We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The Wildlife Hotel” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Grant Arms Hotel

Save Saved
You added Grant Arms Hotel to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Grant Arms Hotel
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   25 The Square, Grantown-on-Spey PH26 3HF, Scotland   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #2 of 10 hotels in Grantown-on-Spey
Bideford, United Kingdom
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
“The Wildlife Hotel”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 18, 2013

Our second visit to the Grant Arms and we were not disappointed. The hotel has the slogan 'the wildlife hotel' and it is well chosen. There Is a specific area of the hotel set aside for wildlife matters, with staff available to assist in helping organise your day, or arranging organised trips. The staff without exception were friendly and efficient, and within the operation there has been great attention to detail.Our room overlooking the square was first class, and we chose to have a bathroom rather than shower room. We had dinner, B & B terms, and the inclusive menu was good if limited, whilst there was a wider menu at extra cost. Whilst the hotel specialises in wildlife, it is not' in your face' for those not interested. L

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

442 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    329
    81
    19
    8
    5
See reviews for
37
250
45
23
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (110)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Norfolk
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 12, 2013

Have just returned from a week birding in Spey area based at The Grant Arms. Hotel clean and friendly. Staff efficient and attentive. We had a large room facing the square - well worth the extra.
Meals were well chosen and varied rather than fine dining. Efficient service meant time to go off birding until dark. Wildlife club provided so much guidance and background information that 7 days was not enough to scratch the surface of this wonderful area - we'll be back.

Room Tip: Upgrade to superior room well worth extra
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bristol, United Kingdom
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 9, 2013

This was our second trip to this hotel and the area. The food and staff in the restaurant was of a high standard. Our room was good, but on arrival we had to ask for a change of room because of rattling windows which kept us awake, this room was also quite small, it would have been suitable for a 1/2 night break but we were staying a week. Our needs were met with efficiency and speed and sorted to our satisfaction.

Room Tip: Both our trips we have been on the 1st floor and ok,but when we arrived on the second trip we were o...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver, Canada
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 4, 2013

Hotel feels very welcoming and friendly.Staff were great and very accomodating. Excellent food in restaurant. Rooms were comfortable and clean. It looks and feels exactly how you would expect a country hotel to be.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, England, United Kingdom
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed June 4, 2013

We stayed here for one night in May. Upon arrival the hotel looked very grand and we were checked in quickly and efficiently. Our room was large with big windows looking out on the main street and hills beyond. So far so good. When I went to use our bathroom it was perfectly clear that the lavatory had not been cleaned ... I don't wish to go into details here but I can certainly supply further details to management if requested. In hindsight I should have complained there and then but having just arrived we did not want to mark ourselves at as whiners. Closer examination of the room revealed that nothing was really very clean .... everything has a sort of sticky sheen to it. Worst of all one of the pillows ... not the pillow case but pillow .... had a large blood stain on it yet had not been replaced. Why? This is disgusting. Fortunately there was a spare in the wardrobe which we used. Do hotel managers not realise that guests notice such things or that we expect better for the high prices we pay for accommodation? Perhaps we just got unlucky ... our room was at the end of the run and maybe the cleaner was just fed up by then. However, we paid the same as everyone else and expect the same service .... cleanliness at the very least.
We were not very hungry and wanted a light tea but this was not available .... a three course dinner was all that was available ... no bar food ... why not? Surely this is taken for granted these days? Grantown itself does not have much to offer and we ended up eating in the one and only Indian restaurant .... we could find nothing else. All in all this was a miserable experience on a cold wet night in May.
The one thing I would like to praise is the friendliness of hotel staff ... the receptionist, the young barman and the dining room staff at breakfast were all very nice and helpful. And the breakfast was also very nice.
However, we will not be returning. We are currently staying in a hotel in Abu Dhabi which costs less than the Grant Arms. There is no comparison ... perhaps the Scottish tourist board should consider sending representatives from the hotel industry here to see how it should be done.

Room Tip: Only go to this hotel if you're interested in wild life and don't mind average service. And...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Burley in Wharfedale, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 1, 2013

just spent 4 nights at the grant arms - have been meaning to get there for a couple of years. really impressed by friendliness and knowledge of staff - realy want you to get the best from your stay. room was lovely - large and comfortable. staff from the BWWC helped me book a day's bird watching with birding ecosse which was brilliant even if some birds were unwilling to be seen. slightly disappointed by food - could do with dishes being a bit 'sharper' often too many ingredients on the plate.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 29, 2013 via mobile

Last minute booking so got a very good deal but as a result I was a bit nervous as to what I was going to get for my money. Was very pleased with what i got.........room was lovely, looked to have been newly decorated and breakfast was fantastic. I was on business but if I hadn't been I'd have been very interested in the daily organised bird and wildlife talks & trips.

  • Stayed May 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Grant Arms Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Grant Arms Hotel

Address: 25 The Square, Grantown-on-Spey PH26 3HF, Scotland
Location: United Kingdom > Scotland > Scottish Highlands > Aviemore and the Cairngorms > Grantown-on-Spey
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 10 hotels in Grantown-on-Spey
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Grant Arms Hotel 3*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline and Booking.com so you can book your Grant Arms Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Grant Arms Hotel Grantown-On-Spey, Scotland

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Grant Arms Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.