We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The Restaurant - A Solitary Experience” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Newtown House Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Save
You added Newtown House Hotel to your Saves list
Newtown House Hotel
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Manor Road, PO11 0QR, England   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #2 of 4 Hotels in Hayling Island
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Brighton, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
156 reviews 156 reviews
69 hotel reviews
Reviews in 91 cities Reviews in 91 cities
118 helpful votes 118 helpful votes
“The Restaurant - A Solitary Experience”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 5, 2012

We visited on a Monday night and were the only ones there so not a lot of buzz about the place! The menu was £12.95 for one course, £18.95 for two and £24,95 for three. Everyone was happy with the starters and had either the stuffed mushrooms or the baked camembert. However, opinion was divided about the main course. Those who had the sea bass were happy. However three members of the party ordered a medium rare sirloin steak which came up well done. Second time round it was definitely medium and not medium rare, but no one had the heart to back it again. However the cut of beef was not felt to be good, despite the £3 supplement, so I would advise visitors to avoid this dish. The desserts were very limited (two choices only plus cheese), but good though highly calorific.

A reasonable wine list and not overpriced. Service was not exactly attentive but I would put this down to us being the only customers so the waitress only looked in on us occasionally. There is nothing wihich would make us return to this restaurant.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

179 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    91
    38
    28
    14
    8
See reviews for
57
57
10
12
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (34)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Portsmouth, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 2, 2012

We wwere over the moon with everything at the hotel! The staff ensured the bride was made to feel extra special before and after the event. We had an amazing day. The food was fantastic, and worth the money we spent. There were a coule of tiny little things, but other than that, we had an absolutley amaziNG Day! Best day ofour lives! Oh, the scrambeled egg was the best!! also served hashbrowns and black pudding!! Really felt soooo special and loved allday. Thank you all so so much. The honey moon suite was lovely, I just wished I had stayed longer.

Room Tip: Althougth the hotel is extremely old, all the room are full of class. Our honeymoon suite, room 18 w...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Portsmouth,
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 25, 2012

Thank you so much for everything. We found this hotel and venue through tripadvisor and the moment we both saw it we fell in love with the place. Each of the rooms had character and comfort, the food was excellent, the bar welcoming (!) and the venue itself was picturesque, with lights above us that set the scene perfectly and inspired our first dance.
On the day the staff were so helpful, as they had been during the run-up. All the guests were welcomed, the food was well received and throughout the day & into the night we could not have felt more at home.

An excellent hotel, a perfect wedding venue, great staff and a dream wedding. Thank you, especially Carole the Wedding Co-ordinator!

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Richmond, United Kingdom
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed August 13, 2012

We travelled 350miles to stay at this Hotel. And at £95 per room, expected some class.
How ever got woken by the staff on three seperate occasions as some luggage had got lost. 0045, 0145 and 3.30. This was not good having to drive 350 miles up the moterway at 0900 in the morning.
Was informed that it would be investigated and contacted. Still waiting.
Then to be accused of not paying the bill on leaving, so on investigating and receipts were found. They had recorded the room numbers wrong. Breakfast was slow. Said 0800 for breakfast. Was put out at 0830 and then you had to ask for fried eggs ect. Not very classy at all. The new refurbished room had a spiders nest which had its hachlings 100s if them on the ceiling. My grandaughter has a phobia of spiders. The only other thing was the wait at the bar, over half an hour to be served.
Overall a nice Hotel with a nice garden and helpfull staff. The service was excellent except for the breakfast service which was below average and the long wait for service at the bar.

Room Tip: Don't have a room near the large reception room if you wish to have a good sleep.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
keithb209, General Manager at Newtown House Hotel, responded to this review, September 22, 2012
Dear guest,
Thank you for taking the time to leave a review. I would like to respond to a couple of points you have raised.
I am aware that regrettably Hotel staff had to wake you on one occasion (trying to locate luggage belonging to the Bride and groom). The subsequent times you were disturbed were by other members of the wedding party and not by staff.
Regarding the lost luggage - We were asked by the wedding party to locate said lost luggage, which we tried to do, but were subsequently informed that the suitcase had not been bought into the hotel and was still in a wedding guest’s car.
I hope you would agree that these unfortunate occurrences were outside the Hotel's control and my staff did what they thought was necessary.
Regards..

Tracey Kelly
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Portsmouth, England, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 10, 2012

I had my full wedding here yesterday. I was a little worried in the lead up to my wedding due to a change in management and lack of consistency, however I could not have asked for a better day. The staff were friendly, helpful and totally went out of their way to ensure everything went to plan. The day ran smoothly, food was nice, plenty of staff on hand and my guests felt very welcome. Several of us stayed over night and had breakfast the following day, I dont know her name but the ladt that serves at breakfast is so so friendly and def a credit to the hotel. Will def be recommending ;o) Thanx all x

Room Tip: Go for family rooms, much bigger, take mosquito repellant!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hove, United Kingdom
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 5, 2012

Stayed here for one night first weekend of August 2012, were here for a wedding which was not at the hotel, but reception were helpful arranging taxis to and from the venue, Room was large and clean. The very helpful reception staff also meant we were able to check in early 11:30 in order to get ready. Breakfast was adequate all in all a good experience.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
phoenix
Senior Contributor
38 reviews 38 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 1, 2012

stayed at this hotel for one night this month it was very clean short walk to the beach nice bar nice room breakfast was ok people on reception were nice it would have got a higher rating but for the beds they were terrible springs in my back all night made it very uncomfortable other than that i would say this was a very nice hotel

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Newtown House Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Newtown House Hotel

Address: Manor Road, PO11 0QR, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > Hampshire > Hayling Island
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 4 Hotels in Hayling Island
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Newtown House Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 29
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Old hotel with a warm feeling with superb accommodation.Restaurant open to non residence with full a la carte menu or bar snacks ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, LateRooms, Priceline and TripOnline SA so you can book your Newtown House Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Newtown House Hotel Hayling Island, Hampshire

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Newtown House Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.