We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Terrific Thai.” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Sawadee

Sawadee
59-61 St. Peters Rd, Great Yarmouth NR30 3BQ, England
01493 853975
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #59 of 238 Restaurants in Great Yarmouth
Price range: $24 - $51
Cuisines: Thai
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Romance, Large groups, Doing business, Special occasions, Entertaining clients, Dining on a budget
Dining options: Dinner, Reservations, Takeout, Delivery, Late Night
mansfield
Top Contributor
75 reviews 75 reviews
26 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 51 cities Reviews in 51 cities
38 helpful votes 38 helpful votes
“Terrific Thai.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 9, 2013

Recommended by the Weatherdene where we were staying we got there early as we hadn't booked. Had a fairly spicy and a medium couple of main meals with bean sprouts and rice to go with them. A glass of wine wasn't excessive but the taste was! Bursting with super taste and texture the prawns have got to be the best we've ever had, nothing wrong with the chicken either. Coupled with fantastic veg I'd recommend booking and trying out this fabulous restaurant.

  • Visited September 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

86 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    63
    12
    3
    4
    4
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Norwich, United Kingdom
1 review
“Not sure we visited the same restaurant as others!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 4, 2013

Having read the very small number of bad reviews of this place I thought on my next visit I would pay a bit more attention to my surroundings. We eat here maybe 4 or 5 times a year and have done so for the past 13 years or so. In excess of 50 visits.
The restaurant is not dusty and uncared for it is spotless. The crockery, cutlery and table linen are all perfectly clean - pristine. It looks exactly how you would expect a Thai restaurant to look - lots of beautiful wood carvings and lots of gold.
The waitress could not have worked harder was attentive and polite as always.
And I can only say that the reviewer that walked out without trying the food did themselves a dis-service and missed a real treat - it is fabulous. We lived in Thailand for a couple of years so I know what good Thai food tastes like. Here's to the next 50 visits - can't wait!

  • Visited September 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
46 reviews 46 reviews
30 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
59 helpful votes 59 helpful votes
“Worst thai dining experience”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed August 17, 2013

What do you do when you quickly want to find a nearby Thai restaurant? You look on Tripadvisor and look for one with good rating. That's what we did and ended up in Sawadee.
On arrival the place looked didn't look anything as nice as the pictures on Tripadvisor. The place was empty. It may have been a sign to turn around and leave, but with the good reviews in mind, we decided to stay.
What a mistake! This was by far the worst Thai food we have ever had. Mixed starter: prawn toast meat looked grey, terrible; deep fried garlic mushrooms, terrible, and never seen those before on a Thai menu.
Main course: not as bad as the starter, but couldn't be any worse really, but still poor.
We were glad when the whole experience was over and could leave.
Never to be visited again!!!

  • Visited August 2013
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 1 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Croydon
Senior Contributor
35 reviews 35 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
62 helpful votes 62 helpful votes
“Huge portions”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 31, 2013

Found this up a little side street not far from seafront but had looked at it before we went. Fantastic food, huge portions so dont over order, staff very friendly, ended up chatting to them about Thailand. All in all a very good evening.

Visited July 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Norwich, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Excellent thai food, reasonably priced”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 19, 2013

We've been three or four times now, being locals. The standard of the food is really very good, comparable to the best we've had in London. The decor is rathr 70's, and the staff efficient rather than freiendly. Strangely, the daily specials aren't always available, but the menu offers a wide choice. If I could change just one thing, I'd move the whole place slightly closer to my home!

  • Visited June 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Sawadee also viewed

Great Yarmouth, Norfolk
Great Yarmouth, Norfolk
 
Great Yarmouth, Norfolk
Great Yarmouth, Norfolk
 

Been to Sawadee? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Sawadee, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.