We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Amazing food!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Newtown House Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Save
You added Newtown House Hotel to your Saves list
Newtown House Hotel
Manor Road, PO11 0QR, England   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #2 of 4 Hotels in Hayling Island
2 reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Amazing food!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 22, 2010

Was recommended to visit here for lunch by a friend - food was fantastic! Will definitely be coming back - lovely venue!

  • Stayed October 2010
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

154 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    76
    33
    24
    13
    8
See reviews for
47
48
9
12
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (29)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Romford
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 15, 2010

I discovered Newtown House by accident when the usual hotel I stay in on Hayling Island was fully booked however once I discovered it there is no way I would stay any where else.
The staff are always very pleasant, helpful and polite both at reception and in the bar. All areas of the hotel including the rooms are exceptionally clean and the beds are very very comfortable. I stay here when I am away on business and it is one of the few hotels I have ever found where as a female travelling on her own I feel very comfortable, even when eating in the bar which in many hotels I just would not do.
The food is always very good although I have never managed to finish a meal due to the very generous portion sizes! Overall an excellent hotel with really good service from friendly staff.

  • Stayed October 2010, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
cornwall
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 24, 2010

Only stayed here for 1 night and wished it was for longer! Rooms - totally relaxing (bed was SO comfy!) This beautiful converted farmhouse had a feeling of total peace! Very nicely decorated. Lovely, well-kept grounds. Shower - amazing! Restaurant and separate breakfast room very cosy! Our dinner was gorgeous and service was fantastic! Great value for stay and food. Looking forward to going back next year! Highly recommended!

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kelso, United Kingdom
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 21, 2010

We held an evening seminar with over 85 delegates and thanks to the helpful staff, it went really well. We also had a smaller meeting during the day and it was the same - always someone on hand to help make the day drama-free. Rooms were great and the food was faultless. We were there for two days and I was sorry to leave!

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hayling Island, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 31, 2010

I had a 'special' Birthday party here in May which was such a great success due to the great food, (the chefs were so helpful and skillful) the superb purpose built venue and fabulous company that evening. Consequently, it was good to be invited to a Wedding here on 21st August. This was very well organised with all matters attended to for the Bride & Groom and their friends and family. The only slight on the occasion was the inclement weather. There has been extensive refurbishments to the hotel and its facilities which have enhanced all it offers. These were shown to us by the owner when we looked at it for my Birthday booking. We will use this place more and advise others to give it a go. The Owner and his Staff are very accommodating. All you have to do is ask if unsure. They are all very approachable and welcoming. It is in an ideal location for commuting to most south Coast attractions; Good wood, Fontwell, Chichester Festival Theatre, airports such as Southampton, Gatwick even Bournemouth. With ports at Portsmouth and Southampton all a short trip down the M27.

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
75 reviews 75 reviews
63 hotel reviews
Reviews in 55 cities Reviews in 55 cities
53 helpful votes 53 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 16, 2010

I can’t fault the rooms in this hotel, they are fantastic.

We were really happy with our modern room, furnished to a high standard with good quality furniture. The bathroom was also very modern and clean and came with some lovely toiletries. The bed was comfortable (if not a little small for a double) and there was ample free parking on site.

The only issue we had was with the staff. All we met, bar the reception staff (who I think were the owners) were totally disinterested and made it clear that they didn’t want to be there. We attended a wedding and you would think the staff would be able to muster up a smile, but they didn’t!

The breakfast was also disappointing. With about 5 tables occupied you would think the two staff would have been able to cope, but they seemed out of their depth! I was given one cup of coffee and wasn’t offered anymore! The hot breakfasts had run out and despite being asked by several guests they were never replenished!

This hotel could be top notch if staff were sent on a customer service course, but as it stands they are the hotels biggest let down!

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 27, 2010

We have just returned from a weekend break staying at the Newtown House Hotel on Hayling Island. Having seen the reviews on Trip Advisor we had changed from another hotel to stay here and were not disappointed.

The staff were friendly and polite; the rooms were immaculate (if only a little warm) and the food was great and plentiful. All in all great value for money.

We would not hesitate in recommending this lovely hotel and its location to explore the west Sussex coast is ideal.

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Newtown House Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Newtown House Hotel

Address: Manor Road, PO11 0QR, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > Hampshire > Hayling Island
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 4 Hotels in Hayling Island
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 29
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Old hotel with a warm feeling with superb accommodation.Restaurant open to non residence with full a la carte menu or bar snacks ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Odigeo and TripOnline SA so you can book your Newtown House Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Newtown House Hotel Hayling Island, Hampshire

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Newtown House Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.