We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Friendly, Comfortable and lots of activities” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Grant Arms Hotel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Save
You added Grant Arms Hotel to your Saves list
Grant Arms Hotel
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   25 The Square, Grantown-on-Spey PH26 3HF, Scotland   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #2 of 10 Hotels in Grantown-on-Spey
Certificate of Excellence 2014
County Antrim
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
“Friendly, Comfortable and lots of activities”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 10, 2013

We stayed for the weekend conference of the Scottish Rock Carden Club. The hotel is comfortable, we had a quiet room and enjoyed the food - even the Tatties, Neeps and Haggis was excellent. Lots of activities arranged from the hotel, though we were making our own. All the staff went out of their way to be pleasant and helpful. Looking forward to returning next year.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

519 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    373
    100
    27
    12
    7
See reviews for
47
294
50
28
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (142)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Forres, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 9, 2013

We have stayed at the Grant Arms both as private guests and now for a conference this last weekend. So often we find that conference guests get an inferior service to that of private guests - but not at the Grant Arms.The staff are just so friendly and helpful and that is what makes this hotel so special. For example: during the Friday night lecture it was noted that a chandelier was hanging over a corner of the screen. This was refered to the manager and, at 11pm, he was to be found at the top of a stepladder fixing the problem. In how many hotels would we have been told that the maintenance man was off until Monday?
As just everyone else has said the food was wonderful and as delegates we got just the same quality as we had as private guests
I wholeheartedly recommend the Grant Arms for a private visit or as a conference venue.

Room Tip: Lovely views of the Square from the front of the hotel.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fort Augustus
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 8, 2013

A big event with the potential to be a disaster - it ran as smoothly as could have been hoped for! Staff at all levels right up to David Duncan, the Manager, helpful and courteous throughout. As a vegetarian, food is often 'very average' - but NOT HERE! Every meal was thoroughly enjoyable.
I would be completely happy to recommend the venue to anyone. I look forward to going back next year.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sevenoaks
2 reviews
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 8, 2013

Although not staying in the Hotel - I was too late and stayed in the Garth - the SRGC Discussion Weekend took place in the Grant Arms and my comments are based on this.

The food was delicious. The staff were very friendly and anxious to meet any request.

I really appreciated the guided walk through the airy open woods and 90 minutes passed in a flash.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newcastle upon Tyne
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 8, 2013

What a superb weekend. The staff were all so good and couldn't do enough to please and so friendly from the manager down. the hotel was full but they made everything go so smoothly without a hiccup. Nothing was too much bother. Food was excellent and well presented. The only slight negative was that the room was not as roomy as one would like and the shower was small but that was not detrimental to the stay. The bird watching side was a bonus of extra interest.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wexford
Top Contributor
53 reviews 53 reviews
22 hotel reviews
Reviews in 34 cities Reviews in 34 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 7, 2013

Over the past few years we have stayed at the Grant Arms for two weeks as our main holiday. This year we had already had a special holiday to celebrate our Silver Wedding Anniversary so we only booked for one week. This was a mistake because there are never enough hours in the day to do everything we wanted. The BWWC have had a change of personnel and we found it strange not to see Kirsty and Katie but the new staff certainly knew their stuff. The quality of the food was as high as ever and all of the hotel staff treated us as "family". We will be back again, the sooner the better.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bridport, United Kingdom
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 4, 2013

My cousins stayed here for six nights and we met up with them for drinks. It was their 7th visit and they continue to go there as the service and the food are of a consistantly high standard.
My husband had the local ale Tradelwinds which he said was really superb. David the owner/manager?? is a charming man and cannot do enough to make you welcome. We looked around the wildlife area and there is a dedicated room with a film show/talks on wildlife every night. The photos of local wilflife are lovely. The staff were very polite and the whole areas of the hotel we3 saw during our visit were clean tidy and very warm. We will go and stay there next time.

This Highland hotel has been welcoming guests for many a year. In fact, Queen Victoria and Prince Albert stayed here in 1860.

The Grant Arms has 50 ensuite bedrooms with meeting and conference facilities. But it gives the impression of a very well run intimate place. Well done!

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Grant Arms Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Grant Arms Hotel

Address: 25 The Square, Grantown-on-Spey PH26 3HF, Scotland
Location: United Kingdom > Scotland > Scottish Highlands > Aviemore and the Cairngorms > Grantown-on-Spey
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 10 Hotels in Grantown-on-Spey
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Grant Arms Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 50
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with LateRooms, Priceline, Booking.com, TripOnline SA and Odigeo so you can book your Grant Arms Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Grant Arms Hotel Grantown-On-Spey, Scotland

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Grant Arms Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.