We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Ok but not exceptional” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Planet Papadum

No photo provided
Got a photo?
Add it.
Planet Papadum
5 Marine Parade, Great Yarmouth NR30 3AH, England
01493 330777
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #100 of 238 Restaurants in Great Yarmouth
Price range: $41 - $51
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Romance, Large groups, Special occasions, Entertaining clients, Dining on a budget
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Reservations, Takeout, Delivery, Late Night
Midlands
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Ok but not exceptional”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 16, 2013

Good standard curryhouse but nothing stood out for me against other curryhouses.

Service was ok but a bit slow and food was good but not a sensation. Had a dodgy stomach for a few days after but this isnt unusual for me after a curry and a few beers.

Visited September 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

127 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    58
    35
    19
    8
    7
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Great Yarmouth, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
61 reviews 61 reviews
37 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 30 cities Reviews in 30 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
“Best Indian restaurant in town”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 15, 2013

You want good food and excellent polite staff? Get to Planet Papadum, you won't be disappointed.
My family and I have been here often and always been well served and very well fed.

Visited February 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Norfolk, UK
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“The best curry in the world!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 6, 2013

We have been visiting Planet Papadum for years and have never found a better curry anywhere else. Located on the seafront, opposite the Sealife Centre

Visited November 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Best Curry in the Area”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 21, 2012

Very authentic food that almost matched with the Indian restaurants in India. Staff were polite and flexible.
I would have rated excellent but it can get too busy with very little space to move - again reminded me of my time in India. Authentic Indeed!

Visited August 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Southend-on-Sea, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
38 reviews 38 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
45 helpful votes 45 helpful votes
“Certainly worth a visit.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 6, 2012

While visiting Great Yarmouth on a Saturday evening we decided to try the 'planet papadum' as we fancied something different to the usual seafront foods. After climbing the couple of rather steep steps to enter the restaurant we were greeted by a smiling waiter and shown to a clean, well laid out table. We ordered the obligatory poppadoms with our drinks and were left to look through the menu. The waiter returned after a few minutes to take our orders. I ordered a lamb dish which was exclusive to that restaurant and my partner had a chicken dish, both with the usual accompaniments.

To cut a long story short, the food was absolutely exceptional with flavours we've never experienced in any indian restaurants before. The service was spot on too, not over the top or pushy, but also not left alone vying for there attention.

All in all a dining experience I would not hesitate to recommend, and, the prices were in line with other Indians.

Would we return? Cant wait to visit Great Yarmouth again!!!! A definite yes.

  • Visited November 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Planet Papadum also viewed

Great Yarmouth, Norfolk
Great Yarmouth, Norfolk
 
Great Yarmouth, Norfolk
Great Yarmouth, Norfolk
 

Been to Planet Papadum? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Planet Papadum, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.