We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A great relaxing week” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Merivon Guest House

The Merivon Guest House
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Save
You added The Merivon Guest House to your Saves list
The Merivon Guest House
4.0 of 5 Guest house   |   6 Trafalgar Road, Great Yarmouth NR30 2LD, England   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #3 of 100 Great Yarmouth B&B and Inns
London
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
“A great relaxing week”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 31, 2013

Never been to Great Yarmouth before, so thought I would give it ago. The Merivon was great from the moment we got there. Checked in amd went to room, which was a great size and had a cup of tea made by Jane. She was the kindest host I have meet. Was made to feel (and I certainly did) feel right at home. A perfect beakfast every morning. Will definitely return again

  • Stayed August 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

103 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    102
    1
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
6
61
Solo
0
6
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (19)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 30, 2013 via mobile

Have just come home after a 4 night stay at The Merivon and what a great stay it was. Jane could not be more friendly and helpful, nothing is any trouble and she goes out of her way to ensure every need is catered for and then more. We stayed in the superior double room which was lovely, comfy bed, leather sofa for watching the tv and also tea, coffee perculator, fresh ground coffee, biscuits, bottled water & Pringles all supplied ready & waiting for whenever you want it. The Merivon is situated only 5 mins walk from the town centre and a couple of minutes in the opposite direction to the beach and Great Yarmouth's golden mile. If you're staying in Great Yarmouth for one night or longer be sure to consider The Merivon, you wont be disappointed and I think you'll struggle to find a more friendly and helpful host. We'll definitely be returning.

  • Stayed August 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brentwood, United Kingdom
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 27, 2013

Stayed here for the August bank holiday weekend and it was amazing, on arrival Jane was so welcoming and friendly, sorted us out with a parking permit and showed us our room which was full of little touches like toiletries, water, sweets and crisps. Jane told us about breakfast and the time it was served and we was given keys.
Fantastic stay!! breakfast (local produce) was perfect, and as a pregnant vegetarian.. I ate and enjoyed the sausages at breakfast, they were that good! Jane spoke to us as if she has known us for ages and made us feel so welcome and comfortable there.

Would love to go back and really didn't want to leave...

Room Tip: We had room no1 which was a queen size four poster, and we loved it! liked being on the top floor so...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 25, 2013 via mobile

This is the second time we have stayed at the Merivan and definitely will not be the last. The rooms are so lovely and comfortable. Fresh water in rooms every day. Tea and coffee tray in room. And jane could not be any nicer. She so helpfull nothing is to much trouble for her.

  • Stayed August 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 24, 2013

I stayed for three nights (19th - 21st August) whilst working in Norfolk and I'll definately be booking again.
Nothing is too trouble for Jane, who goes out of her way to make sure you are comfortable and have everything you need or want. My room was at the back of the house, so fairly quiet despite the house being on a well used road and the bed is so comfy, I've never slept better away from home before.
Even at the height of the school holidays the parking permit system means there is no problems parking either.

Absolutely first class, Thankyou

  • Stayed August 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Walsall, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 22, 2013

This is an excellent guest house nothing too much trouble for Jane and Richard. Jane welcomed us at the door, took our cases to our room while I parked the car with the free car parking pass. Excellent breakfast each morning served with a smile. Nice clean room and towels, free wi-fi and well stocked complimentary drinks tray.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Barnsley
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 18, 2013

Nothing is too much trouble for Jane and Richard who take a real pride in making sure your stay is as comfortable and trouble free as possible, they cater for adults only, and many guests even leave the kids at home in order to stay here, superb breakfast, clean rooms and luxuriantly appointed beds and towels.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to The Merivon Guest House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Merivon Guest House

Address: 6 Trafalgar Road, Great Yarmouth NR30 2LD, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > East Anglia > Norfolk > Great Yarmouth
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 100 B&Bs / Inns in Great Yarmouth
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — The Merivon Guest House 4*
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Merivon Guest House, Great Yarmouth is in a ideal position on Trafalgar Road, just a stone's throw from the seafront and just across the beautiful St. George's Park from the town centre. We are a small, family-run guest house who cater for adults only. We have recently refurbished the entire property, so that rooms are modern with a contemporary twist. We have superking, doubles, twin & fourposter room, available for your comfort. Attention to detail is key at Merivon, and we hope you notice our little extra touches here and there. Freeview TV. DVD available. Fluffy dressing gowns in each room. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Venere, Despegar.com and Tingo so you can book your The Merivon Guest House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Merivon Guest House Great Yarmouth, Norfolk

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Merivon Guest House, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.