We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Disappointed” 3 of 5 stars
Review of The Hamilton

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added The Hamilton to your Saves list
The Hamilton
4.0 of 5 Guest house   |   23 - 24 North Dr, Great Yarmouth NR30 4EW, England   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #71 of 100 Great Yarmouth B&B and Inns
Chesterfield, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
21 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
57 helpful votes 57 helpful votes
“Disappointed”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 9, 2014

Booked this b&b for a short break after seeing it on offer on a web site ,we decided to book direct and pay a little more for a superior room.
We received a warm welcome from David and Lorraine, we payed our balance and filled the visitors book.
We were told that our room number was number 6 and waited to be told where to go. I had to ask for directions to the room.
When we got to our room we were a little bit disappointed, yes it was a sea view but that was about all that was good, furnishings not great and a very very small bathroom with a sliding door that didn't close properly.
A big bay window which is great but it requires a net or blind to preserve privacy.

Breakfast is served form 8 o'clock until 9 o'clock. A good choice of cereals on offer and the cooked breakfast was very good.

There is a menu on the table which gives you the option of ordering an evening meal but this has to be done at breakfast time or before midday.
I may may be on my own here but i don't always know what i will fancy to eat in the evening at breakfast time.

There is a beautiful comfortable lounge with a bar, but sadly no draught beer, i can understand and accept there being no draught beer at the end of the season, but the beginning????

I really wanted to write a good review for this b&b, the owners are very nice people and make you welcome but i cant, i hope this review is taken as constructive criticism.

Room Tip: i can't sorry
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

107 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    25
    30
    25
    18
    9
See reviews for
23
56
4
13
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (33)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
40 helpful votes 40 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 8, 2014

Great and comfortable hotel in a good location, just across the sea and a lovely little park. The breakfast was very nice, the rooms very clean and the price was fair. Very friendly people and no doubt, I will go back.

  • Stayed March 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sheffield, United Kingdom
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
100 helpful votes 100 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 22, 2014

We stayed at this hotel for 2 nights over Easter and had a lovely stay after an initial hiccup. We had booked an executive double on the ground floor. On arrival we were met by a very friendly lady who although didn't show us to our room explained it was down the corridor on the right where room one was. Went into a lovely spacious room with a king size and a single bed. The en suite had a shower, grat I thought as I am disabled. Settled down to have a cup of tea. 10 minutes later more guests came in. It tured out we were in the wrong room, and should have been in the seashell room next door. But there was no sign on the door telling us this. But we moved taking our cups with us. But we got a telling off for taking the colour matched cups and were told that we had to put them back....Not a good start. Our room was lovely. But we couldn't see the conncection to 'seashell' as there wasn't anything in the decor remotely to do with the sea. Just before we left we found a seashell in the design of the bedfhead & foot. Our bed was to die for. Normally hubby & I wake up with back ache when sleeping in hotel beds , but not with this one, it was so..........comfy, didn't want to get up.

Went down a couple of steps to the breakfast room. Breakfast is very laid back and cooked fresh to order which meant quite a long wait as the hotel was full, but would rather have that than some others, where the breakfasts as produced on mass.

Would we go back - yes we would but would book room 1 as the bathroom in 'seashell' was a corner bath which I was unable to use.

Room Tip: Both room 1 & Seashell are ground floor with sea views.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Colchester, United Kingdom
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 3, 2014

We stayed here for 4 days from the 22nd March till the 26th 2014 on a wowcher deal we had a wonderful stay we were greeted by a very friendly lady and allowed to get our room early,the room was clean and very comfy the staff were friendly and polite.
The breakfast was lovely very tasty the owners Lorraine and David were lovely to talk to and eager to please i would have no hesitation in recommending this hotel we will defiantly stay here again and hope to book up soon well done guys great place

regards David and Gina Mcfee from Colchester.

Room Tip: Room 1 had great views of the beach and sea
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
County Durham England
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
44 helpful votes 44 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 2, 2014

Booked 2 night stay with Wowcher and were pleasantly surprised at the value for money. We had a sea view on the first floor and room was very comfortable with Freeview tv and tea/coffee facilities etc.We were made very welcome. Breakfast was very nice with a good selection of cereals / juices and good old English breakfast followed by plenty of toast etc. We weren't aware that they did evening meals as well which were very reasonably priced and would have saved us looking for somewhere on our first night. Parking is available at the front and rear of the building and it was only a few minutes walk to the sea front facilities and the town . I would certainly stay there again.

Room Tip: Ask for a sea view
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Colchester, United Kingdom
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 30, 2014

only had 1 night stay with my partner and 3 year old but enjoyed it as was just what we needed, right on the front nice bar good value what more could you ask. we will return hopefully for a longer stay soon

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 30, 2014 via mobile

Stayed at The Hamilton for two nights with a wow her voucher for £59 including breakfast! Wasn't expecting much but was pleasantly surprised, greeted as we arrived by the owner who was very helpful and shown to our room, which by the way was a wonderful seaview room! Breakfast was excellent, juice, cereals fruit and full English with toast tea and coffee, very impressed with the whole weekend..... Oh and by the way also free wifi ...... Thank you so much to the owners we had a wonderful sunny relaxing weekend.

Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to The Hamilton? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Hamilton

Address: 23 - 24 North Dr, Great Yarmouth NR30 4EW, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > East Anglia > Norfolk > Great Yarmouth
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #71 of 100 B&Bs / Inns in Great Yarmouth
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — The Hamilton 4*
Number of rooms: 22
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Hamilton is open all year round and is ideally positioned on North Drive overlooking the Venetian Waterways and the beach.The Hamilton is a family run business offering a warm welcome, friendly atmosphere high quality accommodation and excellent food.At The Hamilton we offer something for everyone from holiday makers seeking that special time away to corporate clients seeking a warm friendly environment in which to relax and unwind after a long days work. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Agoda, Priceline, Despegar.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your The Hamilton reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Hamilton Great Yarmouth, Norfolk

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Hamilton, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.