We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A GEM! Fabulous,Friendly and Outstanding Value for Money!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Holdsworth House Hotel & Restaurant

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added Holdsworth House Hotel & Restaurant to your Saves list
Holdsworth House Hotel & Restaurant
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Holdsworth, Halifax HX2 9TG, England   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #3 of 11 Hotels in Halifax
Retford, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“A GEM! Fabulous,Friendly and Outstanding Value for Money!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 11, 2013

This hotel is a 'little gem' just outside Halifax. We went with friends and we were both upgraded to 'Suites' free of charge. We arranged a 2 night stay, with cream tea on arrival and dinner. Nothing disappointed from the warm, friendly welcome, the excellent facilities in the rooms, to the exceptional dinner menu. The menu cattered for every taste and the wine list was comprehensive. We found room for breakfast the following morning (though we don't know how) and once again this was outstanding, and set us up for the day ahead. All staff were helpful, friendly and couldn't do enough for you. We feel fortunate to have found this peaceful hotel with its exeptional atmosphere and beautiful grounds. We will certainly be back!! (Just hope I can pursuade my daughter to have her wedding there!)

Room Tip: Within easy reach of Halifax and M26.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HoldsworthHouse, Public Relations Manager at Holdsworth House Hotel & Restaurant, responded to this review, August 12, 2013
Dear colin p we very much appreciate your comments. We are also delighted you found Holdsworth House and that you enjoyed every minute of your stay. Everyone here will be very pleased to read your feedback and of course would be delighted to host your daughter's wedding. Just drop us a line if you want to come and meet our wedding coordinator Claire for an informal chat.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

493 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    338
    89
    43
    16
    7
See reviews for
77
187
18
98
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (88)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Huddersfield, England, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 6, 2013

We have just had our wedding at Holdsworth House and boy they throw a good party! Wonderful staff, can't do enough for you, stunning food impeccably served, and a lovely setting. We were a party of 110 and they managed this wonderfully. Tracey was brilliant. We choose this place for our wedding over a year ago and have visited many times in that year. Every time they have been warm and the food great. Everyone of our guests were so happy. No idea what the last review is all about!

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HoldsworthHouse, Public Relations Manager at Holdsworth House Hotel & Restaurant, responded to this review, August 9, 2013
Dear Alex A firstly many congratulations on your marriage. We had great pleasure in playing a part of your special day and are pleased you enjoyed it so much - wonderful.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Norwich, United Kingdom
2 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 6, 2013

I have never before felt the need to write a review about a hotel but we had such a wonderful stay here that it deserves to be mentioned. We were with friends who live locally and had highly recommended it. The old house is magical and surrounded by very pretty gardens. The weather was not very good so we had afternoon tea inside followed by an excellent dinner with family and friends. Our room although not very big was clean, quiet and well furnished with the most comfortable bed I've experienced in a long time. They sent us fresh milk for tea when requested and breakfast set us up for the long drive to Scotland. From booking through to checkout the quality there was lots of attention to detail. I would certainly recommend this hotel.



Massive thanks guys, will see you again soon.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HoldsworthHouse, Public Relations Manager at Holdsworth House Hotel & Restaurant, responded to this review, August 9, 2013
Thank you hopeyday for your very kind words and for taking the time to share them here. The team is very pleased to have made your stay special. Please return to see us again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
UK
Top Contributor
56 reviews 56 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 32 cities Reviews in 32 cities
35 helpful votes 35 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed August 5, 2013

This hotel is in serious need of the Hotel Inspector. It's not in the most salubrious area, I approached from the east and felt as if I was heading into a disused road rubble site at one point and it was not signposted coming in from Bradford. Everything is dated: the walls are decorated with job lots of hotel art - Dickensian scenes, still art of flowers, you know the score. It had all been thrown out from previous episodes of the Hotel Inspector. Some of them had holes in them or what I can only assume were fossilised nasal trajectories stuck to them. The room key fobs were enormous. Presumably to minimise the risk of the drunken wedding guests losing them. The doors, locks and keys were all reclaimed furniture from Grange Hill or Waterloo Road. With a superior room we had a bath, but where was the shower? there was aflat screen TV, but the £4.99 alarm clocks were straight from Argos. And a wardrobe so small it would have graced Ronnie Corbett's caravan. We couldn't have breakfast in the room, and didn't bother with the dining room; the bar was tucked away up one side of the two dining rooms and was a sad afterthought. I reckon Del and Rodney knocked it together with a Black and Decker workmate; supplies were ferried in...ice...I'll have to go and get some, gas? I'll have to get him to change it. Clearly Halifax needs more competition for hotels.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HoldsworthHouse, General Manager at Holdsworth House Hotel & Restaurant, responded to this review, August 9, 2013
Dear simonske35,

Thank you for staying and taking the time to review your experience at Holdsworth House.

I was most disappointed to read that you did not seem to enjoy your stay here at the hotel. As you will have seen the nature of the property is of a listed 400 year old Jacobean Manor House, and we feel it is important to do our very best to complement the age of the building with appropriate design choices.

In terms of the lack of availability of breakfast in your bedroom, i will of course be investigating your comments with the Food and Beverage Team, as we do offer this facility during breakfast times.

As ever though we welcome and value all feedback, as this helps us to improve the experience for future guests.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leeds, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
42 reviews 42 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 4, 2013

My husband and I stayed here for one night to celebrate my birthday. We had a lovely split level suite in this amazing period hotel.
We arrived slightly early, but our room was available for us to settle in immediately. We had prepared a picnic prior to our travel and we had it in the beautiful grounds of the hotel.
In our deal we had an allowance for the restaurant and after cocktails we enjoyed a wonderful meal accompanied by a great selection of wines.
Al in all we really enjoyed the whole experience and hope to be back soon.

Room Tip: The suites are well worth the extra on top the normal room rate.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HoldsworthHouse, Public Relations Manager at Holdsworth House Hotel & Restaurant, responded to this review, August 9, 2013
Dear Dawn O thank you for your Tripadvisor review of Holdsworth House, we appreciate it. and hope to see you again soon for more of historic Halifax. Regards from all the team.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jakarta, Indonesia
Senior Contributor
43 reviews 43 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 3, 2013

We visit here in August 2012, stayed for about 4 days.
It was really nice hotel, nice spacious garden as my dream house to be
but the room is small and we ended up staying at 2 floor room. Which means we have to climb up, climb down, and all over again. Nice bathroom, nice room decoration and stuff,
The breakfast is OK, not really a lot of selection but it was enough.
The tea time is also worth to try, full of sweet things tho
Walking distance to bus station.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HoldsworthHouse, Public Relations Manager at Holdsworth House Hotel & Restaurant, responded to this review, August 4, 2013
Dear Herawati1985 thank you for choosing Holdsworth House for your break, we are pleased you enjoyed your time with us and the history and setting of the place. As a listed building we are able to offer a variety of room sizes and encourage guests to discuss requirements with our reception team on booking so we can allocate you the best room for your stay. We hope you'll return again for more relaxation!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
UK
Top Contributor
73 reviews 73 reviews
45 hotel reviews
Reviews in 40 cities Reviews in 40 cities
32 helpful votes 32 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 3, 2013

Holdsworth house is a treasure. Arriving at this oasis of tranquillity was such a pleasure. The reception staff were wonderfully welcoming, making us feel very special. The room with a four poster bed and lots of natural light from the velux window made us feel very relaxed. The bathroom was very well equipped and very clean. We had a slight mishap with our welcoming glass of wine, the glasses managed to slide off the table and spill all over the wall and carpet. (Maybe ghosts) We were asked if we would like to sit in the garden and finish our drinks. The waitress then brought us two fresh glasses of wine which was gratefully received.
The dinner in the panelled room was delicious, so many wonderful choices it took us quite a while to choose. Our second day we wanted to visit the Bronte parsonage so the staff printed out a route map for us. We were meeting relatives the next night, so the reception staff recommended a taxi firm, which was punctual and courteous.
The two breakfasts we had were delicious, my favourite was the Yorkshire ham, poached eggs and tomatoes. All the staff were very friendly and always enquiring if we needed anything. We will definitely return again.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HoldsworthHouse, Public Relations Manager at Holdsworth House Hotel & Restaurant, responded to this review, August 4, 2013
Thank you PatsyIandin for your lovely review and your kind thought to share it with others. Our team will be very proud to have helped make your stay so special and we hope you'll return again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Holdsworth House Hotel & Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holdsworth House Hotel & Restaurant

Address: Holdsworth, Halifax HX2 9TG, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Yorkshire > West Yorkshire > Halifax
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Family Hotel in Halifax
#3 Business Hotel in Halifax
#4 Romantic Hotel in Halifax
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Holdsworth House Hotel & Restaurant 4*
Number of rooms: 39
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Halifax's only four-star hotel is now listed in the 2013 Michelin Guide along with the country's elite hotels & restaurants. Holdsworth House is a beautiful Jacobean manor built in 1633, which has been owned and run by the Pearson family for 50 years. The manor stands in stunning, secluded gardens and is just three miles north of Halifax. It feels a world apart from the bustle of everyday life and is a perfect choice for accommodation, weddings and conferences. In this beautiful old house you'll find open fires, cosy lounges, fine antiques and tapestries that create a sense of history and comfort. The 39 charming bedrooms are all ensuite and have all been individually furnished. Dinner is served by candlelight in the 17th Century, oak-paneled 2 AA Rosette-winning restaurant whilst the Long Bar has a simpler brasserie style menu. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Hotels.com, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Travelocity, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Holdsworth House Hotel & Restaurant reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holdsworth House Hotel And Restaurant
Holdsworth Hotel Halifax

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Holdsworth House Hotel & Restaurant, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.