We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Absolutely amazing, would recommend it to anyone” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Willowbank Guest House

Willowbank Guest House
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Save
You added Willowbank Guest House to your Saves list
Willowbank Guest House
High Street, Grantown-on-Spey PH26 3EN, Scotland   |  
Hotel amenities
Thetford, United Kingdom
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
“Absolutely amazing, would recommend it to anyone”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 27, 2011

Chris and Anne provide an amazing B&B experience at Willowbank. They provide such a friendly service, which they always tailor to your personal needs, nothing is too much trouble. They advised us on places to visits and to eat and even made our reservations for us! I feel so relaxed when I stay with them that I sleep just as if I was at home! The rooms are very clean and spacious and have everything you need in them. In addition to this they have good car parking facilities. The conservatory where you eat breakfast provides a lovely bright environment with plenty to look at and the breakfast is always fantastic!
Grantown on Spey is a lovely place with amazing woodland and riverside walks. With it being only a little bit off the A9 it provides good access to travel Scotland. The Cairngorms national park where Grantown on Spey is situated is the most beautiful part of Scotland and provides amazing scenery. The area has a nice selection of shops, pubs and places to eat. I will definitely be returning as soon as I can to Willowbank Guesthouse!

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

72 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    43
    23
    5
    1
    0
See reviews for
12
37
2
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (11)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Munich, Germany
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 9, 2011

Very tidy and nice rooms, very friendly people here. We were two brothers on trip trough scottland, an we loved it ! Also very nice was, that there is no curfew, so if you stay out, there is no problem getting back to your room. Breakfast is ordered the day before and we loved it, there is everything you ever need. We look forward to our next stay !

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wishaw, United Kingdom
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 3, 2011

Excellent base for our activities to mountain climb in the Cairngorms and for days visiting Inverness and surrounding area.

It's location in Grantown-on-Spey is ideal as it's away from the hustle & bustle of Aviemore. Nice setting next to the town park and pond. Nice Indian restaurant in the "Square" thoroughly recommend!

Willowbank was friendly, with great service, and very accomodating - providing lunches for our excursions, and being good with dietry requirements.

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kansas City, Missouri
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 24, 2010

This was the 3rd B&B we stayed in on our trip to the UK. The innkeepers of Anne and Chris, were very friendly and helpful. They even told us of the best time and place to see the Loch Ness Monster.

We werre there for 2 nights, and looked forward to breakfast each morning. The rate we paid was very competitive considering all the extras we had, and we would most definately return should we ever be in the area again.

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Thetford, United Kingdom
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 9, 2010

Chris and Anne are perfect hosts who made our holiday outstanding, their local knowledge really helped us to ensure we made the most of our stay in Scotland. The Guest house facilities are excellent for anyone with disabilities. Anne has an excellent memory and never forgets the little extras like the ketcup at breakfast. The rooms are very spaceous with all the facilities you could require and the cleanliness is by far the best I have ever experienced. We will return and stay here again as it was so convinent for accessing much of scotland what with being so close to the main routes. Grantown on Spey is a beautiful place with sufficient facilities and lovely buildings, woodlands and river areas where you will see much wildlife.

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Scotland
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 1, 2010

Had 2 night stay at the Willowbank and were met by the very pleasant hosts on arrival. Like a previous reviewer, my partner and I were allocated room 3 on the 1st floor. The room is fairly basic with a tiny little tv on the wall right up in the corner of the room and a horrible little ensuite with a folding door which affords no degree of privacy at all. On the first morning the shower was fine but on the second morning I found that the shower varied from freezing cold right through to scalding hot and when I say scalding hot I mean dangerously hot to the point that you could have been burnt. I presumed the problem with the shower on the second morning was due to other people using showers/toilets etc but I would be very worried if a child or elderly person had been standing under it when it suddenly became boling hot. Breakfast has to be selected the night before and although the cooking couldn't be faulted it lacked a bit of imagination. I opted to have bacon, sausage and mushroom and I got one rasher of bacon, one sausage and 2 small mushrooms which I thought was pretty miserable for £30 a night. On the whole I didn't have a huge amount of complaints but wouldn't rush back

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sheringham, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 3, 2010

We went on a wildlife holiday and used Willowbank Guest House in Grantown as our centre. We couldn't have wished for a better place to stay or more welcoming hosts. In addition the food was excellent. Home cooking at it's best.

I would recommend Willowbank to anyone who intends to visit Scotland. It's a must!

  • Stayed March 2010
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Willowbank Guest House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Willowbank Guest House

Address: High Street, Grantown-on-Spey PH26 3EN, Scotland
Location: United Kingdom > Scotland > Scottish Highlands > Aviemore and the Cairngorms > Grantown-on-Spey
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #12 of 23 B&Bs / Inns in Grantown-on-Spey
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 9
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline and Odigeo so you can book your Willowbank Guest House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Willowbank Guest House Grantown-On-Spey, Scotland

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Willowbank Guest House, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.