We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Yes, we will be back to this one.” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Over the Bridge Bed & Breakfast

Over the Bridge Bed & Breakfast
We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Halifax
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Over the Bridge Bed & Breakfast
Save
You added Over the Bridge Bed & Breakfast to your Saves list
Ripponden, Halifax HX6 4DF , England   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #2 of 16 Halifax B&B and Inns
Oxford, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
35 reviews 35 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
“Yes, we will be back to this one.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 3, 2013

Proprietor Trevor was been an engaging person during the simple booking process and he lived up to this when we arrived late in the evening in appalling weather. He had us quickly installed in a very comfortable room which was well appointed. Next morning, breakfast was top notch and conversation with the other guests was great. The property is in the centre of Ripponden, below street level and really interesting, so much so that we spent nearly two hours the next morning exploring. We just love the yorkshire history, especially as we lived nearby for a number of years and 'really get it'. We have a very new grandson just five miles away and expect to be back at 'Over the Bridge' regularly.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Trevor C, Owner at Over the Bridge Bed & Breakfast, responded to this review, November 4, 2013
Many thanks for your kind review . So glad you enjoyed your stay with us and look forward to seeing you again.
Thank you
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

31 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    30
    1
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
4
14
3
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (10)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
WIGAN
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
63 helpful votes 63 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 21, 2013

Beautiful place to stay, a real picture post-card. The B & B is located in a fabulous spot, right on the river overlooking the old church. A stone humped-back bridge crosses the river where you will find the one of the oldest pubs in the area, the equally fabulous Bridge Inn. The accommodation is spotlessly clean and very well appointed with nothing left to chance. We were looked after by Carol, who was running the place whilst the owners were away, and she could not have been more pleasant and friendly. The rooms (only four) vary in size and price are very comfortable, with everything you would expect from a top-class B & B. The breakfasts are cooked to order and are delicious. Thanks to all concerned.

Room Tip: The Bridge Inn is a must for great beer and food.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Trevor C, Owner at Over the Bridge Bed & Breakfast, responded to this review, July 22, 2013
Many many thanks for your kind review. So glad you enjoyed your stay. It's so nice. To hear that Carole, the lady who looks after the guest house when we are away looks after it very well. We look forward to seeing you again
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 2, 2013

We had a lovely time at the Bed & Breakfast 'Over The Bridge'.

We received a very warm welcome from Trevor and Guy.

Trevor made sure we had everything we needed and more, by pointing us in the direction of local pubs and restaurants to visit.

The room (The Ryburn) was superb. A real treat. We had everything from tea, coffee, biscuits to Molton Brown wash products. And much to my boyfriends delight an iphone dock/charger. A sight for his sore eyes as he can't live without his iphone.

The bed was most comfy too. A very good and restful night's sleep was had by the both of us.

Breakfast was great. We chose a continental but could have had a full English or a 'Tubby special' as well as other choices of scrambled egg on toast etc.
Next time we will have the full English I'm sure.

A lovely, charming little cottage which is run by fantastic, helpful and funny people.

We can't wait to come back.

Thanks for everything.

Room Tip: Speak to Trevor as he will be best able to guide you to what you want from your visit.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Buxton, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
155 reviews 155 reviews
22 hotel reviews
Reviews in 55 cities Reviews in 55 cities
83 helpful votes 83 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 25, 2013

We stayed here for one night and stayed in the Ryburn room it was very comfortable and a very generous size. The tea and coffee facilities were also very good plenty of everything.
The bathroom had a nice view of the river and the toiletries were Molton and Brown very nice.
Breakfast was upstairs my husband had the full english and I had the over the bridge special a yorkshire pudding filled with smoked salmon and scrambled eggs topped with hollandaise and dill very yummy. I would definitely recommend this B&B and would stay again.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
west yorks
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 6, 2013

Here we are again having just returned from our latest trip to over the bridge bed and breakfast in the beautiful village of ripponden. Even after making many trips to ripponden and staying at this fab place we always have such a great time , trevor and guy the proprietors of this top quality establishment are the perfect hosts ,and do their utmost to make your stay as enjoyable and comfortable as possible . We have stayed in many locations and venues over the years and can truly say that this quaint B and B is by far the best we have stopped at and would recommend it to anyone .From the warm welcome on arrival to beautiful rooms plus the breakfasts which are to die for what more could you possibly need, here's to our next pilgrimage to over the bridge.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tulsa
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 31, 2013

A friend and I had booked two nights here in mid-March. Thanks to a late winter snow we were "stranded" for two additional nights. After the first two days we were more than happy to stay longer. A very clean and comfortable establishment, run by a witty and friendly Trevor, who is an exceptional cook. Also enjoyed a snowy walk in the beautiful West Yorkshire hills, and food and drink at the Old Bridge Inn. Must return!

Room Tip: Get a good map in order to find Rippendon. Good directions to B&B on web site. Get Trevor's...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 8, 2013

Over the Bridge is a charming B&B in the village of Ripponden. The room was immaculate with excellent amenities from Molton Brown products in the bathroom to the little box of items you sometimes forget eg toothbrush etc.

A fantastic selection for breakfast, the usual full English with local produce and Trevor's specialty that you'll have to find out for yourself.

Again the quality of the products is excellent with good quality china, cutlery and glassware, and I was particularly impressed with Wilkin & Son Jam of Tiptree.

Having worked and stayed in 5* hotels around the world, this was certainly one of the best for its category. Trevor, you are a credit to the hospitality industry and should be very proud of your business.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Over the Bridge Bed & Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Over the Bridge Bed & Breakfast

Address: Ripponden, Halifax HX6 4DF , England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Yorkshire > West Yorkshire > Halifax
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 16 B&Bs / Inns in Halifax
Number of rooms: 4

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Over the Bridge Bed & Breakfast, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.