We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent experience” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Holdsworth House Hotel & Restaurant

Save Saved
You added Holdsworth House Hotel & Restaurant to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Holdsworth House Hotel & Restaurant
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Holdsworth, Halifax HX2 9TG, England   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #3 of 11 hotels in Halifax
UK
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Excellent experience”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 10, 2013

My recent stay at Holdsworth House Hotel could not have been better! The hotel itself was charming and my room was delightful. During my stay, there was a wedding on each day, but each one was skilfully managed by the staff and guests not involved in the celebrations were able to enjoy the quiet atmosphere and surroundings of the hotel. All the staff were extremely helpful and very friendly, and all worked incredible hard to ensure everyone had an enjoyable stay or event. I was especially impressed by the receptionist, Mikhaila, the manager Phil and the restaurant manager, Kat, for whom nothing was too much trouble. Also had two excellent meals in the restaurant. Highly recommended!

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HoldsworthHouse, Public Relations Manager at Holdsworth House Hotel & Restaurant, responded to this review, July 11, 2013
Dear Wanderer016 thank you for staying with us, we appreciate every guest choosing our historic hotel whether it is for s short break, wedding or dinner out. We hope you'll look us up again when you're in need of some relaxation and TLC!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

450 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    317
    74
    40
    12
    7
See reviews for
71
173
18
89
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (81)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Northallerton, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 9, 2013

A lovely, hotel with lots of small, public rooms which makes it very cosy.
The staff on reception couldn't have been more helpful.
I wouldn't exactly call it a 'country hotel' as it backs onto a housing estate, but there are lovely country walks and a reservoir nearby.
I would certainly consider staying again if in the area.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HoldsworthHouse, Public Relations Manager at Holdsworth House Hotel & Restaurant, responded to this review, July 11, 2013
Dear HeatherH thank you for choosing Holdsworth House and for sharing your review on Tripadvisor. We hope you'll mention us to family and friends who are looking for accommodation in West Yorkshire.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Birmingham, United Kingdom
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 6, 2013

I can not fault this hotel. Everything was of the highest order. From the cleanliness of the rooms to the comfortable beds from the fantastic food to the very helpful professional staff.so if you want to loose yourself in old world charm, then look no further.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HoldsworthHouse, Public Relations Manager at Holdsworth House Hotel & Restaurant, responded to this review, July 11, 2013
Thank you 800Richard, we are honoured to have our guests rate us as the best hotel in Yorkshire. Thank you for staying at our historic manor and we hope to see you again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Liverpool, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 6, 2013

Booked this as a value weekend away with a voucher from Amazon Local and it exceeded our expectations.

From the excellent 7 course taster menu on the evening of our arrival, to the champagne cream tea we had the next day. We were going to eat out on the evening of the second day, but as the food had been that good we decided to stay and eat in the the restaurant again.

A understandably popular wedding venue, there were 2 on while we were there but this did not detract from the service or quality of the food we were served.

It may be a bit off the beaten track but worth a visit and surprisingly rural.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HoldsworthHouse, Public Relations Manager at Holdsworth House Hotel & Restaurant, responded to this review, July 11, 2013
Dear Kevin M thank you very much for your review. We are thrilled when new guests discover our hotel and have a wonderful stay. We hope hull come back again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Vic
Top Contributor
54 reviews 54 reviews
53 hotel reviews
Reviews in 50 cities Reviews in 50 cities
37 helpful votes 37 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 2, 2013

We stayed at this hotel for two nights and our experience of it was hugely influenced by the rooms we had. On arrival we were allocated a suite in the newer wing, which was on two levels with the bed upstairs and the bathroom, wardrobe and sitting area downstairs. It was probably the most inconveniently laid out hotel room we had ever encountered, and rather charmless in the downstairs part with a view of the large carpark. We asked about changing, but as we had checked in at about 5.30 on a Saturday and a large wedding party was in the hotel, there was only one very small other room available. As it was a special wedding anniversary for us the next day
we were very dubious about staying, but given the time and the lack of alternatives in the area we decided to give it a try. The staff were extremely helpful and moved us for the second night of our stay to a very charming suite in the old part, on one level and very close to reception (which had the added bonus of improving the wifi service beyond recognition). They were also able to offer an excellent laundry service on a Sunday. We ate in the restaurant both nights and, although the service was sometimes a bit erratic, we were very happy with the standard of the food. The gardens were lovely, and by the time we left we had decided it was a very nice hotel. Perhaps if you want to experience this hotel at its best it might be good to avoid weekends, when weddings are obviously an important part of the business.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HoldsworthHouse, Public Relations Manager at Holdsworth House Hotel & Restaurant, responded to this review, July 22, 2013
Dear SallyandHarry, firstly thank you for choosing Holdsworth House for your trip to Yorkshire. The Suite you were allocated at first is usually very popular and a huge selling point because of its unique layout, so I am sorry it wasn't right for you. We are pleased that our team was able to resolve the issue by reallocating you a room at the earliest opportunity. It's great that you enjoyed dining here as our new restaurant manager, Kat, is working hard to ensure we deliver high service standards.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
North Yorkshire
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 2, 2013

The hotel was recommended to me by a work colleague who uses the hotel regularly.

With free parking and wi.fi and set in its own grounds just five minutes drive from Town, the hotel is full of character and charm, is very clean and has a restaurant with a very good menu.

I was greeted by Zoe in reception with a smile and lots of friendly chat and information about the hotel. What an asset to the place, she obviously loves her job.

The room was small but had everything you could need, the bed was very comfortable with very good quality bedding.

I had a very good nights slept and left after a lovely breakfast....... And all for a similar price to the budget hotels in the Town centre.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HoldsworthHouse, Public Relations Manager at Holdsworth House Hotel & Restaurant, responded to this review, July 3, 2013
Dear Sasencas thank you for giving Holdsworth House a try, we are very grateful that many of our bookings come on recommendation. We hope you'll return again if you're in Halifax on business, and as you say - why pay the same elsewhere for so much less?
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Yorkshire
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 1, 2013

I got married here in June 2013. I will remember this day always and for all the right reasons!

The staff here are fabulous, much more than just professional and helpful, they are really friendly too and this made a huge difference to me on my big day!

The wedding breakfast was gorgeous, there were 24 of us and every single guest said how nice the food was and there were lots of comments about the good service too.

15 of us stayed over and breakfast the following morning was enjoyed by all. The breakfast room was bathed in sun and was a great way to end a wonderful experience. It's here I would like to mention that one of my guests was enjoying the grounds very early in the morning and was impressed when staff brought him an early morning 'cuppa' out!

The grounds are very well kept, and as we were lucky enough to have sun we were able to make good use of them for our pictures! The interior has a lovely romantic feel and although it was a warm sunny day all the fires were lit, which added further to it's charm. It's a gorgeous old house and if you are thinking of getting married it really is the perfect venue.

I only have two negative comments, both tiny and in no way was our day spoilt by either. The first was the music played during the service, it was played so low that no one heard it! We had to be told to come down the steps as we had no idea the music had started! The second is regarding the bathroom in the bridal suite, it's just a little dated, and could do with a little love and attention.

Even though I am within 12 miles of Holdsworth House I would stay here again. We may book a room for our 1st anniversary! It really is a charming place. Be proud of your staff their friendly service does your gorgeous hotel justice.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HoldsworthHouse, Public Relations Manager at Holdsworth House Hotel & Restaurant, responded to this review, July 3, 2013
Hello Jeanie68 thank you for choosing Holdsworth House for your wedding, we are thrilled you had such a wonderful time here in Halifax with us. Plans are already afoot to enlarge the bathroom in the bridal suite. Work is due to begin as soon as we enlarged as soon as we can squeeze it in between weddings.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Holdsworth House Hotel & Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holdsworth House Hotel & Restaurant

Address: Holdsworth, Halifax HX2 9TG, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Yorkshire > West Yorkshire > Halifax
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Family Hotel in Halifax
#3 Business Hotel in Halifax
#4 Romantic Hotel in Halifax
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Holdsworth House Hotel & Restaurant 4*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Halifax's only four-star hotel is now listed in the 2013 Michelin Guide along with the country's elite hotels & restaurants. Holdsworth House is a beautiful Jacobean manor built in 1633, which has been owned and run by the Pearson family for 50 years. The manor stands in stunning, secluded gardens and is just three miles north of Halifax. It feels a world apart from the bustle of everyday life and is a perfect choice for accommodation, weddings and conferences. In this beautiful old house you'll find open fires, cosy lounges, fine antiques and tapestries that create a sense of history and comfort. The 39 charming bedrooms are all ensuite and have all been individually furnished. Dinner is served by candlelight in the 17th Century, oak-paneled 2 AA Rosette-winning restaurant whilst the Long Bar has a simpler brasserie style menu. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Orbitz, Priceline, Tingo, BookingOdigeoWL and Venere so you can book your Holdsworth House Hotel & Restaurant reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holdsworth House Hotel And Restaurant
Holdsworth Hotel Halifax

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Holdsworth House Hotel & Restaurant, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.