We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely stay” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The White Lodge

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Save
You added The White Lodge to your Saves list
The White Lodge
3.0 of 5 Guest house   |   19 Marine Crescent, Great Yarmouth NR30 4ET, England   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
10% off room rate
Ranked #2 of 102 Great Yarmouth B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Leicester, United Kingdom
1 review
“Lovely stay”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 9, 2013

Stayed at the white lodge hotel for a couple of nights and would really recommend to anyone.great friendly people always there to help for whatever you may need. Beautiful room and fantastic breakfast.best place we have stayed in the uk in a long time was really impressed. My husband loved George the dog!

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

589 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    565
    21
    1
    1
    1
See reviews for
71
348
35
35
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (114)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 8, 2013

Wonderfull place to stay more than a home from home beds excellent food excellent the hostess wonderfull George the dog is the star of the whole place would rate it a10/10 .
Looked after my poorly partner like she was a Queen , Best place we have been would recommend without hesitation Thanks for a loverly stay

Stayed October 2013, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bedford, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 6, 2013

The White Lodge is a beautifully maintained bed and breakfast. We stayed in the "small" double room, but it was a lovely room with a generous sized shower in the ensuite and even had fresh flowers on the bedroom table. Jean and George were very friendly and welcoming. The cooked breakfast was huge and very tasty, even for my very picky other half. Can't fault anything and hope to be back.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dartford, England, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 4, 2013

Would definitely recommend this lovely little B&B to anyone of all ages. We were greeted by Jean, the fantastic Hostess and George the Dog and took a shining to them both instantly! The rooms and halls were beautifully maintained. Breakfast was very filling and loved the self service style of toast and juice. Jean took it to addressing us by name which made you more secure in the knowledge that she'd been a friend for a long time! All of the facilities were amazing and at such an awesome price! Because it is a little further away from the piers meant it was a lot quieter and allowed for a more peaceful night and day.

Room Tip: Room 7 has a lovely set of French doors onto the seaside with a Juliet balcony!
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bostonuk
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 29, 2013

Booked this last minute,Jean managed to shuffle bookings and fit my wife and I in.Spotless room, good facilities,breakfast excellent,cannot understand comments about making your own toast and coffee this is the norm in many 5* establishments! All the quests present during our stay seemed ok with this arrangement also nice to have hot toast when you require it.
I was concerned that the booking we made turned out to be during the Local race meeting and would be noisy we were amazed how quite and peaceful White Lodge was! A first rate stay.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nottingham, United Kingdom
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 28, 2013

This was our third stay at The White Lodge B&B, and as usual Jean and Eddie were exceptional hosts. We had room number 7 this time which had a lovely sea view and French doors, and as expected the room was immaculate.
Cooked breakfast was huge, with a good choice of Tea's and Coffee's, and as much toast as you could eat.
Jean even gave us some of her home made Banana and Date loaf to bring home with us this time it was yummy.
We look forward to our fourth visit next year.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chesterfield, England, United Kingdom
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 26, 2013

This was my husband Steve and my 3rd visit (we have already booked for next year), what can I say about White Lodge and the amazing Jean and Eddie, of course I am not going to miss out Gorgeous George.
From the beginning on our very first visit Jean made us very welcome, Nothing was too much trouble, she gave us tips on the best places to eat. Eddie was friendly and put us at ease straight away and George well he was truly wonderful.
This year everything was lovely and if possible more welcoming. Jean's attention to detail is wonderful she is not only an extremely graceful host but a dab hand at bandages as well,. I could wax lyrical about this fantastic establishment and hosts but I think the best thing you can do on reading this review is to visit them for yourself. However, just a few more points to mention I have never come across anyone who is as hard working. friendly and accommodating as Jean, Eddie and of course George, It is really a home from home and it speaks volumes that people like ourselves return year after year. (before we stayed here we had never stayed more than once in any establishment), each year we come back Jean has done more this year it was her tasty banana bread. We cannot recommend this establishment highly enough and are so looking forward to next year,

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to The White Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The White Lodge

Address: 19 Marine Crescent, Great Yarmouth NR30 4ET, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > East Anglia > Norfolk > Great Yarmouth
Amenities:
Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 102 B&Bs / Inns in Great Yarmouth
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — The White Lodge 3*
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The White Lodge accommodation and food is of a standard expected in a high-class hotel but with the addition of a more relaxed, personal service. All our 10 rooms have en suite showers, televisions and tea and coffee making facilities. Some rooms have sea views whilst others have French doors overlooking the gardens. The guest house has a lovely double room with a balcony where you can sit and relax and enjoy the sunshine. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Hotels.com and Priceline so you can book your The White Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The White Lodge Great Yarmouth, Norfolk

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The White Lodge, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.