We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Absolutly awful!” 1 of 5 stars
Review of Manor Heath and Jungle Experience

Manor Heath and Jungle Experience
Manor Heath Road, Halifax HX3 0EB, England
01422 365631
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #10 of 13 Attractions in Halifax
Type: Outdoors
Attraction details
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
16 attraction reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
“Absolutly awful!”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed April 7, 2014

Everything was dead, no animals, and they now charge to get in which is ridiculious! would not go back or reccommend.

On another hand the Park is lovely, would reccommend a visit to the park!

Visited May 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

38 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    19
    10
    4
    3
    2
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Halifax, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
8 attraction reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“Butterfly world without the Butterflies”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed April 7, 2014

Don't get me wrong this is a very attractive place but i felt very hard done by.
We visited here to see the Butterfly World attraction. Place was small but the flowers was lovely. We saw Terrapins but NO Butterflies at all! We spent less than an hour here including a quick walk around the grounds. Like i said its lovely, but how can you have and advertise a Butterfly World with no Butterflies. If they had been some there, i am sure we would have spent longer there. Very disappointed.

Visited October 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Holmfirth, England, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
119 reviews 119 reviews
63 attraction reviews
Reviews in 75 cities Reviews in 75 cities
104 helpful votes 104 helpful votes
“Lovely Place”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 16, 2014

We stopped off here after reading abuout it with the biggest attraction for me the Jungle experience.There was a nice stroll down from the main entrance where the parking is with spring flowers filling large areas - lovely.
We decided we wanted to have something to eat so made our way to the flutterbies cafe which was quite busy. There were some tables in the cafe and some outside where, despite the cold, the majority of people were sitting. Pie with peas was on offer for £2 so my husband and I decided to try this along with a pot of tea for only £1.05. We were served by cheerful and helpful staff and enjoyed our lunch before setting off for the Jungle Experience.
The Jungle Experience was only £1 entry per person and I can only say that it represents excellent value and is a credit to Calderdale Council. There are quail running around the various sections which apparently were installed to eat the spiders which were eating the butterfly caterpillars. I hope they are doing a good job as we only saw three butterflies - one of them dead - but the ones we saw were huge and beautiful so let's hope that there are more to come as the weather warms up.
This is a beautiful and relaxing place - great to watch the turtles and fish swimming about in the pools and the vegetation is just what I would expect in a 'Jungle Experience.' I hope this side of things continues to be developed as an attraction because I can see it has a lot of potential and the kids love it!
We didn't get around to walking around the whole park but did note a large area of grassland where people were exercising their dogs - dogs are welcome elsewhere but should be on a lead.
There was also a wild flower of walk which at this time of year was very colourful. There was also a children's playground which appeared to be very popular.
The whole place appears to be wheelchair accessible but there are a lot of sloping areas to take into consideration.
There has been a lot of thought put into making this into the delightful attraction that it is and yes, it is well worth a visit and we will be back!.

Visited March 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
47 reviews 47 reviews
20 attraction reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
48 helpful votes 48 helpful votes
“A Beautiful park with good facilities”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 9, 2014

The park is well maintained, there are lots of beautiful spring flowers. We had a really pleasant day out ,the weather was beautiful when we visited . The butterfly centre is full of tropical plants , there are terrapins and small birds , entry is one pound per person.Unfortunately we did not see any butterflies, probably due to the time of year.There is a café in the park , the food and drinks are reasonably priced. There is also a large play area for the children. Well worth a visit

Visited March 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Huddersfield, United Kingdom
1 review
“brilliant day out for preschoolers”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 27, 2014

love it here the play area is great for all ages and the gardens are lovely then if you get too cold you can warm up in the jungle experience for just £1 where they have wonderful plants and amazing flowers

Visited February 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Manor Heath and Jungle Experience also viewed

 

Been to Manor Heath and Jungle Experience? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Manor Heath and Jungle Experience, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.