We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Simply Yummy!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Olive Leaf Pub

The Olive Leaf Pub
48 Sea Front, PO11 9HL, England
+44 23 9246 0909
Website
Improve this listing
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Price range: $5 - $24
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Free Wifi, Parking Available, Reservations, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff
Description: The olive leaf has a good selection of home cooked fare with food ranging from tapas at the bar to fresh locally caught fish and pub old favourites with a good range of house wines and more. Come and join us to see or join in with some real local talent, all welcome. We are also dog friendly. On Sunday evening from 5pm. We fire up our wood fired funky Pizza Pod. Please visit our web site for more information and updates. We do not open on Mondays, (even god took a day off)!!
Hayling Island, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
19 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
36 helpful votes 36 helpful votes
“Simply Yummy!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 23, 2013

We were lucky to get a table at this establishment at such short notice. Quite often it's fully booked days ahead. We have tried many times in the past.
The decor is simple and I personally hate plastic table cloths, but......the delicious quality of the food is enough to distract from anything! The service is splendid, everything served with a smile.
Will definitely be returning!

  • Visited January 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

117 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    70
    30
    11
    0
    6
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Southampton
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“A really great meal”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 18, 2012

This is a real gem of restaurant with not too many tables so the pub atmosphere is retained.
The menu has plenty of choice without being too big and food is cooked fresh so don't expect fast food timings. The staff are very attentive but no pushy allowing a lovely relaxed dining experience.
Food is really delicious and wholesome.
Our party were well catered for and ate well with drinks for less than £110.
Despite being a 35 minute drive away we will be sure to return again.
Thank you Mike and Tonya.

  • Visited November 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Portsmouth, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
“Proper restaurant grub and a great pint”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 16, 2012

Good food and good beer. You may need to book even during the week as when we visited people were being turned away.

  • Visited September 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Camberley, United Kingdom
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Worth Booking”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 2, 2012

I mention it is worth booking becuase the restaurant area itself is quite small. However the friendly and accomodating staff will serve off the menu on the bar side usually. The food is excellent, the service good. Specials usually are 'special'. I rate it the best restaurant on the island. Fish dishes are top notch. Higly reccomend the burger although its a bit over-priced. They are happy to serve up childrens meals although not on menu.

  • Visited October 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Buckingham, United Kingdom
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“Average”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 1, 2012 via mobile

My wife and I had booked a table to celebrate our wedding anniversary whilst on holiday near family. We arrived early and was seated promptly as we were the only booking on this night. We had been given a good table by a window next to the bar. The waitress was pleasant and nice, whom we did tip as she was always polite and never made us feel uncomfortable as we were the only people in the Resturant. For starters my wife ordered the salmon and prawn salad, which was a good portion and very fresh. However I ordered garlic mushrooms, I felt the price was expensive for what I had ordered. It was about 5 mushrooms on a soggy one thinly sliced bruschetta.
The mains.
My wife ordered the duck with plum sauce and chips. It was delicious and again a nice portion. The price for the duck was reasonable. However I ordered the full plaice with chips as we were close to the sea. All i can say is please look at my photo. My plaice was full of eggs and in a rather unpleasant skin, therefore there wasn't a lot of meat. In the end I had to finished early and cover it up as it was putting my wife off her meal.
The desserts:
I ordered the crumble which I must mention is not as nearly good as my MIL.
My wife ordered the chocolate fudge brownie with cream which was polished off, so I assume that was delicious.
Overall a bad experience for me and to be fair over priced on a lot of things, I.e the steak. So for 2 with a 3 course meal came to £57 and a few pence. We tipped the waitress 10% as I thought that was fair.
There really wasn't an atmosphere apart from the conversations you could over hear from the bar. There was no music as well, which could have been a good disguise for the people at the bar.
Do not think we will return.

    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Olive Leaf Pub also viewed

Hayling Island, Hampshire
 
Hayling Island, Hampshire
 

Been to The Olive Leaf Pub? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Olive Leaf Pub, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.