We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Peaceful, pleasant, polite, pretty damn good.” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Woodlands Guest House

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Save
You added Woodlands Guest House to your Saves list
Woodlands Guest House
2 The Grove | Shelf, Halifax HX3 7PD, England   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #5 of 16 Halifax B&B and Inns
Birmingham, United Kingdom
1 review
“Peaceful, pleasant, polite, pretty damn good.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 1, 2014

Having stayed in lots of guest houses over the years, I have to say Woodlands Guest house in Halifax was probably the best. Why? I will explain. Firstly how many B&B's out there let you use their kitchen items such as their microwave, ironing board? Every evening they would leave a clean tray out for me with silver cutlery so that I can microwave my food, place on tray, take to my room for dinner. Otherwise I would have had to eat out every night. Biscuits would be provided in the room that were of the highest of quality. Not your ordinary UHT milk, but real fresh milk. The decor in the room was a mixture of artefacts brought back from Africa and a pleasant mood all round. Never had a bad nights sleep and I stayed there for 5 months straight. Extremely quite. Beautiful garden and a great view of it when sat for breakfast. During break fast you get treated with a well presented cooked dish of your choice and they'll put on some back ground music too to smoothen the atmosphere. The hospitality of Barry & Sue was amazing and I will return to stay there again if I end of working in Leeds again. Yes, I travelled every day from Leeds to Shel (36 miles round) because it was that good instead of staying nearer to Leeds.

  • Stayed September 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

34 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    30
    3
    0
    0
    1
See reviews for
3
5
12
9
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (8)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Solihull, United Kingdom
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 17, 2013

I recently stayed at Woodlands Guest House for one night and was made very welcome, everything you need from a B&B and very clean. Would definitely stay again but next time in the summer to see the garden!

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hornchurch, United Kingdom
2 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 27, 2013

I have stayed here now for a number of years and always been very happy - excellent food, clean rooms, good shower-rooms, friendly conversations, a house full of character, a beautiful garden - and was pleased to find on my recent visit that the same high standards are being maintained (and even an improved, free, broadband facility). Its nice to know that somethings don't change.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rugby, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
42 reviews 42 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 25, 2013

I thought it was going to be very difficult to find especially such a small lane off a busy road but had no trouble at all. Adequate safe parking at the end of the lane. Tea,coffee & biscuits in the room. I needed help to get the television working as there are 2 gadgets that need using correctly but Barry got it working properly. Rather a small screen and rather high up but adequate for the news. Very quiet considering the closeness to the main road but I like the window open and I didn't hear any traffic noise whatsoever. Excellent Mira shower in the adjacent bathroom. Proper breakfast served beautifully by Barry.

Room Tip: I had the upstairs room.Didn't see the other bedroom. Downside is bathroom not en suite, good po...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 17, 2013 via mobile

This is a great guest house and I would thouroughly recommend the single ensuite. Great quiet location if you want peace and quiet, firstclass breakfast. Nothing is too much trouble for Barry and Susan. Great eating place Bottomly Arms in walking distance or great Italian "22" a little further on. Hope to stay again. Trouble is all these good revies will probaly mean that it's full, never mind they deserve it.

Stayed September 2013, traveled solo
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 22, 2013

Wishing to visit family in Bradford was pleasantly surprised to find such a peaceful location so nearby. Friendly welcome from Sue and Barry who helped you feel part of the family and their home. Comfortable room with tea and coffee facilities (with fresh milk), tv and free wifi. Rooms were being redecorated/repainted as I left. Beautiful gardens out the back with plenty of places to sit and relax, never felt rushed at all. Barry served a lovely breakfast, all local produce. Would be happy to go back but would advise booking a room upstairs rather than on ground floor as on second night could hear the guests moving around their room in early hours of the morning. Good place from which to visit the Salt Mills in Saltaire which I'd highly recommend.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Southport, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 16, 2013

I stayed here for 4 nights and couldn't find fault with anything. The room was just what I wanted after a long day in work. Sue and Barry went out of their way to provide whatever I wanted for breakfast, nothing is too much trouble for them. I will certainly stay again whenever I am in the area.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Woodlands Guest House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Woodlands Guest House

Address: 2 The Grove | Shelf, Halifax HX3 7PD, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Yorkshire > West Yorkshire > Halifax
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 16 B&Bs / Inns in Halifax
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 2
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Woodlands Guest House is a charming period property set in an extensive one acre woodland garden. It is the family home of the owners and has been lovingly renovated, furnished with care and fully modernised so central heating, good hot showers, Freeview and Wi-Fi make your stay comfortable. Situated half-way between Bradford and Halifax, close to the M62, yet tucked away up a private drive, it is a quiet retreat for business travellers and a good base for exploring Pennine scenery and walks. We offer full English breakfasts using local farm eggs and other produce, or a simpler fruit and cereal based breakfast, even porridge if you ask us! There are good pubs serving evening meals just minutes away, or all the wonderful curry houses of Bradford a few miles up the road. If you stay with us, you stay as a guest in our home. Our service is friendly and we try to meet your personal needs if you let us know in advance. We are unable to accommodate pets or small children. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your Woodlands Guest House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Woodlands Guest House, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.