We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Superb Museum” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Time and Tide Museum

Time and Tide Museum
Blackfriars Road, Great Yarmouth NR30 3BX, England
01493 ​743930
Improve this listing
Certificate of Excellence 2014
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Set in one of the UK's best preserved Victorian herring curing works, Time & Tide tells the story of Great Yarmouth from its Ice Age origins to the present day. Experience the heady atmosphere of a 1950s fish wharf and take the wheel of a steam drifter. Hear gripping tales of wreck and rescue and meet some of the colourful characters who made their living from the sea.Discover the town's rich maritime heritage and its development as a popular seaside resort. Wander down a tupical 1913 'Row' and see inside the homes of a local fisherman and his neighbours.Explore the smokehouses, where the lingering aroma of smoked herring is a reminder of times gone by.See website for details of of our events programme.Shop and cafe also available. For all other enquiries please see the website or telephone the museum.
Great Yarmouth, United Kingdom
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Superb Museum”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 18, 2013

This is a fantastic museum , it really captures the history of Great Yarmouth which despite the towns current plight is something to be celebrated.

Visited November 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

304 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    225
    66
    10
    2
    1
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Norwich, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
41 reviews 41 reviews
12 attraction reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
“A Locals delight”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 13, 2013

Do you like to look back at what most people call the good old days,well the Tide and Tide Museum must be put to the top of your too do list.You can easily while away a couple of hours looking round,plus you get the authentic smell (not overpowering) of the old smoke house,brilliant - get down there soon

Visited November 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GY
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
7 attraction reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Museum for everyone”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 26, 2013

Visited with my two daughters and it gives a really interesting view of Great Yarmouth and its history. The smell of the old fish smoking rooms is really evocative as is the row, the war-time exhibition and the cheerful seaside exhibition. Well worth a visit - even if you know nothing about this town.

Visited February 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dereham, United Kingdom
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
3 attraction reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
“Nice little museam”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 9, 2013

If you have a couple of hours spare take a trip here, interesting place and lots of little activities for the kids

Visited October 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Belton, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
7 attraction reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
“What a cool place - in Gt Yarmouth too!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 31, 2013

Went her yesterday with my daughter, as we wanted to see the Frayed exhibition. Can't believe I've never been before. The exhibition itself was amazing - thought provoking, evocative and haunting. We looked around the museum exhibits too. It's really well done and easy to follow the history of the town that I was born in! Well worth a visit on any day, but I highly recommend the exhibition before it closes.

Visited October 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Time and Tide Museum also viewed

Great Yarmouth, Norfolk
 
Gorleston-on-Sea, Great Yarmouth
 

Been to Time and Tide Museum? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Time and Tide Museum, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.