We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“One Night” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Copsewood House

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Hayling Island
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Copsewood House
Save
You added Copsewood House to your Saves list
Copse Lane, PO11 0QD, England   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 15 Hayling Island B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Christchurch, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
“One Night”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 22, 2013

We were down for a Ruby Wedding Anniversary of friends of ours.

Luckily we only wanted Friday night because the Saturday was booked.

Had the balcony room upstairs and on arrival we had two small bottles of wine compliments of the owners.

Enjoyed these outside on the balcony while relaxing in the recliner chairs, looking out over garden and adjoining field.

Nice to see the stars again away from areas with street lights.

In the morning we had a very nice breakfast, would highly recommend this place to stay.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

111 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    99
    10
    2
    0
    0
See reviews for
26
52
7
16
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (46)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Stafford, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 18, 2013

We stayed at Copsewood for the Goodwood festival of speed and enjoyed a very comfortable stay. Nothing was too much trouble for Jill as she got up especially early to make sure that us along with other guests had a full English breakfast before attending the Festival. As other guests have mentioned the breakfast sets you up for the day with everything being well cooked and very tasty. We stayed in the Rose room which was very comfortable and had everything you required including little bottles of wine (great after a long day). Jan and Terry looked after us on our last morning and again we had a great full English breakfast. Many thanks again to you all and wouldn't hesitate to stay with you again

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Crawley, West Sussex UK
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 18, 2013

Karen and I arrived on Tuesday 9th and left on Friday 12th July 2013. Jill and Ray were wonderful hosts, also supported by Jan. We were fortunate to have the Balcony Room having an en-suite bathroom. There was a wide selection of complimentary toiletries/tea/coffee (and wine!!) during the stay. The garden to the front and rear is well maintained and has a variety of lush plants and trees. In the rear garden there is a BBQ area and we were delighted to be invited to a BBQ on Wednesday 10th July, which happened to be Karen's birthday.......That's how thoughtful Jill and Ray are!! However, the guest lounge and breakfast table are absolutely amazing. I have never tasted scrambled egg quite like that prepared by Jill...Try it with smoked salmon. you shall not regret it!! Wonderful place to stay with so many places to visit, Chichester, Old Portsmouth and Bosham (Bozzum!!), all within a short drive. What more can we say? Apart from a BIG THANK YOU!!

Room Tip: The Balcony Room is on the south side, beautifully cool in the morning and evening, can be hot, hot...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lymington, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 11, 2013

We found Copsewood House on the internet. The Website showed us that the place was just what we wanted. The next day, as we were in the area, we drove along that way to see what it was like and were surprised to see that it had a 'Vacancies' sign outside. We met Jill and Ray and got on famously from the start. Jill showed us the room and we checked in immediately. It was the best decision we ever made. The whole place was just so comfortable whether you were sitting in the lounge or outside on a sunbed. As for the bedroom, we just didn't want to get up for breakfast. It is just as well that we did as the Jill produced just an amazing, tasty and sumptuous feast. It was great to sit at one large table with the other guests who came from Australia, Belgium and Surrey. Checkout time came too soon. We didn't know that a group of complete strangers could have so much in common. We will be back soon, promise.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
purton
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 8, 2013

many many thanks to jill for her wonderful hospitality.nothing was too much trouble
we will DEFINATELY be back!sorry!never got time for the golf pencil in for our next visit!
its like a home from home, kids and dogs all welcome and well catered for.
beautiul gardens, lovely location, easy to find. plenty of parking.

Room Tip: balcony lovely and also the family one.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FlowerHayling, Owner at Copsewood House, responded to this review, July 11, 2013
Thank you for your great review on Copsewood House and it was a pleasure to welcome you and your lovely children and well behaved dogs. Hope to see you again soon and don't forget to remind me about your free golf. Jill
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Slough, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
62 reviews 62 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 37 cities Reviews in 37 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 30, 2013

Arrived later than anticipated but nothing was too much trouble for Jill,even helped to book a meal for us in Hayling Island.
The breakfast was amazing and it was good to sit at a table with other guests who you could talk too ,there was a couple from Australia.
Would have been the full 5 stars but the room was a little small especially the bathroom but no doubt if we booked a king size it would have been perfect.( Rose Room)

Room Tip: Rose room where we stayed is quite small but well furnished,over looks the road but not too noisy as...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fareham, England, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 30, 2013

I was extremely satisfied with the service and overall stay at Copsewood house.

The staff and owners were very freindly and helpfull, telling where to go on the island for a good day out.

My room was well equipped, with tea making facilities, FreeView T.V, very nice views of the garden and horse field. And the standard of cleanliness was very high. And to top it all off, a lovely full English cooked by the owner Jill. What more could you ask for?

Very well deserved 5 out of 5

Room Tip: The Balcony room overlooking the garden was lovely.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Copsewood House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Copsewood House

Address: Copse Lane, PO11 0QD, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Hampshire > Hayling Island
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 15 B&Bs / Inns in Hayling Island
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Copsewood House provides quality Bed & Breakfast accommodation in the quiet rural setting of North Hayling. We are happy to welcome children and pets and we have a very comfortable all-weather Smoking Area. We are rated 4* by the tourist board and are proud to have achieved Visit England's Silver accreditation standard. We are delighted to have achieved an award of "Excellence" by TripAdvisor. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Copsewood House Hayling Island, Hampshire

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Copsewood House, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.