We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Not happy” 2 of 5 stars
Review of Seamore Guest House

Seamore Guest House
We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Great Yarmouth
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Seamore Guest House
Save
You added Seamore Guest House to your Saves list
116 Wellesley Road, Great Yarmouth NR30 2AR, England   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #61 of 100 Great Yarmouth B&B and Inns
Kent
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Not happy”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed August 30, 2012

I booked this as it looked good on the website said it had been done up on the outside maybe but they should of concentrated more on the inside. Stayed in the family room which was dull too much furniture for such a small family room ad to leave the same day that I got there as I got very depressed and emotional. There was no refund. Did not gt a nice greeting after a long journey there. Very disappointing. I

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

22 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    6
    8
    6
    2
    0
See reviews for
5
6
3
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (5)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 27, 2012

Just spent a night here over the Bank Holiday weekend. I would mark three and a half if the option was possible. I think the rating should reflect that the stay was better than average as there are many positive points with this guesthouse...
Firstly the location is great - it is near to all of the shops, cafes, pier, cinema, seafront and walking distance to the pleasure beach.
We stayed in the family room, which had a double bed, bunk bed, fridge and microwave. The bed was clean and comfortable and we slept very well. The en suite was clean and the shower was good. Our friends stayed in a double room and used the shared bathroom, they were happy with their room.
The breakfast was very nice. We picked our slot for 8 am - and started off with a choice of cereals. Fresh filter coffee had already been prepared and was ready to pour as we sat down. We were also offered fruit juices and toast. The full English breakfast was better than expected - eggs were spot on! The gentleman host was attentive without being intrusive. Very pleasantly surprised by the breakfast experience...
In the evening we had a drink in the little bar in the lounge. We watched some Tv with the gentleman owner and his son and were made to feel welcome.
It was nice (and novel) to spend time with a host who wasn't a hard nosed business man only concerned about making money - he even offered to waiver 50p for bar drinks as none of us had correct change! He also went out of his way to help us out with parking permits....
Very happy with the stay here. Good value for money. Would stay here again and would recommend to others....

Room Tip: Family room has en suite bathroom
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wolverhampton, United Kingdom
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 18, 2012

Me and my partner stayed here in July 2012 for 3 nights, We was booked in a double room for the 3 nights and we were offered a free upgraded for a bigger family room for our last nights stay.
Our double room as two single beds pushed together and was given two single bed sheets, No problem though as we kindly asked if we could have a double sheet and Kevin kindly straight away gave us a clean double sheet within no time.
Had our own shower and toilet but out the room but that wasn't any problem and once we was upgraded we had an en-suite bathroom, Be careful with the shower curtain as it might want to make love to you.
Breakfast was decent, certainly filled me up. Timing is very early and you only have till 9am to have your breakfast. Apart from that it was a nice breakfast.
Very quiet and you'll hardly ever be disturbed. In a great location for the main high street and Britannia pier.
As for the conditions of the rooms, wall paper was peeling off, curtain rail was hanging off, shelf wasn't level. Nails sticking out the wall, pipes showing, Wallpaper was different colours but somehow we didn't want to leave the room when we got offered the upgrade, Their was a fridge and a microwave in the double room which i have never witnessed before. Rooms could do with a lick of paint or new wallpaper. Website told us that we would have a 22inch LCD TV and we had a standard 15inch box TV which was slightly disappointing but wasn't exactly bothered as we didn't spend much time in the room.
If you're a couple i would consider paying the extra for the family room as the double room we has was very small and a struggle to get round with cases, But can't moan as like i said we was upgraded for free and if you get the offer i would definitely accept the offer.
I would recommend this B&B, we are thinking of coming back next year but we only stayed here as our place we first booked had a fire and had to book here at last minute but it was a great stay and i would recommend staying here again, Enjoyed our stay and we didn't want to leave at the end of the stay.
It was our first weekend away and loved it.

Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leamington Spa, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 8, 2012

This guest house is dated but it does the job, friendly staff, room toilet & shower were clean and its in a fantastic location.Breakfast was really nice! Would stay again.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hilgay norfolk
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 26, 2011

we stayed on saturday theb 24th september, and had a great time my kids enjoyed meeting tom and playing with his toys, we felt at ease there because its family run and not at all like some of the stuck up places weve stayed in! thoroughly enjoyed it and would recommend! very nice breakfast! thanks for a great stay
louise and nicky robinson and family

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Devon,
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 stars Reviewed August 29, 2011

As soon as you walk through the door, the damp smells hits you and it's very off putting. There was no 'greeting' from the owners and had to actually ask him what his name was! Felt like unwelcome visitors intruding their home rather than a paying guest! Any communication was very 'cold'.
The stench of damp was incredible when entering the room! Can see why there are airfreshners all around the b&b and room now, and the windows left wide open. Not convinced the bedding had been changed from previous guests as it was so wrinkled, if it had, then obviously had never seen an iron. Only half the floor had been vaccumed as the other side where bits of fluff and crumbs on the rug! In one of the drawers inside the wardrobe were 2 wooden chip forks! These were never checked or cleaned then?? Skirting boards, light fittings and switches etc very dusty, and don't even get me started on the ventician blinds, omg!! The shower caddy was the most rustiest ever seen!
Breakfast one word communication again from the female owner 'morning', no asking how we were or how we slept, just very cold and unfriendly. The food wasnt that good and had to ask for tea/coffee rather than it being offered. After putting down the plates, she went and sat down to watch tv!! Unbelivable! What about your customers requirements at breakfast?? I see tv takes priority, so unprofessional! She never got up even when we finished eating. Check-out also cold, she had to move off the sofa from the tv, didnt open door, so glad to leave and will never come back unless its with the hotel inspector.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
kevinc99, Owner at Seamore Guest House, responded to this review, September 8, 2011
I'm not going to justify this 'review' with a detailed response - it isn't worth the effort.

Almost 2000 guests this year, and this is the first time we have had such complaints. I have my suspicions about this 'review' - we are not even a paying customer of TripAdvisor, so where this 'guest' came from I do not know.

I would advise any potential guests reading this 'review' to also look at us on the Late rooms website, as the reviews on there are more balanced in nature, not malicious.

If a guest really did have these issues, then the time to sort them out would have been during their stay, not anonymously on a website days/weeks later.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leicester, United Kingdom
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 5, 2011

We stayed at the seamore for 2 nights. a nice comfy double room and clean place. the breakfast was fab. owners were pleasant people. the guest house is perfectly situated close to a lot of the attractions and the town centre. it was perfect for a weekend get away.

thanks alot, B & C Leicester.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Seamore Guest House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Seamore Guest House

Address: 116 Wellesley Road, Great Yarmouth NR30 2AR, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > East Anglia > Norfolk > Great Yarmouth
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #61 of 100 B&Bs / Inns in Great Yarmouth
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
We are a family run guesthouse in the heart of Great Yarmouth's primary tourist area, close to the beach and the town centre. We have just 5 rooms: 1 single, 1 double and 3 family rooms. By early 2015, all rooms will be en-suite. We cater for all types of visitor, so whether you are on business, working in the area, visiting family/friends or you are here to sample the delights Gt Yarmouth has to offer, we will be happy to accommodate you. We aim to provide a clean, comfortable room and a great breakfast - your home from home. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Seamore Guest House Great Yarmouth, Norfolk

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Seamore Guest House, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.