We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Absolutely brilliant” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Furzedown Hotel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Furzedown Hotel to your Saves list
Furzedown Hotel
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   19/20 North Drive, Great Yarmouth NR30 4EN, England   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #2 of 17 Hotels in Great Yarmouth
Bracknell, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Absolutely brilliant”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 8, 2013

Just go there. Best hotel in the area. Wonderful food, friendly people, lovely rooms. They went out of their way to help with our wifi etc. will definitely be going back. They were wonderful. The hotel was in the quieter part of the main drag in Gt Yarmouth so no disturbance at night. You won't go hungry there that's for sure.

We thoroughly enjoyed our stay and were quite sad to leave.

Maggie and Ian Ramsden

Room Tip: We had a twin bedded room and it had a sea view. Brilliant
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

165 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    108
    39
    13
    4
    1
See reviews for
42
49
4
18
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (43)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Dunstable, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 5, 2013

Me and my partner stayed an extre night, as this was such a lovely hotel. Clean, tidy, friendly, welcoming and also dog friendly!
Had the kippers for breakfast for another morning......so delicious, cooked to perfection!
Will hopefully be returning here again very soon.

Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hamilton, New Zealand
Top Contributor
114 reviews 114 reviews
40 hotel reviews
Reviews in 59 cities Reviews in 59 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 30, 2013

Great family run hotel, friendly with an excellent cooked and continental breakfast. However, I found the bed to be too hard for my liking and awoke with discomfort in my gluteus maximus which I put down to the hard bed as I know that's what happens if I sleep on too hard a mattress. Secondly, the parking behind the hotel is challenge if driving anything other than a very small car. With just 6 inches to spare on either side of the drive there is no room for error. What was even more frustrating (my wife guided me in by getting outside of the car and indicating if I was on the straight and narrow, literally) when we got to the back of the hotel there were NO spaces available and we had to repeat the process to get out - 30 meters of tight drive way.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Halesworth, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
107 reviews 107 reviews
44 hotel reviews
Reviews in 43 cities Reviews in 43 cities
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 27, 2013

This was not our type of hotel, but we needed to be in Yarmouth and it had good trip advisor reviews. Easy to find on the sea front north of the town, there is an adequate car park at the rear, though the access track may be too narrow for some of the larger chelsea tractor type vehicles.
There was a function on when we arrived at about 16:00, and our reception was brusque as the member of staff needed to get back to the do.
Our twin room on the first floor was small, but the beds were 4ft beds, and the room had everything we needed. the bathroom was a bit tired, as were the towels, but everything worked.
We had two good nights sleep and two good breakfasts. breakfast was freshly cooked, and service was excellent.
an all round good experience at a hotel that clearly knows what it is doing.
If I have to stay in Yarmouth again I would stay at the Furzedown.

Room Tip: I think rooms on the front may suffer from noise from the bar
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 14, 2013 via mobile

My wife and I enjoyed a lovely stay at this hotel. The hosts were very friendly and very welcoming. The hotel was very nice (easy walk to the beach front) the room was very comfortable and the breakfast was very good (they happily catered for my wife's diet requirements due to pregnancy). Would definitely highly recommend.

  • Stayed June 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 10, 2013 via mobile

I took my time looking for somewhere I stay, looking at hotels sites and reviews. When wanting to enquire on a price, I thought I'd ring up each hotel in which took my fancy. I rung about 5 hotels, every hotel minus this one answered with a moody tone. This phone was answered with enthusiasm and it made me make up my mind straight away.
On arrival we were greeted and we went to our room. The room was clean and tidy, exactly what it says on the website. We were impressed and felt we had made the right choice. After an evening out we returned and went to the bar for a few drinks in which Lisa, Paul (the owners) and a friend were having a drink (along with their beauty of a dog too) and they were more than happy for us to join, and they made us feel very welcome.
Breakfast in the morning was delicious! There was a selection of cereal and fruit, tea coffee or orange juice as well as the choice of a full English (eggs how you like them) or kippers! (Which I wanted to try but was too hungover).
Overall, we would both return to this hotel as it was comfortable, clean and welcoming. We'd like to thank everyone in the hotel for their kind hospitality.

  • Stayed June 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nottingham, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 31, 2013

Have just returned from a short 3 night stay at this hotel. I can honestly say that this hotel lives up to it's claims made on it's website. The photographs on the site are a true reflection of the property and what is on offer.

The staff are welcoming and are very geared towards providing you with the best experience and service- nothing was too much trouble.

The room was very comfortable and well kept and we had undisturbed sleep on every night.

The breakfasts were very good and the staff were only to happy to accommodate any variations that we requested. All the food was freshly prepared and we could not find any fault with the food that was served to us - trust me, I am very hard to please when it comes to my food.

The bar was well stocked and we found the car parking and free Wi-Fi very useful.

Would we return again? Yes we would happily return and extend the duration of our stay.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Furzedown Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Furzedown Hotel

Address: 19/20 North Drive, Great Yarmouth NR30 4EN, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > East Anglia > Norfolk > Great Yarmouth
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 On the Beach Hotel in Great Yarmouth
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Furzedown Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 20
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Furzedown Hotel as been owned by the Garrod family for over 50 years. We have 20 newly refurbished bedrooms. All bedrooms have en-suite with bath & shower. All bedrooms have freeview flatscrren tv's, tea making facilites, direct dial telephone and free wifi. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, Priceline, Venere, Travelocity, Despegar.com, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Furzedown Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Furzedown Hotel Great Yarmouth, Norfolk

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Furzedown Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.