We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Quality & Quantity” 2 of 5 stars
Review of The Rock Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Save
You added The Rock Hotel to your Saves list
The Rock Hotel
22 Broad Carr Lane, Hollywell Green, Halifax HX4 9BS, England (Formerly Rock Inn Hotel)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #9 of 11 Hotels in Halifax
West Yorks UK
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
“Quality & Quantity”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed October 13, 2012

Booked via Travelzoo and got a great offer, the offer was for a 5 course tasing menu which was excellent and hats off to the chef, however the courses were so small we needed a bowl of chips each to feel like we'd eaten.
Breakfast was the quantity very bland cooked breakfast but plenty of it
Rooms very poor and in line with the hotel 70's decor heavy wooden furniture bit grubby and need of a fortune spending on it, shower too small and the faulty door didn't allow you to get in and out properly.
Good value for the quality of the food, would we go again..no
Would say that the chef deserves a better restaurant and should move on

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

193 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    52
    54
    33
    27
    27
See reviews for
32
99
1
14
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (47)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Halifax, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 12, 2012

booked the honeymoon suite here and a meal after our wedding last year could not find 1 fault with the hotel we was looked after above and beyond what i expected the restaurant stayed open for us and we was well looked after by all the staff working during our stay

Room Tip: we booked the honeymoon suite and what a beautiful room
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Todmorden Yorkshire
Top Contributor
59 reviews 59 reviews
25 hotel reviews
Reviews in 31 cities Reviews in 31 cities
47 helpful votes 47 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 11, 2012

This place gets knocked by visitors but speaking as I found-- spotlessly clean and yes a hike to room 25 is was a good size again clean and warm-- yes the place need money spending on its but they are offering great money saving deals and we are in a reccession.Staff without exception made us welcome and did not show any trace of being hurried or under trained.Spoke with the Duty Manager who again was happy to chat and offer help.The resteraunt is suberb and the reason for our visit but the Hotel did not fail to give a good account for itself and its staff.
I heard other guests being helped with visits to the surrounding area and everyone we spoke to where happy.Its good to see a breakfast being restocked a little by little instead of stacked high at 7am and OMG at (
Thanks

Room Tip: room 25 is worth the hike as I belive the views from others wont be as good
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Berkshire UK
Top Contributor
150 reviews 150 reviews
25 hotel reviews
Reviews in 83 cities Reviews in 83 cities
65 helpful votes 65 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed October 9, 2012

We recently stayed for two nights and whilst we enjoyed the food, our overall experience was let down by the accommodation. Our room (12) was very small and cramped and a double bed that sagged in the middle. The decoration was drab and the sound proofing very poor. The cleaning was not very good either, as we found someone else's tablets on the floor and their handbag and travel bag in the wardrobe. The bathroom was worse, with mould around the shower cubical and a shower which you could only get a dribble of water from for the first few minutes every morning.
The quality of the food served in the restaurant was good, and the restaurant staff were friendly, cheerful and polite (unlike some of the reception staff). But going by the choice of different menus and food types we were offer, our impression was that the chef had "lost his way". Shame.
This said, the food and drink prices were very good for a hotel. But we will not be going back.

Room Tip: Ask what the room is like before you book, and check it out before accepting it and unpacking.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
England
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 8, 2012

Stayed here on a travelzoo offer, party of 8 all together. We were not disappointed, the food in the evening and breakfast was fantastic! the staff very friendly and helpful, and the rooms we had were clean. I think this hotel is a work in process, could smell new carpets as we walked in, and could see some painting had been done on the walls, but paintwork on the skirtings and door surrounds were chipped and needed refreshing. On the whole though, great value for money would definately go back again!

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Southend-on-Sea, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
38 reviews 38 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
55 helpful votes 55 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 7, 2012

What a mixture!At times , brilliant on other occasions truly "Faulty Towers".Apart from Leonie, Wendy and Jane-a dearth of experience. A number of inadequately trained youngsters full of cheerful enthusiam-all overworked.Lacks overall management direction.
Bedroom was adequate, bathroom tired, plenty of hotwater, hairdryer, toiletries,bottled water and biscuits each day are good touches. Inadequate ventilation system-hence the build-up of mould etc. and warning notices e.g. close bathroom door when showering to avert setting off fire alarm.Excellent 5 course taster menu for dinner. Buffet breakfast -a little luck was needed to get egg and bacon at the same time but a good selection. Should invest in a new toaster!Good restaurant manager on first night rightly proud of his chef and the splendid cheeseboard.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hook, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 4, 2012

The staff we meet were very cheerful and really helpful, the food was very nice, just a shame the room was a little tired, could do with an upgrade. The beer was very good, and the prices very fair, much better than most hotels, the area was lovely and we were lucky with the weather

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to The Rock Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Rock Hotel

Address: 22 Broad Carr Lane, Hollywell Green, Halifax HX4 9BS, England (Formerly Rock Inn Hotel)
Location: United Kingdom > England > Yorkshire > West Yorkshire > Halifax
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #9 of 11 Hotels in Halifax
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 27
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Rock Hotel is now Under New Management. The recently renovated and updated hotel is a beautiful 27 bedroomed Hotel and Restaurant, set in idyllic rural surroundings. The Rock Hotel has been resurrected and restored to its former glory, with a few modern twists and is now back as one of the finest eateries in the area. The Rock Hotel must be experienced to appreciate what we now have to offer. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Tingo so you can book your The Rock Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Rock Hotel Halifax
Rock Inn Hotel

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Rock Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.