We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“very good value” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Embassy Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Save
You added Embassy Hotel to your Saves list
Embassy Hotel
2.0 of 5 Small Hotel   |   38-41 Camperdown, Great Yarmouth NR30 3JB, England   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Complimentary bottle of wine
Ranked #67 of 102 Great Yarmouth B&B and Inns
Harwich, Essex
Top Contributor
128 reviews 128 reviews
46 hotel reviews
Reviews in 49 cities Reviews in 49 cities
96 helpful votes 96 helpful votes
“very good value”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 10, 2011

The hotel is a few minutes walk from the seafront (street is opposite Wellington Pier & Seaworld) in a quiet side street. I stayed here with 2 freinds in July 2011 for a weekend and cannot understand the bad reviews on here. The bar & dining room area is lovely, the staff helpful & friendly & we had a very good breakfast. Our room spacious & clean. I would definately stay here again as it is in a good location & really good value for money.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

118 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    39
    37
    14
    11
    17
See reviews for
19
44
4
10
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (32)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Nottingham, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 12, 2011

Me and my family stayed here for two nights at the end of May. We had booked a family room (with adjoining bedrooms for our teenagers) at the Gable End Hotel but on arrival were told they knew nothing of our booking and were fully booked up. The staff were absolutely marvelous, they took us into the bar area and gave us a free drink whilst making alternative arrangements for us. Fortunately for us they have a sister hotel, The Embassy. We were promptly told that they could accommodate us. We left our vehicle in the Gable End car park (as parking can be a bit limited at the Embassy) and a member of staff drove us to the other hotel, which was a nice touch. On arrival we had a choice of bedrooms but decided on a superior double and a standard double which were located on the same landing and next door to each other. The superior double was decorated and furnished very nicely, the standard double was a bit more basic but both were a good size. It seems that they are gradually revamping all of the bedrooms but the whole of the downstairs areas have already been done to a high standard. The hotel staff were friendly enough and breakfast was delicious. The location ended up being alot better than Gable End Hotel as it was only a very short walking distance to all the attractions Great Yarmouth has to offer and is quite literally opposite Wellington Pier. But the cherry on top for us was that we were only charged half the price due to the confusion over the rooms, fantastic. Overall we couldn't have asked for more and would definately recommend this hotel to all.

  • Stayed May 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leeds, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 stars Reviewed June 12, 2011

Two mature gentlemen , one with serious breathing difficulties both looking forward to a relaxing break and Yarmouth races. Unfortunately found the bar closed promptly at 11 pm which only left their room to go to , also the disabled gentleman had to use the stairs as the lift is locked up inside the bar area from 11pm every night . This is clearly not a hotel for those who like to socialise or for the disabled and this should be made clear in their advert . Having spoken to owner on our return because there was nobody to speak to on leaving she confirmed it is the hotels policy to close the bar promptly at 11pm and the lift is locked up inside the bar , hence no use . This hence confines disabled people to their room from 11pm to breakfast , rather like a prison.

Room Tip: go somewhere else
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2011, traveled with friends
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TheEmbassyHotel, Owner at Embassy Hotel, responded to this review, July 7, 2011
With regards to the review pointed out, i would like to reply on behalf of The Embassy Hotel. Two gentleman booked a Twin Room with us. Upon making the booking, checking the gentleman in and throughout thier stay there was no mention of either of the gentleman having breathing difficulties or disabilities. The gentleman were situated in a newly decorated twin room on the second floor adjacent to the lift. Again, there was no mention throughout the stay that the gentleman were dis-satisfied, quite the contrary really. The guests were polite and well mannered at all times when engaging with the staff and so it was a big suprise to read that they were so unhappy. We have a license to have our bar open all night. However as explained, if there is nobody using it at 11pm, then the Bar Man closes. If there are 1 or 2 people, 20 minutes is set aside for guests to finish thier drinks, with the added option of purchasing more to take to thier rooms. Because our lift is situtaed in the bar and we have to lock the bar doors at night, there is no lift access between 11pm and 7am. Im sorry if you felt like you were being treated as prisoners because of this. Had you have voiced your dissatisfation upon check in, i could have moved you to a ground floor room, but as nothing was ever mentioned, it was assumed you were happy with your stay.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 11, 2011

I recently stayed with two other friends at the Embassy for two nights booking three single rooms. Firstly the room rates are fantastic and upon arrival the staff were very helpful through the booking in process and showing the rooms. The downstairs areas are newly decorated (bar and restaurant) and although our rooms were a little tired you have to appreciate the great tariff rates. If you want 5 star fixtures then you have to pay through the nose for it (note some Tripadvisor reviewers!!!). The road the hotel is set in is certainly the best in Yarmouth and free parking was no problem at all directly outside the hotel. Breakfast was very well and professionally served and the full english was excellent. Altogether this hotel was fantastic and great overall value and I highly recommend it for stays in Yarmouth.

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TheEmbassyHotel, Owner at Embassy Hotel, responded to this review, June 12, 2011
Thank You very much for your review. It always positive and inspiring to us all at The Embassy when we recieve some good feedback. I'm really pleased you all enjoyed your stay and definatley look forward to welcoming you back in the future. As you pointed out, we have indeed just completed renovating our downstairs area to the hotel. We have almost completed our bedrooms with 8 more left to go which I envisage will be done within the next 12 months. I'm glad you enjoyed our breakfast as we certainly aim to give you a 'hearty breakfast to set you up for the day'. It's always motivating to hear positive feedback and means a great deal to us so thanks again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 5, 2011

A lovely hotel, stayed in the family suite. We was stranded when a hotel we booked on the net on was not up to scratch and left immediately, went to Embassy Hotel and even on a busy half term holiday week they went out their way to accomodate us - changing around rooms so we could have the most comfortable stay. Owner personally intervened and arranged our rooms. Otherwise we would have probably headed back home as no other good hotel was available in area. Staff were very welcoming, Polite and helpful. Breakfast was great and ample, location was a bonus. Would defintiely go back again.

Room Tip: Great value for money!
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TheEmbassyHotel, Owner at Embassy Hotel, responded to this review, June 12, 2011
Thank You very much for your kind words. We take great pride in making sure our guests needs are taken care off when in our company and reviews like yours are certainly inspiring and motivating. I'm glad you enjoyed your stay and look forward to welcoming you again in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leicester, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 31, 2011

We booked the embassy off last minute.com because we wanted a cheap getaway after our wedding. before we went on our honeymoon. When we arrived we had to hang around for a while for any staff to check us in. In the end we rang the hotel to then get a staff member to come out of somwhere to check us in.
We were showed to our room by staff. The room was very basic and small. we had a 3/4 bed instead of a full double but everything was in there we needed. It was a budget room and we did book that because it was cheap. so we got what we paid for. but it was very very clean. And we both slept really well even though the bed was smaller than what we are usto. We only spent two nights in great yarmouth but it was a great base to see all the sights and walk into the main town as it was right on the sea front with the beach only a 5 minute walk across the road.
Parking wasnt to bad there is plenty around and i felt the car was secure being right outside the hotels and peoples homes. We never tried the breakfast as we didnt get up in time but we did have a breakfast at saras tea rooms aout 5-10 min walk away near the pleasure beach and i was amazing. ;-)

On the last night i didnt feel to0 good and needed some water so my partner went down to the bar to get me a bottle. but again no staff members were around and he had to call the phone again to get service. I thought this was bad if there had of been an emergency. Thats my only poblem with this hotel. oh and the birds outside the window at the back making noise at 5am but thats not the hotels fault.

Lolvey decor downstairs, and house keeping staff seemed very nice in the morning.

Overall ok stay and great base for a cheap break in yarmouth.

Room Tip: budget rooms are 22, 23 they are very budget.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TheEmbassyHotel, Owner at Embassy Hotel, responded to this review, June 12, 2011
Thank You for your recent review of The Embassy Hotel. Firstly Congratlations on your recent marriage. I'm glad you enjoyed your recent stay with us and I fully take on your points raised. Firstly I apologise that you couldn't raise a member of staff's attention. I can assre you that this isnt a regular occurance and a point that i shall be taking to my next staff meeting. As you state, our basic rooms are of limited space. With the Basic Rooms, they are basically a 'clean base to get your head down'. If you are to return to us again, I would be delighted to show you around our more 'glamourous' rooms which are plushly decorated and come with plasma TV, Super King Beds, sea-view and balcony plus extras such biscuits and bottled water. Im am sorry you missed breakfast each morning. Our basic rooms are Room Only and breakfast is served from 8:00 - 9:30 with the option of room service. It ashame you never got to try our 'Embassy Special'. Lastly I apologise for the outside birds waking you early in the morning. I have been onto the appropriate services for sometime now and measures are soon ready to be put in place where these 'early morning wake up calls' are concerned re. our basic rooms. If you are to return to us in the future, i look forward to welcoming you.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lincoln, United Kingdom
1 review
2 of 5 stars Reviewed May 31, 2011

I booked, here because it had a lift and restaurant. Got there, room on floor lift didnt stop at. could only have bar snacks as coach party in. Next morning, booked out, got refund for rest of stay after heated discussion with manageress.No appologies were given

  • Stayed May 2011
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TheEmbassyHotel, Owner at Embassy Hotel, responded to this review, June 2, 2011
Regarding your recent stay with us i am sorry you felt you had to sign up with Trip Advisor to write this. However i would just like to pass comment on a few points mentioned. As explained when you checked in, it had come to light that there had been a mistake made with your booking, namely that you did not have a room with lift access. Because there were no rooms left for that night, you were offered a different room for the following morning which had a balcony and sea view or we could relocate you. You decided to stay in the room for that night but didnt pass comment on what you wanted to do the following day. We did have a coach party in but had a section of the restaurant closed off for our private guests. Bar Snacks were offered to you aswel as the main restaurant menu but before the waitress had time to take your order you had walked out. I did have a conversation with you the following morning. I wouldnt say this was heated. No voices were raised etc just points of view exchanged. Our main focus of the conversation was that you wanted your money back for the night you stayed with us. It was politely explained that i couldnt refund you for the night you had spent with us as alternatives were offered to you but i was more than happy to refund you for the remaing two days if you were wishing to check out early, which is what hapened.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Embassy Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Embassy Hotel

Address: 38-41 Camperdown, Great Yarmouth NR30 3JB, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > East Anglia > Norfolk > Great Yarmouth
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #67 of 102 B&Bs / Inns in Great Yarmouth
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Embassy Hotel 2*
Number of rooms: 30
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Embassy Hotel Great Yarmouth, with it's location close to the Norfolk Broads,offers short and long breaks for those seeking hotel and accommodation in Great Yarmouth, Norfolk Broads.The is situated 5 minutes from River Yare and 5 minutes from the seafront. We aim to be one of the friendliest hotel in Norfolk, where guest expectation & satisfaction is our priority. With it's Victorian Style. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline and Odigeo so you can book your Embassy Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Embassy Hotel Great Yarmouth, Norfolk

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Embassy Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.