We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Sunnyside Hotel. But is a B&b” 3 of 5 stars
Review of The Sunnyside Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Save
You added The Sunnyside Hotel to your Saves list
The Sunnyside Hotel
31, Victoria Road, Great Yarmouth NR30 3BH, England   |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #33 of 100 Great Yarmouth B&B and Inns
London, United Kingdom
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
“Sunnyside Hotel. But is a B&b”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 29, 2013

Was taken to our room which was a twin room, And i had booked a double. Room was more like a contractors room then a couples room. We had room 3 which is nowhere as good as rooms 1 & 2 which were next door. Room was clean and a nice size thou, Outside was well kept, But the rest of the street is the pits. Pub on the corner is a mess and you should avoid it at all costs. Drunk people outside most nights. Breakfast was good, But if you want to change it from day to day let them know, As the same will be served up everyday. All in all a nice place to stay, But the street it,s in lets it down badly. I visit Yarmouth 3 time s a year, But will not use this B & B again, but only because of the street it is in.

Room Tip: Nice place but there are much better to be had in Great Yarmouth And in a far better class of street...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

64 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    46
    12
    4
    2
    0
See reviews for
11
31
5
2
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (16)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Nottingham, United Kingdom
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 23, 2013

We stayed here for 3 nights and we had booked the big room with the en suite (room 2), the room was incredibly clean like the hotel through out. As we travelled by car we were initially concerned about how much parking there is around the hotel but thankfully there was plenty of unrestricted parking on the street outside, which is also very quiet so you cannot hear any noise from it at night.

The hotel is just a short walk away from the beach and the promenade so it is ideal for those evening beach and arcade trips.

Shaun & Debbie were very friendly and gave lots of local advice, nothing was too much of an issue for them, from offering to take our bags upstairs to getting an extra couple of portions of jam for breakfast, we only wish they could have improved the weather!

Next time we are in the area, we will be booking a room here again.

Room Tip: Booking directly from the hotels website means you can see pictures of the rooms and choose that exa...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hertfordshire
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 7, 2013

just returned home from a 2 night stay at sunnyside hotel,,,,shaun and debbie are a sweet and friendly couple and made you most welcome,,me and my husband had the smaller double room which was very clean and comfy and my son and his girlfriend had the large double room which was perfect, you could come and go as much as you like to your hotel as you had your own front door key,i def would recommend having the breakfast as you get lots for your money and was very yummy , THANKU AGAIN Debbie and shaun AND HOPE TO SEE YOU IN THE SUMMER.XX

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Harlow, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 2, 2013

Shaun & Debbie made us so welcome on our arrival. Shaun offered to take our bags showed us to our room (pre warned us the room 7 was small) when we got into the room it was a ideal size room on suite, very lovely decorated & the room was very comfortable. We took up the offer of the breakfast it was absoutely fantastic & well worth the money. We are going back at the end of May for another stay. We will only be staying at Sunnyside Hotel so we highly recommend this Hotel as Shaun & Debbie was so friendly & cheerful made our stay more pleasant. Thank you so much Sarah & Tony x x

Room Tip: room 7 is ideal for a couple who is using it just as a base not staying in all day.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Galway, Ireland
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 27, 2012

shaun and debbie are always welcoming, rooms are always perfectly clean never have any issue of noise. super couple just a shame not all hotel and guesthouse owners are like them. me and my partner love staying here. can't wait until they are not fully booked anymore

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stevenage, United Kingdom
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 18, 2012

stayed her a few weeks ago and was verry good my family was inpressed and we have saved this hotel in favourits lol really nice owners very helpfull and polite family room was nice and large and plenty of space have already recomended this place to other friends and family i rate this 100% thanks guys for a brilliant stay mike & sam berry

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stansted Mountfitchet, United Kingdom
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 14, 2012

On arriving at Hotel, Debbie presented herself as a pleasant & Cheerful Lady, just what you needed after a couple of hours travelling.
From the outside the Hotel actually stands out from other properties, beautiful frontage may be not for Victoria Road, as other properties let it down.
We were taken to our room which was booked on line through late rooms.com, on late rooms it did not state dimensions of rooms and it also did not state that it was a budget room, the room was very tiny, my husband put his arms outstretched to see if he could turn in the room without hitting a wall or object, he could not.
When Debbie showed us our room in her own words she stated the room was small without any prompting from us but in the same sentence she said " Well its the room you booked", as there is no picture of the said bedroom we are unable to share this opinion, when we complained to Shaun the following day, Shaun said that their website has all the room dimensions, however on return from our stay we could not find said dimensions or even the room we were given.
Whilst it is true that this is the room we booked through late rooms, I think for future customers on late rooms and your own website that a true reflection of dimensions and the fact that you are supposed to be a budget hotel should be stated.
However in Shaun's defence once we complained about the room we were given an alternative room, however we felt slightly sorry for Shaun's son who was due to stay in our new room, and his poor son had our very tiny room, the new room was a nice room, it was clean & airy.
Annette Tidy

Room Tip: Clarify with Shaun & Debbie what you are looking for with regard to room size, as they range fro...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to The Sunnyside Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Sunnyside Hotel

Address: 31, Victoria Road, Great Yarmouth NR30 3BH, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > East Anglia > Norfolk > Great Yarmouth
Amenities:
Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #33 of 100 B&Bs / Inns in Great Yarmouth
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Debbie and Shaun welcome you to the SUNNYSIDE HOTEL GREAT YARMOUTH!We are a friendly family run bed & breakfast facility.Having both been born and bred in Norfolk we are one of only a few B&B’s in Great Yarmouth that has vast local knowledge of the area If you have any questions about this wonderful county we live in, we would be happy to help(if not we can phone a friend to resolve your query).The Sunnyside Hotel in Great Yarmouth is open all Year Round and offer very competitive rates, with discounts available for longer stays. Contractors welcome.Parking is available on-street – free of charge with no permit required.Sunnyside Hotel in Great Yarmouth is only a minute walk from the glorious sandy central beach, and adjacent to the historic town centre with its many shops and restaurants. Browse the famous outdoor market & pedestrianised Regent Street. Enjoy the Hippodrome Circus (Britain’s most visited summer show), the Britannia pier and the Pleasure Beach with many rides and attractions spread over nine acres boasting a top ten place in the UK free entry amusement parks.With Health & safety a priority for all our guests, we are fire certificated with a Level 2 fire system. CCTV is in operation, with 24hr recording in the entrance area. We are fully insured and have current food & hygiene certification.All electrical appliances and microwaves have been PAT tested & certified to the IEE code of practice under the required Electricity at Work regulations.Our rooms are cleaned & serviced daily, and have tea and coffee making facilities, remote controlled colour TV with Freeview channels, and the convenience of a fridge. A full English breakfast is provided for a small charge, and we offer a packed lunch option on request. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Booking.com and Odigeo so you can book your The Sunnyside Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Sunnyside Hotel Great Yarmouth, Norfolk

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Sunnyside Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.