We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wedding weekend” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Holdsworth House Hotel & Restaurant

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added Holdsworth House Hotel & Restaurant to your Saves list
Holdsworth House Hotel & Restaurant
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Holdsworth, Halifax HX2 9TG, England   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #4 of 11 Hotels in Halifax
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Huddersfield, United Kingdom
1 review
“Wedding weekend”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 19, 2012

We stayed at Holdsworth House for my son's wedding, and had a wonderful experience from start to finish. The organisation and service were excellent, with staff going out of their way to be helpful and pleasant. Our room was lovely, clean and comfortable, the four-poster bed was an unexpected luxury. The wedding reception food was very good, and efficiently served. Breakfast was excellent. I would certainly recommend Holdsworth House.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HoldsworthHouse, Public Relations Manager at Holdsworth House Hotel & Restaurant, responded to this review, December 20, 2012
Dear Eclair-2012 thank you for your review of Holdsworth House. We are truly delighted that your son's wedding was as wonderful as you hoped. We wish you all a very merry Christmas and happy New Year.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

561 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    376
    110
    48
    20
    7
See reviews for
88
221
18
106
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (101)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Yeadon, England, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
32 helpful votes 32 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 6, 2012

I stayed at Holdsworth House whilst in Halifax on business. Having stayed in a lot of hotels with work I have to say this was a really refreshing change. The room was lovely and comfortable and the food was fantastic. The real bonus was the staff who couldn't do enough for me especially when I had to organise a parcel to be delivered at short notice. In a nutshell it beats most modern, generic hotels hands down.

Room Tip: The room I stayed in was great, if calling to book ask the staff for the best one.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HoldsworthHouse, Public Relations Manager at Holdsworth House Hotel & Restaurant, responded to this review, December 7, 2012
Thank you Ashley B for choosing Holdsworth House for your Halifax business trip. We really do appreciate it. We're so pleased you loved our historic hotel and that it made a welcome change to the modern day corporate hotel!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Málaga, Andalucia, Spain
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 6, 2012

We stayed at Holdsworth house for a short break, the service, food, location and hospitality were all first class.
We did the "Bronte Break", got the tickets for the Bronte Parsonage museum and it was fantastic.
We can defiantly recommend Holdsworth House and will be returning.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HoldsworthHouse, Public Relations Manager at Holdsworth House Hotel & Restaurant, responded to this review, December 7, 2012
Dear Robert W, thank you for visiting Holdsworth House during your Europe travels, we're so pleased you loved our historic hotel and we hope to welcome you again in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Scunthorpe, United Kingdom
2 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 30, 2012

Beautiful hotel, my family took over most of the hotel for my daughters wedding.Staff could not have been more helpful, altering rooms and requirements at short notice to accommodate our needs. As a wedding venue perfect. Food excellent, catered for 65 and all foods delivered perfectly. Recommend to others, definitely. Thank you to all the staff for making our special day that little bit more special.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HoldsworthHouse, Public Relations Manager at Holdsworth House Hotel & Restaurant, responded to this review, December 3, 2012
Thank you Carolynhallam for your wedding business and for your very kind review. We love hosting weddings and always offer to help in every way we can to ensure all guests have a wonderful time. We'll pass your comments on to chef, who will of course be delighted.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bradford, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 27, 2012

I recently stayed at Holdsworth House for my step dads 60th Birthday. We had a lovely meal and the room was excellent. Really clean with a lovely 4 poster bed and a sofa. The fires were lit in the communal areas and this added a really cosy olde worlde feel to the place. Although it was pouring it down for the entire stay I managed to check out the grounds, which were stunning and well lit. The staff were friendly, polite and helpful. As a result of this trip I want to have my wedding here. Cannot recomend highly enough

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HoldsworthHouse, Public Relations Manager at Holdsworth House Hotel & Restaurant, responded to this review, December 3, 2012
Dear Emma T, thank you very much for coming to Holdsworth House for your step dad's party, we are so pleased that you all had an enjoyable time. Of course we would be honoured to host your wedding here too and do hope that we have a date to suit you. We hope you'll all be back again soon, maybe for a 61st celebration! Kindest regards, the team at Holdsworth House.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
london
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
94 helpful votes 94 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 19, 2012

Recently stayed at the hotel, the service was excellent and the rooms very comfortable. We ate in the restaurant and the food was fantastic. A hidden gem which was unexpected. Definitely worth a stay if you are in the area.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HoldsworthHouse, Public Relations Manager at Holdsworth House Hotel & Restaurant, responded to this review, November 22, 2012
Thank you for your very kind comments regarding your stay at Holdsworth House in West Yorkshire. We have special offers for winter breaks so we hope you will join us again in Halifax.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 11, 2012 via mobile

Sunday Lunch excellent food well presented, tasted and cooked to perfection good choice on the menu to suit all tastes. All the staff make you feel special with service that is excellent and non intrusive. Sitting by the fire for coffee in a comfy seating just perfect thank you Holdsworth house for making my husbands birthday a lunch to remember

  • Stayed November 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HoldsworthHouse, Public Relations Manager at Holdsworth House Hotel & Restaurant, responded to this review, November 12, 2012
Thank you for taking the time to complete a Tripadvisor review of the Holdsworth House restaurant. Our new menus are already proving popular so hope you'll return to try some more of our new dishes.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Holdsworth House Hotel & Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holdsworth House Hotel & Restaurant

Address: Holdsworth, Halifax HX2 9TG, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Yorkshire > West Yorkshire > Halifax
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Business Hotel in Halifax
#4 Family Hotel in Halifax
#4 Romantic Hotel in Halifax
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Holdsworth House Hotel & Restaurant 4*
Number of rooms: 39
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Halifax's only four-star hotel is now listed in the 2013 Michelin Guide along with the country's elite hotels & restaurants. Holdsworth House is a beautiful Jacobean manor built in 1633, which has been owned and run by the Pearson family for 50 years. The manor stands in stunning, secluded gardens and is just three miles north of Halifax. It feels a world apart from the bustle of everyday life and is a perfect choice for accommodation, weddings and conferences. In this beautiful old house you'll find open fires, cosy lounges, fine antiques and tapestries that create a sense of history and comfort. The 39 charming bedrooms are all ensuite and have all been individually furnished. Dinner is served by candlelight in the 17th Century, oak-paneled 2 AA Rosette-winning restaurant whilst the Long Bar has a simpler brasserie style menu. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Expedia, LateRooms, TripOnline SA and Priceline so you can book your Holdsworth House Hotel & Restaurant reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holdsworth House Hotel And Restaurant
Holdsworth Hotel Halifax

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Holdsworth House Hotel & Restaurant, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.