We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Northern Hospitality” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Crossroads Inn

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Save
You added Crossroads Inn to your Saves list
Crossroads Inn
4.0 of 5 Bed and Breakfast   |   West Hill Road, Mount Tabor Road | Wainstalls, Halifax HX2 7TB, England   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #3 of 14 Halifax B&B and Inns
East Grinstead, United Kingdom
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Great Northern Hospitality”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 5, 2012

Used hotel as a base for a visit to friends. Peter and Jayne were wonderful hosts. Very warm friendly atmosphere, good food and good accommodation. Also, highly recommend the music nights. We arrived back at the hotel on the Saturday at 10pm when the music was in full swing it went on until midnight, a great night was had by all!

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

85 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    76
    4
    0
    1
    4
See reviews for
18
26
3
13
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (17)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Sheffield, England, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 14, 2012

Came across the information on Late Bookings, and glad we did! Although it took us a little while to find the property, we were given a very warm welcome, shown to a lovely well equiped room with beautiful views. The food at the inn was excellent with a good choice on the menu, we ate there both nights. Breakfast very good, lovely local produce. Only a few miles from Howarth, Hebden Bridge and Halifax, so plenty of places to visit. The surrounding countryside is so beautiful, and good weather helped!

Room Tip: Compact room, we had room 5, but well equiped. Need transport to get about as location fairly remote...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 13, 2012 via mobile

Booked the Crossroads Inn last minute for a business trip and am very pleased I did, warm welcome from staff, shown facilities and taken to a nice room in what is a lovely hotel/pub in a beautiful location.

We had planned to go out for food but after the warm welcome we decided to eat there which did not disappoint, reasonably priced and very tasty.

Greeted by the friendly owner for breakfast and the feeling of being welcome continued - thanks Pete.

All in all an enjoyable stay and wish the new owners every success that they deserve for their efforts.

Stayed September 2012, traveled on business
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alton, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 23, 2012

This Pub/Hotel is situated high on the Moors near Halifax, Stunning views and warm welcome to all. The rooms are very clean and very well equipped and well suited to a good nights rest. The food is superb,loads of it,well cooked and presented and very well priced.Great bar with a very warm welcome from " mine hosts"! Superb spot to use for journeys into Yorkshire. I will return!!

Room Tip: Ask for view over the moors towards Halifax
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
bolton
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 15, 2012

From the phone call of initial enquiry to the final goodbye the hosts and staff at the Crossroads Inn gave us a seemless stay. In looking on the internet we accidentally came across the previous owners website, with incorrect contact details, but it was well worth not giving up and doing that extra search to find the new website.
Wanting a same day booking we rang to discuss availability, and whilst we were too late to get exactly what we wanted, the warm welcome and helpfulness over the phone was enough to encourage us to compromise on a different room. That warm welcome continued throughout our stay in this small friendly hotel. The room was modern, cared for, spotlessly clean and ideal for our needs. The way it was set up for a new arrival certainly didn't have the feel of 'going through the motions'.
As we were going to a nearby function we decided getting some food in advance would be a good idea, so chose to have a 'lighter meal' off the menu. Neither of us could fault our scampi or spiced battered chicken in a basket - great quality, ample portions and a 'the basket' providing a wonderful memory of bygone hilidays as a child. (However having looked at the menu, and the food passing out table this looks a great place to eat even if you choose to have your meal on a plate!!). Added to that a pint of dark mild from their speciality cask ales, what more could you ask for to prepare for a night ouT. Breakfast followed in a similar vein. Not all English Breakfasts are the same and this was by far the best I have had in a hotel for many a year. Of course there were the usual non cooked options available also, which given the fact that the inn only has six rooms, had a generous range of choices.
And finally being in the middle of nowhere, with fantastic views, this small hotel has immediate charm. Peter, Jayne and the staff team just added to that charm throughout. A little comment here and there goes a long way - and they struck the balance between regularly checking our stay was ok for us without being overbearing prefectly.
Just wish we had an excuse to be in the middle of nowhere more often.

Peter and Paul

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bromborough, United Kingdom
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 1, 2012

We stayed one night as planned. The weather was appalling but the greeting was very warm and personable. Pete & Jayne made us feel right at home. As the weather was so bad we decided not to go out to eat in the evening but stayed put - a good decision as the food was terrific. The rooms may be quite small, but they are very well appointed (some beautiful local prints) and the place was immaculately clean throughout. The bar and restaurant staff were all very helpful and pleasant. Agree with Carolyne D's comments wholheartedly. We both loved the place and have no hesitation in recommending it.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Keighley, United Kingdom
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 26, 2012 via mobile

Called in for a quick pint on my way to Halifax. Had heard that it was under new management which I can confirm and that the new guys have been in for a few months! The beer was fantastic and the service welcomingly warm! Wish I'd had time to stay for lunch the food coming out of the kitchen looked and smelled amazing! Will definitely be back to check this place out soon. A huge improvement over the last tenants! more over the view of the local countryside was just breathtaking! A lovely sunny friday afternoon enjoyed! Thanks!

Have put a 5 stay rating for rooms even though I didn't stay because the app won't let me enter my review without completing that section but if they are like the rest of the business I'm sure they deserve it.

  • Stayed May 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Crossroads Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Crossroads Inn

Address: West Hill Road, Mount Tabor Road | Wainstalls, Halifax HX2 7TB, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Yorkshire > West Yorkshire > Halifax
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 14 B&Bs / Inns in Halifax
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Crossroads Inn 4*
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Crossroads Inn has recently been totally refurbished throughout and now offers a comfortable dining environment and relaxed bar area. Set on the Pennine Moors between Halifax, Haworth and Hebden Bridge with breathtaking views of the Yorkshire valleys. The Crossroads Inn has what everyone looks for in a good quality establishment. We serve good home cooked food each day as well as a daily specials board where local produce and fresh food is top of our priorities, along with our Sunday lunches and children's menu. The Crossroads has six en suite bed & breakfast rooms with coffee making facilities, flat screen TVs and free WI-Fi. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your Crossroads Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Crossroads Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.