We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“perfect for a weekend break” 4 of 5 stars
Review of The Waverley Hotel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Save
You added The Waverley Hotel to your Saves list
The Waverley Hotel
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   32 - 37 Princes Rd., Great Yarmouth NR30 2DG, England   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #9 of 17 Hotels in Great Yarmouth
London, United Kingdom
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“perfect for a weekend break”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 21, 2014

Booked a last minute holiday. The staff is friendly, the elevator unique, the rooms are ok, the building is old but maintained.
Really close to the pier and the beach. There is parking permit needed , but the front desk provides it to guests.
Breakfast is buffet style and the bar is well equipped.
Easy going place.
We did not have dinner there.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

174 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    70
    55
    31
    8
    10
See reviews for
38
85
5
9
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (56)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
West Yorkshire, England
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 20, 2014

Visited for a weekend break with National Holidays 18th to 20th July 2014. My sister an I had booked a twin room through national holidays. Greeted warmly by staff and told we coul go in the lift or take the stairs to the 2nd floor. (Nobody available to help with cases) We took the stairs as the lift would only take 2 people at a time. The corridors and stairs were carpeted with very old green, grubby carpet which had been patched in several places. When we reached our room we noted that the decor and furniture was very dated and in need of a revamp. There was a built in wardrobe which did not have any clothes hangers and was full of dust inside an out. The free standing wardrobe was adequate for two people but only had 4 coat hangers. The bathroom was very dated an the shower base was scuffed and dented, the bathroom door was a sliding one but only had a top runner, door would not shut fully which left a large gap, the bathroom floor was dusty although the toilet, shower and basin were clean. The food at dinner was very basic and only three choices of starters and main course and two puddings. Breakfast was much better, plenty of choice and hot food and tea and coffee. The second evenings food was really quite appalling, fish and chips or cottage pie, the fish and chips were almost Inedible, the fish was brown and the batter was CHEWY!! Frozen chips with no taste. Bread and butter pudding or ice cream, for pud, my sister could not eat the bread an butter pudding as it was so stodgy and tasteless. On the positives, and there wasn't many, the staff were helpful and polite and the beds were clean an comfortable.
Very very disappointed as we have been on holiday with national holidays several times and have had lovely hotels but this one needs a complete revamp and defiantly a more imaginative chef.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Honiton, United Kingdom
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 16, 2014

Stayed in the Waverley for a week in June. Given a room on the second floor that was very clean and comfortable. Breakfast was hot and plentiful and the staff very friendly and helpful.
The only downsides were the very antiquated lift and, as our room was at the rear of the building overlooking a yard, the noise of both the children playing there and the loud voices of the kitchen staff. Had to shut the window even though it was very warm at night. Even saying this, it wouldn't stop us staying there again if we had to go back to Great Yarmouth. This is not likely as disliked the town intensely. All amusement arcades and fish and chips!

Room Tip: Choose a room that does not overlook the rear yard
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bedfordshire
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 8, 2014

Booked two single rooms for a friend and myself.for a 5 day break away On arrival we were greeted with a polite and plesant mannered guy and was given our room keys promptly. Arrived in our rooms although small were adquately equiped with all the essentials including shower gel and soap and the decor was nice and clean and bed was comfortable. Staff were busy at breakfast (buffet style) with a coach party that were staying on the same dates as ours but could not fault the food the sausages were not the cheap crap you normally get in hotels and the coffee was lovely and hot. Can't comment on evening meal as we were only B/B but some of the coach party were saying there was a wide choice to choose from and very nice. The young lady behind the bar was lovely pleasant with a gsoh The management were also very plesant and welcoming. I would definately recommend this hotel to anyone its location was ideal to the main shopping centre, bus station and all other wonderful amentities Great Yarmouth has to offer including the beach. Thank you for a wonderful time.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with friends
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stapleford, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 2, 2014

First impressions this hotel are great,reception staff really helpful room nice ,although,bed rather small.
Restaurant first impressions terrible ,the French waitress was rude unhelpful and barked orders at guests but every other member of staff in the restaurant was fantastic
We were part of a coach tour and the set 3course meal was, to be generous ,very very basic,although as we were travelling with a group of Northern people I'm not sure if the food was aimed at them but for me being offered a veggie option or liver and onions or a pasta dish for the first evening was really disappointing .second night beef casserole or jacket potatoes or chicken and mushroom in a garlic sauce again not to my taste.3rd night cottage pie ,fish and chips or salad . The dessert option every night ice cream or 1rice pudding 2 treacle sponge 3bread and butter pudding not very imaginative ,water was provided with the meal but it was warm and horrible , I at least expected ice and lemon would have been nice too. Bread rolls were only ever offered if soup was ordered as a starter .i must admit that most of the elderly people on the trip seemed ok with the menu but I suppose it is a matter of taste and again possibly what they grew up eating .
However breakfast , a self service option was very good quality and plentiful
At no time during our stay was the dirty bedding ever changed ,The large windows in our room were chained shut ,the room although at first look was reasonably clean on closer inspection corners had been cut , around the windows was filthy,on the top of the wardrobe you could write your name in the dust ,the bathroom shaving light didn't work for our entire stay ,vast areas of sealant in the bathroom was missing , basically our room needed a really good spring clean
the lift could win prizes on the antiques road show and was forbidden to be used after 11pm or before 8 am
Our request in the bar for ice to take to our room resulted in us being offered a glass containing 6pieces I did not realise there was still rationing in Great Yarmouth !
. the hotel claims 3 star class in its brochure it certainly needs more work to achieve this
Would we stay again, yes but only on a bed and breakfast basis and only then if the price was very attractive , I've stayed in better quality ,cheaper ,basic bed and breakfasts in the town .

Room Tip: 112 good location at front of hotel , but it needs a clean and is very noisey at night with people s...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lowestoft, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 29, 2014

I booked a single room for one night direct with the hotel at a very reasonable rate including breakfast. The room was absolutely ok for one person, tidy and clean, with a large and comfy bed and a good and clean bathroom. Staff were friendly and helpful. Everything was ok. I slept through breakfast so can't say anything about that.

The property could do with new carpets, but there are more important things than that and on these the Waverley certainly delivered.

A hospitable place with good rates, would happily book again.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Middlesbrough, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 28, 2014

We booked through National Holidays, for 5 days. We arrived Just after 4pm We were greet with politeness and given our room keys promptly. I had a single room, at the front of the hotel second floor. The room was small, but contained everything i needed. The bathroom was modern and very clean, plenty of hot water. Meals were at set times 8:30am breakfast evening meal 6pm. Buffet style meals you could have as much as you liked or as little as you wanted. Evening meal you had a choice of 3 starters , 3 main meals and all served with an assorted vegatables, also a choice of 2 desserts, All meals piping hot, (we later found out we could have cheese and crackers), plus tea and coffee afterwards. The hotel also had a bar area with a televison confortable table and chairs, and two lounge areas.
The hotel is in a good location close to the sea front and the main shopping area. I slept like a log. The staff where polite, friendley, helpful. There was entertainment 2 nights a week, not my cup of tea, but this did not stop us enjoying ourselves. All in all this was an enjoyable break for the price l ha paid. National Holidays also organised 2 sightseening trips out side of Great Yarmouth,

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to The Waverley Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Waverley Hotel

Address: 32 - 37 Princes Rd., Great Yarmouth NR30 2DG, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > East Anglia > Norfolk > Great Yarmouth
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #9 of 17 Hotels in Great Yarmouth
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — The Waverley Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 47
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A beautiful brand new two floor fully renovated hotel with all 47 en-suite rooms having LCD T.V., tea-coffee making facility, Intercom Facility and lift access to all the rooms. We are one minute away from the sea front and the main town center(Britannia Pier) and the opposite the famous Pub on the Prom. Full English Breakfast consisting of fresh farm sausages and egg are served to our elite customers in our most lively 100 seater restaurant on the lobby level.Fully stocked bar and lounge on the lobby level for people to relax and enjoy their holidays. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline and Odigeo so you can book your The Waverley Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Waverley Hotel Great Yarmouth
The Waverley Hotel Great Yarmouth, Norfolk

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Waverley Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.