We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great venue” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Langstone Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added Langstone Hotel to your Saves list
Langstone Hotel
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Northney Road | Portsmouth, PO11 0NQ, England   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #4 of 4 Hotels in Hayling Island
Senior Contributor
42 reviews 42 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
“Great venue”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 30, 2013 via mobile

Here for a wedding. The venue is lovely, the food was good, the staff were great (especially Claire behind the bar who helped solve our problem!). The problem: asked what rose wines they had got the reply white Zinfandel, said it was too sweet what was their alternative, maybe a nice Pinot Grigio blush, answer ' no'. I ended up drinking water, not a problem BUT apparently they do do a nicePG blush but only by the bottle! Now this was never offered to me or my friend who was in the same boat and asked a different bar person, same answer. I think that this needs rectifying by a) retraining the staff (they could have sold us at least two bottles, we were there all day and evening) and b) offering their customers of a CHOICE of wine by the glass. This is not a small independent hotel but part of a large chain, surely a CHOICE is not beyond them. Now to Claire, it was her that told us we could of had a bottle and Claire that got us sorted with the wine we wanted. Why couldn't the other two have done that? Having said that, thoroughly enjoyed the day and the weather was superb which of course helps with the fine views that the Langstone offers.

Stayed June 2013, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hotelcareteam, General Manager at Langstone Hotel, responded to this review, July 2, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for your feedback.

I was delighted to learn that your stay with us at the Langstone Hotel was an enjoyable one and I have passed your comments onto the team. I have also discussed with my Food & Beverage Manager the issues regarding the wine and she will carry out re training with her team.

I look forward to welcoming you back again in the future.

Yours sincerely,


Clint Marsh
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

861 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    212
    289
    228
    88
    44
See reviews for
148
369
19
112
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (224)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 26, 2013

My new husband & I stayed at The Langstone Hotel on 22/6/13 we found the view lovely & the rooms to a very good standard.The Restaurant manager was exceptional & he should be very proud of all his staff who were very attentive on a very busy night. We would recommend your hotel to our friends & work collegues to try for themselves.
Thankyou for a lovely stay.

Room Tip: We stayed in room 45 although it was next to a store room it was very quiet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hotelcareteam, General Manager at Langstone Hotel, responded to this review, July 2, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to leave a review on Trip Advisor and congratulations on your recent wedding.

I am delighted that you have enjoyed your stay with us and do hope you will return in the near future.

Yours sincerely,


Clint Marsh
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 25, 2013

Booked a night away with the wife to do some retail therapy, booked direct with the hotel very good rate better than the net!,,
Sarah-Jane on reception was very nice giving us a harbour view room 131 all good not huge but nice and clean with a good hot powerful shower
Leisure club very nice large swimming pool, sauna, steam room, jacuzzi free towels so can't complain.
There was a wedding on but no noise as we were at the other side from the reception.
Breakfast was busy but we were quite late in the rush hour but did not have to wait for a table food buffet style with tea and coffee brought to the table nice and hot plenty to choose from.
All in all a very nice night away its not the Ritz but don't charge £250 a night don't be put off by people thinking they should be getting something for nothing it is what it is.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hotelcareteam, General Manager at Langstone Hotel, responded to this review, July 2, 2013
Dear Guest,

Many thanks for taking the time to post your feedback.

I am delighted your stay was an enjoyable one and look forward to welcoming you again in the future.

Yours sincerely,


Clint Marsh
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nottingham, United Kingdom
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 25, 2013

Stayed here for a conference and overnight stay and from start to finish it was a wonderful experience. A lovely welcome at reception and it didn't stop there.....The team obviously enjoy working there and it is refreshing to see. The room was very clean and well kept and a great size too. The setting of the hotel is ideal with the benefit of lovely views over the harbour during breakfast. If you are in the area....go here!

Stayed June 2013, traveled on business
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hotelcareteam, General Manager at Langstone Hotel, responded to this review, July 2, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you so much for taking the time to complete a review of the Langstone Hotel.

Comments such as yours are very much appreciated as the team and myself are committed to a high standard of customer service and it is pleasing to receive such positive feedback.

I do hope we have the opportunity to welcome you back in the future.

Yours sincerely,


Clint Marsh
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bexhill-on-Sea, United Kingdom
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 24, 2013 via mobile

The hotel was fine, but not one for a romantic break as its more geared for conference and business use. The rooms were ok, our delux offered complimentary water and chocolates! It was a 65p chocolate orange bar and a single bottle of water for one with one glass! We also had a single bed next to our double , which worked out ok because the double was sooo soft I kept rolling into the middle, fighting my hubby for space!! I opted for the single at about 3am!
Don't think we shall go again, but one big plus, is the pool, warm large and clean

  • Stayed June 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hotelcareteam, General Manager at Langstone Hotel, responded to this review, July 2, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to leave a review on Trip Advisor.

I was sorry to learn that you did not enjoy your stay with us at the Langstone Hotel as it was not a romantic destination. Around 50% of guests that stay with us do so for leisure with many for weddings, anniversaries etc.

With regards to the quality of the beds, we do have a bed replacement program in place with 32 rooms having new beds within the last two months.

I do hope you will return in the near future.

Yours sincerely,


Clint Marsh
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sittingbourne
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 24, 2013

The first view you get of the hotel is when you cross the bridge onto Hayling Island and go ‘wow’. It’s a beautiful location overlooking the water, made even better by our sunset arrival on the longest day of the year.

A friendly check-in and a comfortable room which, even though it was facing onto the rear car park, was very quiet.

With mirrors everywhere the room looked far more spacious than the reality. The bed was very comfortable and the bathroom was OK (although the bath plug mechanism was faulty)

A nice pool and a well equipped gym made a dull Saturday day more bearable.

The restaurant and bar were both very good - albeit pricey - and an easy 15 minute drive took us into Portsmouth centre which was great for shopping and the historical sights.

A lovely weekend but a word of warning: check your bill carefully on departure if you are on a room only rate - breakfast is an automatic addition unless you query it.

Looking forward to going back - hopefully when the sun shines!

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hotelcareteam, General Manager at Langstone Hotel, responded to this review, July 2, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for your feedback.

I was delighted to learn that your stay with us at the Langstone Hotel was an enjoyable one and I have passed your comments onto the team.

I look forward to welcoming you back again in the future.

Yours sincerely,


Clint Marsh
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 24, 2013

We stayed for a weekend visit to Portsmouth and although not as bad as was made out on some reviews it was slightly less quality than I expected.
Firstly the dining experience wasn't our greatest. The chicken dish my wife had was to be honest great however my pasta was way overcooked and upon a complaint I was served with undercooked pasta with a sauce that was so hot I believed to be reheated to the max in the microwave and literally covered in black pepper.
Chef made his apologies blaming it on the sous chef and subsequently I got, after 3 attempts, a main dish (steak) served that actually was quite nice.
The room was fine but the shower just flooded the bathroom as the screen does no where near meet the floor.
The leisure facilities do need a little tlc in my opinion.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hotelcareteam, General Manager at Langstone Hotel, responded to this review, July 2, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to leave a review on Trip Advisor.

These comments have been highlighted to the management team and will be addressed to ensure it does not reoccur in the future.

If you would like to discuss your stay with us direct I would be happy to hear from you. My email is gm@langstonehotel.co.uk.

Yours sincerely,


Clint Marsh
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Langstone Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Langstone Hotel

Address: Northney Road | Portsmouth, PO11 0NQ, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Hampshire > Hayling Island
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 4 Hotels in Hayling Island
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Langstone Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 148
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Whether on Business or Pleasure, the Langstone hotel will look after all of your requirements. The hotel is ideally situated on Hayling Island on the south coast offering breath taking views of the estuary, with Portsmouth and Southampton only a few minutes by car. The hotel has just completed a 2.5 Million pound refurbishment and can cater for up to 170 banquets and state of the art conference & meeting facilities for up to 200 business guests. Our 2 AA rosette awarded Brasserie Restaurant which has views over the sea is ideal for entertaining friends and relatives or just enjoying a relaxing meal. Leisure guests will also enjoy the facilities of the hotel including a Lounge which serves all day light meals, coffee and cocktails. Our hidden court yard is ideal for enjoying lunch or dinner or just to unwind and relax while we take care of all of your needs. We offer a state of the art Health and fitness centre with a Indoor swimming pool, Sauna, Jacuzzi and beauty centre. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, Despegar.com, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Langstone Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Langstone
Langstone Hotel Hayling Island, Hampshire

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Langstone Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.