We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice people, Good value, Ace location” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Blenheim Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Save
You added Blenheim Hotel to your Saves list
Blenheim Hotel
58 Apsley Road, Great Yarmouth NR30 2HG , England   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #23 of 102 Great Yarmouth B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence 2014
shropshire
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
“Nice people, Good value, Ace location”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 8, 2010

If you want the slick anonymity of a Travel Lodge, or accommodation with a gym and pool then this hotel is not for you. If you want good clean accommodation, a very friendly management, great value for money and a killer location. Then the Blenheim has it all. The standard accommodation is for bed and breakfast but the evening meal is very reasonable. However, if you are on a diet you may need to skip a couple of these belly-busting servings. Great Yarmouth is the ideal location as your centre to explore the Norfolk coastline and the Broads.

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

318 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    237
    49
    14
    9
    9
See reviews for
96
121
13
20
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (30)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
London
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 28, 2010

Firstly I'd like to address the views that Martin was topless when he approached new arrivals. Not to be funny but would you rather have a smartly dressed snob look down on you? My guess is you'd rather have a laugh and feel comfortable with the person you're first greeted by, not intimidated or looked down upon.
Our room was cosy and everything in good working order, even once or twice tuning into the radio as well as the tv. The bed was so comfortable that we both had undisturbed nights all three nights that we stayed. Some comments are complaining about the size of the double beds, but they're not described as kingsized, its a bed and breakfast not a classy hotel in London, what do you want?
Woke up to a cheery Martin and lovely breakfast that kept us going all day-yum!
We have definately arrived as a guest and left as a friend.
Jo and Richard-- thank you again!

  • Stayed June 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
S.Yorks
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 13, 2010

My wife and I booked the night before we traveled and had no problems; we were greeted by Martin & Denise who were very friendly and made us feel at home straight away. We found the hotel very clean and tidy, the rooms were very nicley decorated and kept very clean, as was the rest of the hotel.

At breakfast we were served by Martin in his own jolly style with a very nice full english, with cereals and toast if we wanted them and probably more if you wanted it ( but don't click your fingers if you do want more;-). Martin was very chatty fro the start of breakfast through the rest of the day and in to the night time; I really don't know how he did it. We didn't see much of Denise as she seems to spend lots of time in th kitchen and the office but in the small amount of contact we had with her, we found her very charming and helpfull.

I would have no problems going back to the Blenheim and would recomend it to anyone.

  • Stayed June 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
bedford
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 25, 2010

we booked at the last minute on the spur of the moment to go away for the night, very welcoming on arrival, frienldy couple martin and denise. We arrived in the evening so martin let us get settled and relaxed before booking in. He suggested a resturant for us to have a meal which was fantastic would def go back again. We missed breakfast in the morning as we woke late, but this was no problen for Martin and Denise they made us a nice cuppa tea and some toast and offered extra which was really appreciated. We will be having a baby in a few weeks but will be looking to go back again ASAP. Great location a road away from the seafront, all the shops and bars could not ask for anymore. Room was comfy and relaxed just what was needed.. thank you

  • Stayed May 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
milton keynes
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 12, 2010

3 of us girls all aged 25-26 stayed here at the weekend for a quiet weekend away and stayed in a family room which was spacious enough, very warm and cosy. It is a little baffling to have a shower actually in the room but it was convenient to have one next door which we always had access to during our stay. This would be fine if you were a couple though I think!
It was a very friendly welcome from Denise who already knew who we were which gave us a chance to go and relax before we properly checked in. I enjoyed the breakfasts, and the big supply of toast was a nice touch. Great location especially if you want to shop, shops are a few metres away. Would stay again. Thank you.

  • Stayed May 2010, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Waltham Cross
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 25, 2010

We stayed over the Easter weekend and the Blenheim was superb. One road back from the seafront, and so away from the seafront pubs and clubs, but close enough to all of the attractions. The room was very clean - even in the hard to reach corners - with comfy beds and a decent shower. Martin and his wife were superb hosts - his restaurant recommendations are to be recommended, and the breakfasts were great. A sign of a good host is remembering what you like and dislike and Martin did. He was also very funny with an infectious laugh. Our son Harry also got an Easter egg with his breakfast! When we visit Great Yarmouth again, we'll be staying the The Blenheim!

  • Stayed April 2010, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Colchester
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 19, 2010

As soon as i arrived i felt warm to this lovely family, we were made very welcome. The room was clean & very cosy, & the bed was so comfortable ( wish mine at home was as comfy!) Breakfast was excellent, just the right amount or whatever you asked for & so relaxed. I would definately go back there again, & would love to bring all my family with me. I will recommend this Hotel to anyone who wants to stay in Great Yarmouth. From The Seymour's ( Julie the homemade wine maker! )

  • Stayed April 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Blenheim Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Blenheim Hotel

Address: 58 Apsley Road, Great Yarmouth NR30 2HG , England
Location: United Kingdom > England > East Anglia > Norfolk > Great Yarmouth
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #23 of 102 B&Bs / Inns in Great Yarmouth
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 12
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Blenheim Hotel,is a victorian terraced establishment,and is located in a prime location for those[ visiting great yarmouth],and wish to be in the heart of it all.We are located 50yds from the sea front,restaurants,arcades,shops,and our golden mile beach is just across the road.We are a family run establishment and have successfully been running the Blenheim for the past 14 years, and was one of the first Hotels to be on tripadvisor ,before they became so well known like they are today.Now there has been so many more b&bs and Hotels for Great Yarmouth added to the sight .But we was one of the first and our genuine reviews go back a long time ,and the Blenheim has only got better over the years.As you can see by our apdated photos.Our aim is to make our guests stay with us an enjoyable experience and our motto is arrive a guest depart a friend And there is many friends we have who keep returning year after year We have also achieved our certificates of excellence on trip advisor , and look forward to achieving the same in the future ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with LateRooms so you can book your Blenheim Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Blenheim Hotel Great Yarmouth, Norfolk

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Blenheim Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.