We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Disgraceful!!!!” 1 of 5 stars
Review of Arona Hotel

Arona Hotel
We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Great Yarmouth
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Arona Hotel
Save
You added Arona Hotel to your Saves list
2.0 of 5 Small Hotel   |   14-15 Sandown Road, Great Yarmouth NR30 1EY, England   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #98 of 102 Great Yarmouth B&B and Inns
Nottingham, United Kingdom
1 review
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Disgraceful!!!!”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed July 24, 2011

Rude manager, rude foreign workers, food is disgraceful, rooms are dirty (curtains had blood on them, cramped and unspacious, shower didn't work and had hairs all over en suite) AWFUL!!! Would not recommend to anybody!!

  • Stayed August 2010
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

14 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    3
    4
    2
    0
    5
See reviews for
3
4
1
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (3)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Stoke-on-Trent, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 1, 2010

clean. friendly and in a nice spot...just far enough away from the noise but near enough for a nice walk at night......very nice couple..we've been going since our son was 13....he now 21 and goes thre too..with his mates....well stocked bar..

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wakefield, United Kingdom
1 review
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 2, 2010

Just spent a week at the A'Rona hotel: myself (age 25), my mum and my elderly grandparents. We all had a wonderful stay.

The hotel is in a great location, walking distance to all the attractions of Great Yarmouth but on a peaceful road and offers car parking if you drive down. The decor of the place is definitely summed up as chintzy but who really minds that? In all the rooms were cosy, clean and comfortable. Our room in particular was very roomy although my grandparents' was slightly smaller. For guests who struggle with stairs, there is a stairlift to all floors.

Meals were quite good. Nothing to get too excited about but they were perfectly adequate and there were always several choices for each dish. The waitressing staff are from Poland and although they struggle with their English, they try their best and are very friendly and obliging... even if it takes a couple of goes to communicate what you would like.

The best bit about this hotel is the wonderful staff. I have already mentioned the girls in the restaurant but special mention must go to the owner manager Peter. who really couldn't do enough for you. Not only is he always around for a friendly chat, he helped us with hiring a wheelchair for my grandad and when I was ill one night was on hand with peppermint drinks.

There is entertainment on in the bar three nights a week, singers who do quite a wide repertoire of songs. I particularly enjoyed getting up and doing a few numbers with them... thanks Paul and Clive for having me! (what a show off I am) Peter also organises a trip to see a show in Gorleston on Wednesday nights during the summer. It's a cabaret and worth a watch.

I would recommend this hotel to anyone who wants a good old fashioned break at the English seaside for very good value and a good time.

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 30, 2009

We stayed at the Hotel A'rona in Sept 2009 when we went to the Caister Soul Weekender. We managed to get a deal as part of the weekender, so were very happy with the cost of the stay.

Good points: Value for money, great location - just out of the madness of Yarmouth, but close enough to walk, onsite parking, decent breakfast, laid back owner.

Bad points: Rooms decorated by a granny on crack. Shower was weak, but worked. Remote on the TV didn't work, but TV did. Didn't take cards - only accept cheque or cash.

  • Stayed September 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Arona Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Arona Hotel

Address: 14-15 Sandown Road, Great Yarmouth NR30 1EY, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > East Anglia > Norfolk > Great Yarmouth
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #98 of 102 B&Bs / Inns in Great Yarmouth
Hotel Class:2 star — Arona Hotel 2*
Number of rooms: 22
Also Known As:
Arona Hotel Great Yarmouth, Norfolk

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Arona Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.