We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Budget price with brilliant service” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Sunnyside Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Save
You added The Sunnyside Hotel to your Saves list
The Sunnyside Hotel
31, Victoria Road, Great Yarmouth NR30 3BH, England   |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #33 of 100 Great Yarmouth B&B and Inns
London, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Budget price with brilliant service”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 8, 2012

Far above my expectations! At £20 I wasn't expecting much, but was blown away with what I got.
Much better service than hotels at 5times the cost.

On arrival I got a very warm welcome from Shaun and Debbie. My bags were even carried up to my room for me :-)

The room was compact but totally adequate. All the room facilities were fab, full size TV with free-view; full size fridge; tea & coffee making; iron on request. Everywhere was spotlessly clean.
The breakfast for an additional £4 is also well worth having.

The hotel is literally about 3min walk from the seafront.

Very welcoming. Will definitely return when I need a room in Great Yarmouth again.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

64 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    46
    12
    4
    2
    0
See reviews for
11
31
5
2
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (16)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Essex England
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
24 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 27, 2012

Arrived on the Friday, to a warm and friendly welcome from Shaun and Debbie. We had room 5, a little on the small side, however had a full size fridge, which came in handy for beers!. Room was very clean and tidy. Small TV with DVD player. Breakfast room was very inviting, and everyone was friendly. Breakfast was very nice. We stayed two nights here and well worth the money. 3 minutes walk to the sea front and all the attractions on your door step. Whilst there is free parking in the road, it's a nightmare to get parked - beware!.
Overall a good friendly, clean hotel. You can't ask for much more.

Room Tip: room 7, at the end of the corridor, bigger shower room and seperate toilet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wakefield, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 14, 2012

Would just like to say we have just had a fantastic week at the Sunnyside. We where made to feel very welcome by Shaun and Debbie. The room was clean and adequate for our needs and the hotel is in an excellent location for all amenities of Great Yarmouth and beyond.
Also the breakfast was excellent.
We would recommend the Sunnyside to any of our family and friends. Thanks Debbie and Shaun and we will hopefully see you both again in the future. Jeff and Jayne

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
sunnyside31, Owner at The Sunnyside Hotel, responded to this review, August 15, 2012
Thank you both for your nice comments it was a pleasure to have a great couple stay with us for 7 days and go home with a great tan (Ha Ha) great to have met you both and hope you come an stay again sometime
Thanks again
xxx
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 10, 2012 via mobile

We enjoy our stay at sunnysidehotel hotel and Debbie and Shaun were very lovely and welcoming in to here hotel they show us to our room we love the double room was clean and ad every thing in there but ad to shave a bathroom which we mind there is lots of things to do in gray yamouth thanks Sarah an kris

  • Stayed June 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leicester, England, United Kingdom
2 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 28, 2012

Debbie and Shaun were very welcoming hosts. I have read the other reviews, and yes the rooms are small but you only need them to sleep in and to use as a base. It is ideally located 2 minutes walk from the seafront, plenty of local pubs nearby and a family park just 5-10 minutes walk. We went to the alleged noisy pub at the end of the road and everyone was very nice in there too, ok, it is not the worlds fanciest bar but was good none the less. If you want a warm and welcoming place to stay in easy walking distance of everything you need, then book here, if you want palacial and huge rooms, i am sure there is a Ritz within a few hours easy commute. As for nosiy seagulls, i get woken by noisy sparrows etc in the middle of the country, stop nit picking about that one and get a life!

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 23, 2012 via mobile

On arrival was taken to the room to find that it was no bigger than my downstairs toilet at home. You couldn't shut the shower door if the bathroom door was open. Overall not great at all.

  • Stayed July 2012
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
sunnyside31, Owner at The Sunnyside Hotel, responded to this review, July 26, 2012
Thank you for your review and most of all for pointing out about the shower door wasn't sure what you meant by it but have been in and found when the bathroom door is closed not open as you said it does catch on the door handle as nobody has mention this before and we would never had know about it as we don't shower in the room our self but if you had came and told us we would have fixed it in a matter of minutes as it has now been fixed.
the room is the smallest twin room we have which is the room you picked when you booked it online there is photos of the room so is easy to see roughly how big it is but as you did not mention this was a problem when you were here we had no chance to offer you another larger room sorry you were not happy just wished you had told us before leaving
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 14, 2012 via mobile

The hotel is on a residential side street with a noisy pub a few doors down, however the noise ends at 11:30pm and if you don't have children this possibly isn't a problem to you. You are then awoken at 5ish by the worlds noisiest seagulls that don't let up!
if your skinny you will be fine with the hand towels provided for the shower.
We were also told it would not be an issue if we wanted a second nite but we could decide when we were there, however due to the noise issue we decided not to stay a second nite but was made to pay for it!!
The positives are the hotel has lovely spotless clean spacious rooms with all the facilities you could ask for, they offer a very tasty varied breakfast the next day (at the hotels slotted time).

Time for an early nite in the quiet relaxing home we are used to with out a rude hotel manager!

Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
sunnyside31, Owner at The Sunnyside Hotel, responded to this review, July 18, 2012
We are very sorry to see you were disappointed when you left
just to make it clear about the booking of the room which was booked on the telephone for a 2 night stay in our family room for 2 lady's and a child which was booked and a deposit for the first night stay was taking as we don't take bookings for one night and say that you can stay another night if you like it as in July (peak season) rooms are being booked everyday so no rooms would be held in the event that you may want to stay another night and all room are charged in full on arrival for the total amount of nights booked you were not charged on arrival as it was almost 10 pm when you arrived so we would wait until the next morning as im sure you would not want to have the total invoice to settle with a small child at that time of night and as you were booked in for 2 nights it was not a problem to do it the next day
as you say you were charged for both nights when you decided to leave early which is the hotel terms and conditions which are in the hotel entrance and on the hotel website as follows
T’s & C’s
Terms & Conditions

Deposit payable on booking.

All major credit/debit cards accepted

Terms and Conditions

Booking terms and conditions:

The Sunnyside Hotel is a non-smoking Bed & Breakfast. Rooms are available for checkin from 12pm until 10pm on your day of arrival (earlier by arrangement) and must be vacated by 10am on your day of departure.

Your booking is a legally binding contract with The Sunnyside Hotel

Deposits are payable when booking and are non-refundable Full balance is payable on arrival.

In the event of your cancellation within 7 days of the booking the full cost of your holiday will be payable.

No refund will be offered should you leave before the end of your stay

We advise you to take out travel insurance to cover your costs should you need to cancel.



The hotel is on a residential street and does have a pub on the corner but have never had a complaint from any neighbors with children or any customer who has stayed with us before in the 5 years we have been here and we have never had any reason to have to complain to the pub our self as we do live and sleep on the property to.
We are sorry you were awoken by seagulls at 5 ish they do make a noise in the summer months when the sun rise early but most people just except it as we are by the sea and we were very sorry you felt you had to leave because of them, have not had anybody leave for that reason before but you did clearly tell us that was why, you did not mention about the pub noise when you were here an also you did not complain about the towels don,t understand what is meant by hand towels to shower as there was full size bath towels and hand towels in the room which are the same in all rooms we do not supply bath sheet which you may be use to.
why you think the manager is rude beats me as you seemed happy with the service when you left and did not complain once to either of us can understand you may not have been happy being charged for the 2nd night but you did not even complain about that you happily gave me the card an told me to take the payment and we did say that you are welcome to stay if you changed your minds and after a long discussion with your partner you both decided to leave as you said it was not fair on the small child if she did not sleep very well
we did give you a time for breakfast at your request as we normally do breakfast between 8.30 -9.30 but as you said you needed breakfast at 8am as the child needs to take medication with food so we agreed to serve breakfast for you at 8am .
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to The Sunnyside Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Sunnyside Hotel

Address: 31, Victoria Road, Great Yarmouth NR30 3BH, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > East Anglia > Norfolk > Great Yarmouth
Amenities:
Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #33 of 100 B&Bs / Inns in Great Yarmouth
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Debbie and Shaun welcome you to the SUNNYSIDE HOTEL GREAT YARMOUTH!We are a friendly family run bed & breakfast facility.Having both been born and bred in Norfolk we are one of only a few B&B’s in Great Yarmouth that has vast local knowledge of the area If you have any questions about this wonderful county we live in, we would be happy to help(if not we can phone a friend to resolve your query).The Sunnyside Hotel in Great Yarmouth is open all Year Round and offer very competitive rates, with discounts available for longer stays. Contractors welcome.Parking is available on-street – free of charge with no permit required.Sunnyside Hotel in Great Yarmouth is only a minute walk from the glorious sandy central beach, and adjacent to the historic town centre with its many shops and restaurants. Browse the famous outdoor market & pedestrianised Regent Street. Enjoy the Hippodrome Circus (Britain’s most visited summer show), the Britannia pier and the Pleasure Beach with many rides and attractions spread over nine acres boasting a top ten place in the UK free entry amusement parks.With Health & safety a priority for all our guests, we are fire certificated with a Level 2 fire system. CCTV is in operation, with 24hr recording in the entrance area. We are fully insured and have current food & hygiene certification.All electrical appliances and microwaves have been PAT tested & certified to the IEE code of practice under the required Electricity at Work regulations.Our rooms are cleaned & serviced daily, and have tea and coffee making facilities, remote controlled colour TV with Freeview channels, and the convenience of a fridge. A full English breakfast is provided for a small charge, and we offer a packed lunch option on request. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline and Odigeo so you can book your The Sunnyside Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Sunnyside Hotel Great Yarmouth, Norfolk

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Sunnyside Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.