We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice surprise” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Kensington

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Save
You added The Kensington to your Saves list
The Kensington
4.0 of 5 Guest house   |   29 North Dr, Great Yarmouth NR30 4EW, England   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #61 of 102 Great Yarmouth B&B and Inns
Ely
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
“Nice surprise”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 13, 2013

During our tour of East Anglia we ended up in Great Yarmouth and were looking for a couple of nights accommodation and stumbled on the Kensington .

We had a delightful sea view room which was very comfortable.

The staff were very attentive and accommodating.

We had our evening meal here both nights where we had trouble selecting from a varied menu.

Being at the North Denes end away from the hustle and bustle of the Pleasure Beach was lovely
although we did have a enjoyable but lengthy stroll to it one day.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OwnerMaria, Owner at The Kensington, responded to this review, July 21, 2013
Thank you so much for writing such a lovely review. I am so pleased that you enjoyed your stay. Our staff consistently go out of their way to ensure that service is good and that guests are well looked after. Thank you also for mentioning the menu. We try to provide a wide choice to suit all tastes and can also cater for specific dietary needs.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

204 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    69
    62
    47
    20
    6
See reviews for
53
80
8
18
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (44)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Darlington, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
73 helpful votes 73 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 12, 2013

Chose this hotel from tripadvisor and other reviews for one overnight. Can't complain about the price (£55 for double B&B), and the location on the seafront is excellent. The room and ensuite were comfortable but rather cramped; fine for one night but probably tedious for a longer stay. The hotel has its own car parking. Staff were helpful if a little mechanical. The main negative was that several breakfast crockery items were not clean. They were soon replaced, but it doesn't give you a good feeling....

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OwnerMaria, Owner at The Kensington, responded to this review, July 21, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to write a review. I am so pleased that you happy with many aspects of the accommodationl. It is disappointing that you had several problems with breakfast items as items are usually checked for cleanliness. Guests usually comment about the genuine welcome of the staff so it is surprising that you found them to be ' mechanical' We would like all guests to feel at home this is something that we will definately follow up.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Top Contributor
258 reviews 258 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 71 cities Reviews in 71 cities
80 helpful votes 80 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 29, 2013

It's a reasonably priced guest-house by the Great Yarmouth sea-front. Very clean and tidy with friendly staff and parking available. Our room was comfortable and had sea views. For the price I can't complain but some people may want to know that the mattress was too soft and you'd probably fall off the bed if you were to lie anywhere near the edge. The water sink was in the room (and not in the bathroom) which may as well annoy some!

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OwnerMaria, Owner at The Kensington, responded to this review, June 30, 2013
Thank you so much for writing such a positive response. I am so pleased that you enjoyed your visit. We do have a wide range of rooms most of which have separate bathrooms to suit all guest requirements and based on availability at the time of booking. If anyone has special requests then please mention this to a member of staff. Some contemporary hotel chains are now designing rooms with a sink in the bedroom area itself. Our mattresses are purchased from a special supplier and are reviewed regularly to maximise guest comfort. We look forward to seeing you again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
38 reviews 38 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 27, 2013

We chose this hotel as they are dog friendly but we are so happy we stayed here. From the moment we arrived, the staff could not do enough to ensure that our stay was excellent. Our room was comfortable, with en suite shower, the sink was in the main bedroom but this was not an issue. The breakfast was excellent & the variety good. We ate in the hotel on one occasion & the food was good. Staff & other guests welcomed our dog Persie & so he could be with us, they served our meals in their bar- we were very pleased with this arrangement.
The hotel is directly in front of the Waterways Venetian park and is a 10 minute stroll into Great Yarmouth. The staff & owners run a friendly hotel where I believe they put the guest at the centre of what they do, will definitely be back

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OwnerMaria, Owner at The Kensington, responded to this review, June 29, 2013
Thank you so much for taking the time to write such a wonderful review. I am so pleased that you had a lovely stay. We try extremely hard to provide good quality service and traditional sincere hospitality. Having just celebrated 10 years we care about existing and future guests. It's great to hear all of the lovely comments. We look forward to seeing you again soon - and your dog of course!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 26, 2013

I stayed in this hotel on 26th june 2013, the staff were great, helpful and polite. Breakfast was nice. Cleanliness was good.

i have 1 issue with the shower/bath , water wasnt coming out right, which was a disappointment as i nor the family could shower properly, however they did come anf fix the issue as soon as i told.

these things should be part of a regular maintainance and checkup.

i did find the price a bit expensive.

  • Stayed June 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OwnerMaria, Owner at The Kensington, responded to this review, June 30, 2013
Thank you for your feedback. As you stated the problem was reported at 9.30 and fixed by 10.00am We do have a permanent member of staff on maintenance and respond extremely quickly to any issues a guest might have. As for the value if you check out all internet booking sites you will see we are always extremely competitive within our category of guest accommodation and pride ourselves on great value for money.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
East Preston, United Kingdom
1 review
2 of 5 stars Reviewed June 20, 2013

It is very difficult to determine if this is supposed to be a Hotel or Guest House -- on the property the sign states Kensington Hotel, some websites also refer to it as a Hotel, the credit card payment receipt states The Kensington Hotel, the dinner menu is for the Kensington Hotel but when guests give it a poor review the owner replies by stating " they are graded 4 star guest accommodation which is not the same as a 4 star Hotel " Maybe the grading structure for the UK needs to be reviewed as this accommodation in my opinion is definitely - not 4 star. On arrival after cc payment I was asked if a VAT receipt was required - why ?? Reception area and stairs to first floor really dark with creaking floor boards. Room door and frame on the outside was all brown paint or varnish -chipped and scratched. Inside bedroom was nice and bright -- maybe recently decorated as they even painted the edge of the carpet the same colour as the skirting board. The shower was useless - no water pressure. Evening dinner was poor quality and bland in appearance but I must agree with other reviews that the breakfast was very good.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OwnerMaria, Owner at The Kensington, responded to this review, June 22, 2013
Thank you for your comments. Unfortunately the grading system is sometimes confusing. We clearly state that we are a guest accommodation and this point has been addressed in previous reviews As far as the sign is concerned, as a concession to premises owners the signs were allowed to stay for the life of the sign if they had just been purchased. The premises themselves undergo constant refreshment and refurbishment but obviously it is more difficult to do corridor areas whilst they are in constant use. All of the ground floor areas have been undated and guests have been extremely complementary about this aspect of the business. Any issues related to shower pressure, food are anything else are dealt with immediately if reported at the time. It is very difficult to rectify issues if they are not known about. We care deeply about our business and making guests feel extremely welcome and in providing a product which is of a high standard.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
stokestaffs
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 19, 2013

Stayed 1 night at the Kensington 17/6/13, 2 single rooms. Very comfortable rooms, staff helpful and polite both in the evening and at breakfast. breakfast OK with plenty choice of cereals, Fruit and juices. Full English served to your table nice but not to plentiful. would not hesitate to stop again in the future.

Stayed June 2013, traveled on business
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OwnerMaria, Owner at The Kensington, responded to this review, June 22, 2013
Thank you very much for taking the time to write a review. I am really pleased that your stay was enjoyable and that you felt comfortable. Just a note about breakfast. Guests are welcome to ask for extra items at breakfast, Looking forward to seeing you again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to The Kensington? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Kensington

Address: 29 North Dr, Great Yarmouth NR30 4EW, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > East Anglia > Norfolk > Great Yarmouth
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #61 of 102 B&Bs / Inns in Great Yarmouth
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — The Kensington 4*
Number of rooms: 26
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Situated in one of the prettiest parts of the seafront overlooking the illuminated Venetian waterways and rock gardens, the Kensington with its stunning sea views is the ideal choice.Set in its own well kept grounds with ample parking, it is opposite the golden sandy beach. The Britannia Pier and the Golden Mile are only a short stroll away.Tastefully decorated in a traditional style, the Kensington has recently undergone a major refurbishment programme. All of the 26 bedrooms are individually designed and furnished to give maximum comfort and many have superb sea views. The premises has no step access to the restaurant, bar and function room. There is a ramp to the front of the property and an accessibility statement is available. Wheelchairs can be accommodated in the public areas. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Expedia, Booking.com, LateRooms and Priceline so you can book your The Kensington reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Kensington Hotel Great Yarmouth
The Kensington Great Yarmouth, Norfolk

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Kensington, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.