We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Friendly Hotel” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Newtown House Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Save
You added Newtown House Hotel to your Saves list
Newtown House Hotel
Manor Road, PO11 0QR, England   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #3 of 4 Hotels in Hayling Island
Gainsborough
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Friendly Hotel”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 20, 2010

We really enjoyed our visit to Hayling Island and this hotel. The hotel was clean and the staff very friendly and helpful, The bar in particular was lovely and warm with comfortable seats and made a nice retreat on a cold December night.

  • Stayed December 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

154 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    76
    33
    24
    13
    8
See reviews for
47
48
9
12
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (29)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Hayling Island
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 25, 2010

Went to a wedding at this hotel, the service was first class, the food was excellent. The location was stunning. The staff were extremely polite and helpful. Will use again.

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 22, 2010

Was recommended to visit here for lunch by a friend - food was fantastic! Will definitely be coming back - lovely venue!

  • Stayed October 2010
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Romford
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 15, 2010

I discovered Newtown House by accident when the usual hotel I stay in on Hayling Island was fully booked however once I discovered it there is no way I would stay any where else.
The staff are always very pleasant, helpful and polite both at reception and in the bar. All areas of the hotel including the rooms are exceptionally clean and the beds are very very comfortable. I stay here when I am away on business and it is one of the few hotels I have ever found where as a female travelling on her own I feel very comfortable, even when eating in the bar which in many hotels I just would not do.
The food is always very good although I have never managed to finish a meal due to the very generous portion sizes! Overall an excellent hotel with really good service from friendly staff.

  • Stayed October 2010, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
cornwall
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 24, 2010

Only stayed here for 1 night and wished it was for longer! Rooms - totally relaxing (bed was SO comfy!) This beautiful converted farmhouse had a feeling of total peace! Very nicely decorated. Lovely, well-kept grounds. Shower - amazing! Restaurant and separate breakfast room very cosy! Our dinner was gorgeous and service was fantastic! Great value for stay and food. Looking forward to going back next year! Highly recommended!

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kelso, United Kingdom
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 21, 2010

We held an evening seminar with over 85 delegates and thanks to the helpful staff, it went really well. We also had a smaller meeting during the day and it was the same - always someone on hand to help make the day drama-free. Rooms were great and the food was faultless. We were there for two days and I was sorry to leave!

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hayling Island, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 31, 2010

I had a 'special' Birthday party here in May which was such a great success due to the great food, (the chefs were so helpful and skillful) the superb purpose built venue and fabulous company that evening. Consequently, it was good to be invited to a Wedding here on 21st August. This was very well organised with all matters attended to for the Bride & Groom and their friends and family. The only slight on the occasion was the inclement weather. There has been extensive refurbishments to the hotel and its facilities which have enhanced all it offers. These were shown to us by the owner when we looked at it for my Birthday booking. We will use this place more and advise others to give it a go. The Owner and his Staff are very accommodating. All you have to do is ask if unsure. They are all very approachable and welcoming. It is in an ideal location for commuting to most south Coast attractions; Good wood, Fontwell, Chichester Festival Theatre, airports such as Southampton, Gatwick even Bournemouth. With ports at Portsmouth and Southampton all a short trip down the M27.

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Newtown House Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Newtown House Hotel

Address: Manor Road, PO11 0QR, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > Hampshire > Hayling Island
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 4 Hotels in Hayling Island
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 29
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Old hotel with a warm feeling with superb accommodation.Restaurant open to non residence with full a la carte menu or bar snacks ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Odigeo and TripOnline SA so you can book your Newtown House Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Newtown House Hotel Hayling Island, Hampshire

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Newtown House Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.