We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fantastic” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Bromley

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Save
You added The Bromley to your Saves list
The Bromley
63 Apsley Road, Great Yarmouth NR30 2HG, England   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #55 of 100 Great Yarmouth B&B and Inns
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Fantastic”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 2, 2013 via mobile

Everything about this b&b was warm, friendly and comfortable. Gorgeous room, with lovely little touches such as fresh milk provided in a mini fridge in the room! DVD player, biscuits with the tea making facilities. It's the little things for me that make a big difference. I wouldn't hesitate to stay here again. Massive thumbs up. Thank you for a great experience.

  • Stayed August 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

44 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    31
    8
    4
    0
    1
See reviews for
3
29
1
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (2)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Ipswich, United Kingdom
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 3, 2013

Very clean and very polite people, the breakfast quality was very good, locally sourced bacon and sausage absolutely lovely, fresh milk in fridge on arrival, you honestly will not find cleaner, the price was around £10 a night more then others in area but to be honest it was worth it as so well kept, the only thing I think people will moan about is the fact there is no alcohol license, it did not worry us as drinking is not our main focus, but if you want clean, professional and friendly then this is good for you.
Parking out back is very busy, my car is not flashy or anything but I was concerned at tightness of parking and I bet if you had a flashy car, it would have got scratched as the car park is frequented by undesirables (not hotels fault).

Overall I would happily return and so would my Wife, thanks to the Bromley

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atherstone, England, United Kingdom
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 2, 2013

The Bromley is situated down a side road with easy access to the seafront, shops and restaurants. Parking is limited and to the rear of the building. We were warmly welcomed by Linda and Karenza and shown to a beautifully decorated and spotlessly clean room. The en-suite was a bit snug but perfectly adequate for purpose. There was plenty of tea, coffee and hot choc on the hospitality tray provided and a pint of fresh milk and bottle of water was in the mini fridge in the room. There were plenty of towels and a selection of toiletries available. The bed was the most comfortable ive slept in on a holiday. Wi fi wasnt available in the room, but this wasnt a problem as it was accessible in the lounge area. At breakfast there was a selection of cereals etc to self serve and also the choice of full english, vegetarian english, omelettes and variations etc. to order. All the food was beautifully cooked and presented. We were there for Easter Sunday and found cream eggs on our table at breakfast, which we thought was a lovely gesture. We would highly recommend The Bromley.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Norwich, England, United Kingdom
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 1, 2013

Friendly and welcoming atmosphere, everywhere was clean and tidy, ideal place to stay. There are cheaper and there are more expensive B&B's, you get what you pay for and to that end we were more than happy with our stay at the Bromley.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
46 reviews 46 reviews
44 hotel reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
83 helpful votes 83 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 5, 2012

Having just spent a long weekend at the Bromley, I'm happy to recommend it with a few minor caveats. Since most of these reviews were written, the Bromley has changed ownership, which has resulted in a change to its facilities. Although the welcome from the new owners Linda and Karenza is I'm sure as good as ever, many of the extras upon which the Enjoy England Silver Award was granted are no more. Extras like a residents bar, home cooked meals, fresh fruit in rooms, a diverse breakfast menu and very flexible check-in times are a thing of the past. As someone involved in the hotel industry I understand why some of these changes have been made. The Bromley is surrounded by restaurants and bars of every type, making in-house facilities difficult to say the least. They also require you to be available almost every hour of the day which leaves one with a very poor quality of life! What is left is a good quality B&B, but defining it as luxury is definitely a mistake. My bedroom was small but decorated and furnished to a nice standard. The towel rail didn't work, the strobe light mirror didn't work and cobwebs could be seen on the light fitting but these were no big deal to a guy travelling alone. Rather more of an issue was the water pressure in the shower, which was very low. The Bromley has a stict non-smoking policy (rightly so..) and guests are required to sign a declaration on check-in confirming that they will not smoke and accept liability for any damage they cause. It also has a no-takeaway policy which (while understandable) is a little inconvenient when returning late at night. For couples and families I think it needs to tweek its premium price tag, based on what it's now offering and the level of local competion. That I'm sure is the best way to increase its occupancy, particularly during difficult winter months.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 19, 2012 via mobile

We booked this in April through Stuart the original owner our requirements were very specific, we booked the family suite as it had an adjoining room for the children, we wanted wifi, car parking and a bar - ALL of which were offered by The Bromley. However less than a week before we were due to stay I had an email saying the family suite was no longer available and that we would be in a family room instead. I rang and was advised the guest house had changed hands and the lady now running it (Linda) needed the family suite for her daughter, she did offer us an extra room for the children which was accommodating. However when we arrived the 'free car parking' was not available, there is a large free car park at the back but it was completely full of shoppers and holidaymakers, The Bromley has 3 reserved spaces but as this was the weekend Linda's daughter was moving in none were available due to removal vans etc we then had to spend time trying to find somewhere to park .... When we finally did and I said never mind at least we can have a drink at the lovely looking bar we were told it was no longer licensed ... And then when trying the wifi were very frustrated to find there was none. Having said all this the rooms were lovely, the breakfast very good and the location excellent. Just check before you book and hopefully it will get better.

  • Stayed August 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Galway, Ireland
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 3, 2012

this is an amazing place to stay, the owner is very friendly and helpful A*****

Room Tip: the little annex at the back is private and homely
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to The Bromley? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Bromley

Address: 63 Apsley Road, Great Yarmouth NR30 2HG, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > East Anglia > Norfolk > Great Yarmouth
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #55 of 100 B&Bs / Inns in Great Yarmouth
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 6
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Booking.com, TripOnline SA and Odigeo so you can book your The Bromley reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Bromley Great Yarmouth, Norfolk

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Bromley, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.