We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Friendly but in need of some TLC” 2 of 5 stars
Review of Kirk Lea Guest House

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Save
You added Kirk Lea Guest House to your Saves list
Kirk Lea Guest House
303 Huddersfield Road | West Yorkshire, Halifax HX3 0PG, England   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #11 of 16 Halifax B&B and Inns
Buxton
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Friendly but in need of some TLC”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed August 4, 2014

We stayed here for 1 night in room 2. It was extremely noisy - road traffic from the main road directly below. The room was OK but there's a need for some new bedding and some redecoration. Breakfast was fine and the host was very friendly. But overall if we'd paid £50 for the two of us we'd have thought it reasonable value. At £64 it was over-priced and they should really be putting the profit into some much-needed redecoration.

Room Tip: Only choose room 2 if you have ear plugs or are used to a lot of road traffic noise
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KirkHalifax, Owner at Kirk Lea Guest House, responded to this review, September 4, 2014
Thank you for the feedback, sorry you were disturbed by the road noise. We are planning to redecorate some of the rooms in the near future. Thank you for the positive comments on the breakfast and staff. We do hope to see you again. Regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

26 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    15
    4
    2
    3
    2
See reviews for
6
5
9
5
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (5)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Halifax, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed June 29, 2014

A broken bed, a childish room, FILTHY bedding, the pillows stank! Thank goodness we didn't have breakfast ... The whole experience was depressing! Noisy, dirty when we complained the woman just shrugged and said " oh" Don't stay here ... Find another place ... Or sleep on the park up the road !!!

Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KirkHalifax, Owner at Kirk Lea Guest House, responded to this review, July 2, 2014
Thank you for the feedback, which really shocked us.
As soon as you notified us (on the second day) that the bed had broken it was replaced immediately. We did not blame anyone as these things happen.
As for the other comments, they are not true. You asked for a special rate as you did not want breakfast during your two day stay. You never mentioned anything was amiss the first morning when you had a chat. On the second and final day the bed was mentioned as broken. Sorry your experience was not to expectations and did not tie in with what you wrote.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Buckingham, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 16, 2014

A super b&b. I stayed for four nights helping my daughter to move into a house nearby.

My room and the public areas that I saw were very clean and tidy but, overall, the place is a bit seedy and could do with freshening up.

I stayed in room one, a clean, comfortable twin bedded room overlooking the side street and therefore reasonably quiet. It has a flat-screen TV with Freeview channels and tea/coffee making facilities.

Breakfast is superb - order the night before and it is cooked to order, hot, fresh and ready when you go down to the dining room In the morning - there is also a selection of fruit juices and cereals.

On street parking needs a permit - Kirk Lea will lend you one for the duration of your stay.

Overall - good value for money and friendly, much nicer than anonymous chain hotels.

Room Tip: It might be advisable to ask for a room that is not on the, very busy, Huddersfield Road.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KirkHalifax, Owner at Kirk Lea Guest House, responded to this review, February 18, 2014
Thank you for your comments. It is always a pleasure to look after visitors like you.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bedford, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
21 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 14, 2014

Run by freindly husband and wife team, situated on a very busy main road, traffic noise could be an issue to some . Have stayed in room one twice, clean and comfortable also resionably quiet. On street parking needing a permit issued by the b&b. Choice of places to eat short walk away.

Room Tip: If trafic noise is an issue then go for room one or a room not fronted by a very busy main road
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KirkHalifax, Owner at Kirk Lea Guest House, responded to this review, February 18, 2014
Thank you for your kind comments. We can move guests to different rooms if available. We look forward to meeting you again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 30, 2012

Kirk lea is an exceptional b and b. A warm and friendly welcome, helped instilled a home from home atmosphere. Location provided a perfect base for business as well as facilitating leisure activities. Overall i would recommend Kirk Lea, as breakfast was perfectly cooked and plentiful.

  • Stayed June 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
, Owner at Kirk Lea Guest House, responded to this review, July 1, 2012
Thank you for your pleasant comments. It was good to meet you and we look forward to seeing you again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Blackpool, United Kingdom
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
36 helpful votes 36 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 24, 2012

Rooms are quite pricey for what you get. Bathroom in serious need of professional maintenance as its grubby and falling to bits.
Indian owner not investing money in making a quality B&B experience!

  • Stayed May 2012
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KirkHalifax, Owner at Kirk Lea Guest House, responded to this review, June 6, 2012
Hi, thank you for your comments. We hope you enjoyed your stay otherwise and sorry if the bathroom was found not to be up to your standard. We’ve recently restarted the redecoration. Have a look at our recent photo’s on our website.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sturminster Newton, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed March 3, 2012

I made my reservation several months ago when invited to a Wedding nearby.
Before reserving, I read the web site thoroughly and was pleased with what I read hence my booking.
On arrival the alarm bells rang and that was just looking at this place from the outside. I was greeted by the very pleasant John and shown to my room. Although clean enough, the room was in a really bad state of repair and the decor was extremely tired to say the least.
When I go away, I expect a decent standard of accomodation and this fell way short. I was really annoyed as I had travelled a long way to get here. The Kirk Lea Guest House website is extremely misleading and there are lots of issues within the room I was due to stay in. The window would not close, there was a burn on the polystyrene light fitting and the floor was very uneven. The furniture was very worn and damaged and nothing matched at all, not an attempt to look "shabby chic" I can promise.
There have been some attempts to decorate by the current staff who are well aware of the appearance of the place and were very apologetic when I approached them with my impression of the place. They were helpful and could not have done more to assist me in finding a suitable alternative.
This review in no way reflects on John and Val who are lovely people and I wish them well for the future!.

Room Tip: Simply book somewhere else!
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, traveled solo
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KirkHalifax, Owner at Kirk Lea Guest House, responded to this review, March 7, 2012
Hi, Thank you for your comments. Agreed the staff at Kirk Lea Guest House are very helpful and always try to help. Sorry we were not up to your expectations. With regards to the furnishing, window closer and floor board that needs screwing down will be looked into this weekend, if the room is free. Thanks you.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Kirk Lea Guest House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Kirk Lea Guest House

Address: 303 Huddersfield Road | West Yorkshire, Halifax HX3 0PG, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Yorkshire > West Yorkshire > Halifax
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #11 of 16 B&Bs / Inns in Halifax
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A highly recommended bed and breakfast guest house in Halifax, for £32 per night with a full English breakfast included. Choose from good sized bedrooms with en-suite shower rooms or single bedroom with shower room and W.C. The comfort of your stay includes TV in all rooms, tea, coffee making facilities. Children of all ages are welcome. The Bed and Breakfast is situated on A629 with easy access to local towns and motorway network. There is an excellent public transport service to and from Halifax town centre with its bustling nightlife, theatres and cultural attractions. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline and Odigeo so you can book your Kirk Lea Guest House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Kirk Lea Guest House, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.