We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The best Hotel in Yarmouth” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Swiss Cottage

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Save
You added The Swiss Cottage to your Saves list
The Swiss Cottage
4.0 of 5 Bed and Breakfast   |   31 North Drive, Great Yarmouth NR30 4EW, England   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #33 of 102 Great Yarmouth B&B and Inns
GreenLeadersBronze level
Nottingham, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
“The best Hotel in Yarmouth”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 7, 2013

Your guaranteed a very warm welcome
The rooms are spotless and there is a very comfortable lounge
The food excellent
The hotel is within walking distance of the town
There is Wi Fi available
We go twice a year and would not think of going anywhere else in Yarmouth

Room Tip: Rooms overlooking the sea
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SwissCottage, Owner at The Swiss Cottage, responded to this review, June 9, 2013
Hello Maureen and Barry,
Thank you so much for the review. Hoping the weather will improve soon and will be good on your next visit.

kind regards

Bob and Barbara
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

79 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    70
    6
    0
    1
    2
See reviews for
8
52
9
5
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (19)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 23, 2013 via mobile

Thank you so much for your generosity and hospitality for the first night of our Great Yarberystwyth adventure. Very comfortable, clean room and wonderfully fuelling cooked breakfast. Would definitely recommend. Thank you Bob and Barbara x

www.justgiving.com/greatyarberystwyth

  • Stayed May 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SwissCottage, Owner at The Swiss Cottage, responded to this review, May 30, 2013
Hope all is going well and the legs are not giving up.
All the best
Bob and Barbara
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wellingborough, England, United Kingdom
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 23, 2013 via mobile

We stayed with Bob and Barbara on the first night of our 300 mile coast to coast challenge, and I'm glad we did!

Lovely accommodation, and such a warm and friendly welcome.

We'll be back in the future, for sure!

  • Stayed May 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SwissCottage, Owner at The Swiss Cottage, responded to this review, May 26, 2013
Nice to have Pete and Jodie here [and Pete's dad] for the start of their quest across the country. See our website for updates on their progress.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Midlands
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 16, 2013

I was very surprised by this little gem.

Lovely B&B with modern touch, clean and great sea views.

Only thing lacking was the showers which were lacking in power.

All in all i could live with this though and really enjoyed my stay.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SwissCottage, Owner at The Swiss Cottage, responded to this review, January 18, 2013
Hello,
Thank you for the review and hope to see you again. 2013 prices held at 2012's and existing guests have extra discount.
Regards
Bob and Barbara
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Coventry, United Kingdom
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 5, 2012

we booked a double and single room, but on arrival had to pay the difference to change to a double room, as single room was so tiny mum said she could not sleep in there as it was to claustrophobic, both rooms we were given were beautiful with sea views, our only minor moan is charged full rate for second room which only had one person in would of expected a small discount as room rate included breakfast for 2 persons in each room,
superb house keeping the bedding appeared to be ironed daily, also my mum PJ's looked like had been ironed
Would definatly stop again!!

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bicester, United Kingdom
2 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 29, 2012

The service is very friendly with a choice of single rooms, one on the ground floor and the other up a small flight of stairs. The rooms are clean and tidy with all the usual facilities. The location is second to none, with a lovely spacious park at the back and the front looking over the Waterways, with a few minutes walk to a quiet section of the beach. You can walk into Great Yarmouth for lunch & evening meals & it is the right 'end' of the town for driving into the Broads area and North Norfolk.
The website is user-friendly and it is easy to book.
The breakfasts are first class.
I have stayed several times and have been offered reductions in price due to this. Parking is secluded and safe.
Recommended for a short or long stay.

Room Tip: Book early to get a good choice
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Birmingham, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
53 reviews 53 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 29, 2012

We recently stayed here for one week in August- it was a fantastic stay. The bedroom was immaculate and very clean and the service that we received eas second to none. Every two days all the bed linen was changed and the towels changed every day. Breakfasts were very well cooked and extremely filling. The parking t the back of the guest house was excellent. This is a great B&B run by Bob and Babara and nothing is too much for them. they gave excellent advice and could not do enough to make our stay great. Its location is great if you need to be away from the hustle and bustle of the centre of Great Yarmouth. We would like to thank Bob and Barbara for all their efforts.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SwissCottage, Owner at The Swiss Cottage, responded to this review, August 30, 2012
We are glad you enjoyed your stay at Swiss Cottage. Thank you for the compliments.

All the best Bob and Barbara
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to The Swiss Cottage? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Swiss Cottage

Address: 31 North Drive, Great Yarmouth NR30 4EW, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > East Anglia > Norfolk > Great Yarmouth
Amenities:
Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #33 of 102 B&Bs / Inns in Great Yarmouth
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — The Swiss Cottage 4*
Number of rooms: 9
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Friendly, pleasant, attractive and welcoming, we invite you to stay in the relaxing surroundings of this, non smoking, Victorian Guest House. The rooms are tastefully decorated and the feeling is one of peaceful satisfaction. We are perfect for a stay in Great Yarmouth Norfolk. Swiss Cottage is on North Drive promenade with ample, free parking in an enclosed courtyard at the rear of the building. Come stay for a night or take advantage of the discounted breaks. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with T4B, Agoda, Booking.com and Odigeo so you can book your The Swiss Cottage reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Swiss Cottage Great Yarmouth, Norfolk

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Swiss Cottage, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.