We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fantastic find!” 4 of 5 stars
Review of The Butchers Arms

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Save
You added The Butchers Arms to your Saves list
The Butchers Arms
143 Rochdale Road | Ripponden, Halifax HX6 4JU, England   |  
Hotel amenities
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Fantastic find!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 14, 2014

We were looking for somewhere to stay near to a restaurant we had found for our Anniversary in Ripponden. After days of searching different hotels, I stumbled across this little gem.

The apartment was extremely cheap for a full apartment. The rooms were completely spotless and had a great view across the roof of the building behind the pub, across to the countryside. We will definitely be visiting these apartments again for another short break as they were perfect for a night (or two) away.

There were only a couple of tiny things that I think could be improved:

1) There was only 1 bath towel and 1 hand towel provided for 2 guests (luckily we had read the other reviews and taken our own, but this could be improved);
2) There was not quite the adequate cooking utensils needed. No sharp knife for cutting/chopping or chopping board. But adequate pans, crockery etc;
3) There is only 1 mirror in the bathroom (again, having read other reviews before our stay, I took an extension lead with me, when we got there though I noticed that the mirror could be taken off the wall and moved into the bedroom, so not a major issue);
4) There is a dangerous piece of the carpet gripper rod sticking out of the carpet by the small step leading up from the living room/kitchen towards the bedroom and bathroom. Andy cut his toe quite badly on this in the middle of night and we did not have a first aid kit with us; and
5) The bedroom was extremely hot, as I think this Saturday was one of the hottest days of the year, and so a fan would have been really useful (another thing we could have just taken ourselves though).

As I said, these are very minor things and did not detract from the enjoyment of our stay.

We will definitely be back! :-) Thank you

Room Tip: The upstairs apartment is more spacious and has great views over the rooftops of the building behind...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

15 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    5
    6
    4
    0
    0
See reviews for
2
8
Solo
0
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (4)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Weston super Mare, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 12, 2014 via mobile

If you are on a tight budget then undoubtedly the Butchers Arms offers good value for money. However, a few additional inexpensive touches would make it a good stay for all tastes. The good things: washing machine useful if you're staying a while although there appeared to be no drying rack; pub next door; cheap and comfortable bed and it's nice to have the separate living area. The not so good: We stayed in a downstairs apartment, and found the traffic noisy when sitting in the lounge and there are no curtains so I can imagine its a bit cold in the cooler months. It's laminate flooring throughout which echoes and a rug or two would make it cosier. A dining table would have been nice as there is enough room and some additional saucepans and utensils as it is self catering accommodation and some room to store food. We were only given one bath towel between us, although we were given another one without any problem when we asked. As someone else has already commented, a mirror in either the bedroom or lounge would have been useful. It's a good 10 minute walk into village to nearest restaurants and shops. Probably longer back up the hill!

Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Luton, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 9, 2014

Spent 2 nights here (02-03 May 2014) and what a great place. The apartments were very clean and comfortable and had everything needed for our stay. Price was amazing - half the cost of local hotel rooms (and remember this is for a complete apartment not just a room). Lovely comfortable double bed - and with a pub attached next door - no need to stagger too far from one to the other!! Good sized shower room with loads of hot water. Just great.


Richard G - Luton

Room Tip: Try and get an upstairs apartment as a bit more quiet & better views.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pangbourne, United Kingdom
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 5, 2014

What a find! We visited for a family wedding May 2-4/2014 and were not disappointed. Half the price of nearby hostelries with the freedom of self catering and a traditional pub attached. Spectacular scenery and brilliant host.
Please, please put a mirror in the bedroom so us girls can use our hair dryers.

Room Tip: Be aware, there are many (steep) hills at this location. A car is essential unless you have packed g...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sheffield, England, United Kingdom
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 23, 2014

My wife and I stayed one night. The apartment was fine, if a little on the cold side (switching the heaters on/up soon sorted that). At £48 it was reasonable value for money. A little bit of milk and a few tea bags would have been nice (I suppose we could have asked), as there are no shops nearby. The lady was neither warm nor brusque - she did her job.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Blackpool, United Kingdom
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 25, 2014

we planned to stay here for 3 nights over new year, the room was very basic and had no homely atmosphere. we felt we had to be out and about all the time as sitting in the apartment was uncomfortable and souless. it was most defonatley a locals pub and area, we entered the butchers arms about 8pm the night before new years eve. as we opened the door to enter the pub we saw about 8 or 10 locals drinking at the bar, as we entered their conversation stopped they all turned around and stared at us making us feel very uncomfortable. they stared as we ordered 2 lagers and watched us as we stood there drinking. no one spoke a word, we had entered the twighlight zone. we couldnt wait to down the lager and leave. As Saddleworth Moors were very close by, my imagination began to go wild, i suggested to my partner it was a local area very similar to the film 'Hot Fuzz' and because i thought we might disappear off the face of the earth (very similar to the film Hot Fuzz) I insisted we went home on the morning of new years eve. Spending new years eve at home and feeling very safe. I am sure i was very wrong about The Butchers Arms and its locals and i am sure they are all very friendly and welcoming but we didnt want to stay around to find out. And as we are 2 women 1 of us being frightened of everything (me) i wont be staying there again

Room Tip: dont stay here unless you own a shot gun for defence
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leeds, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 18, 2013

We stayed one night , :
I only have a few moans, point 1, The ONLY mirror is in the bathroom, so how am I expected to use mirror & hairdryer at the same time !
Point 2, We were an adult couple staying, yet we were only given 1 towel between us !

Other than that it was a pleasant stay ( although the fridge should have been colder & maybe, put a rug down on the wooden floors to deaden the noise from people walking about upstairs)

Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to The Butchers Arms? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Butchers Arms

Address: 143 Rochdale Road | Ripponden, Halifax HX6 4JU, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Yorkshire > West Yorkshire > Halifax
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 7 Specialty Lodging in Halifax
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A beautiful grade 2 listed 18th Century building converted into gorgeous one bedroom apartments available for Bed & Breakfast. Located in the lovely village of Ripponden, fantastic walks available on your doorstep! Close enough to travel between Manchester, Leeds, Halifax & Huddersfield. The apartments have a double bedroom with en-suite bathroom, fully equipped kitchen including hob and oven, good sized living room with flat screen television.Continental Breakfast is included. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Odigeo so you can book your The Butchers Arms reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Butchers Arms, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.