Cairngorms > Grantown-on-Spey
Amenities:
Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 3 Specialty Lodging in Grantown-on-Spey
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Family & group bunkhouse accommodation in the Cairngorms National Park at the heart of the central HighlandsGood value accommodation for groups of up to 24 people on a quiet road in Grantown-on-Spey, the historic capital of Badenoch and Strathspey, just 15 minutes from Aviemore, and well situated for all that Britain’s largest national park has to offer.Accommodation is in private rooms of four beds (2 standard bunks), two rooms of six beds (1 with standard bunks & a double bunk, & 1 with triple alpine platform) or eight beds (triple alpine platform & a standard bunk), all with private or en-suite bathroom facilities. Well equipped kitchens with dining areas offer everything required for self-catering for groups small, medium or large. There is also an enclosed garden, play area and BBQ, and back inside a drying room with dehumidifier.Much more than just accommodation! Bedding is included in our rates – but bring your own towels & toiletries – as is free WIFI, and we also offer winter walking / climbing equipment hire, as well as access to the wide range of activities offered by Ardenbeg’s owners, the award-winning Craggan Outdoors. Ardenbeg is also the base for the range of walking and climbing courses operated by Pete Hill MIC. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, HostelWorld, Priceline, HostelBookers and Odigeo so you can book your Ardenbeg Bunkhouse reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ardenbeg Bunkhouse Grantown-On-Spey, Scotland

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Ardenbeg Bunkhouse, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.